We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANTS!!!”
Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Appearances can be deceiving. Even though we were not in a remodeled room, it appeared to be clean and acceptable. However our opinions changed quickly: the 1st morning we awoke to a kitchen counterful of ants! When we reported it, they agreed, saying "Yes, some units have more than others in the summer." We talked to many other guests who had the same complaint. Several reports, no action.
So we would constantly disinfect and KILL ANTS, all week long. It got to where we didn't even want to use our kitchen. We asked why they didn't fumigate, knowing there was an ant problem. They didn't want to spend the money, was their reply.
Also, when my husband went to Saturday's continental breakfast (which consisted of donuts cut in half and o.j.) he was reprimanded for taking 2 halves- I kid you not! He also had to brush away ANTS off of THEIR counter! The staff said "Darn it, that's embarrassing. We thought we got 'em all this morning!"

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that doesn't have as many ants as others. Or go in the winter. Rooms in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDarcy599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIVacations, Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the series of events you encountered during your recent visit with us. Regarding the ants, we are contracted with EcoLab Pest Elimination, one of the most comprehensive pest programs in the industry. While EcoLab does not specifically guarantee against ants (due to their invasive & transient nature) as they do against other pests (roaches, rodents, etc.) we certainly did drop the ball by not notifying the pest vendor of the problem and requesting additional, immediate treatment for all of the affected suites and common areas. Regarding the comment made at breakfast, we have spoken to the team members you interacted with, we apologize, this occurrence will not repeat itself with another Guest. You are welcome to eat as many doughnut halves as you wish, we simply ask that you not take more food than would be sufficient to serve the number of people staying in your suite, which you obviously did not. We would like you to give us a look – your experience at the resort is not typical, and we are certain we can make you a fan. The vast majority of families who stay at Snow Lake come away with a favorable impression of the resort and its team, and we believe we can add you to that list. We appreciate all feedback from our Guests, thank you for contacting us with your concerns.

- Snow Lake Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Staff was very nice and a big help with area advice and directions. The room was 1 bedroom with a full kitchen and living room. They have the units stocked with just about everything you can think of. The bedroom was very large with a King bed. Bathrooms looked like they had been recently renovated. My room was A+ clean and the staff did a great job with daily service. This property is centrally located in Big Bear. They have a large selection of good movies for any rainy days for free. Pool was small but clean. Both times we went there we had the pool to ourselves. . Rooms do not have washers and dryers but they have a laundry facility at reasonable prices. We enjoyed our stay here..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moormc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIVacations, Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

This is our true goal for each of our guests, we carefully listen to each of them in an effort to provide them with the individual extras that we each are looking for when we go to a new place or back to a place we can call "home". We have so many things to do in Big Bear they range from just sitting and enjoying the mountain views to shopping, offroading, hiking, biking, boating, fishing and snow skiing. We hope to see you again soon!

Biff Snyder
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I just spent a wonderful week at Snow Lake Lodge in the heart of Big Bear Lake. (May 16 - 23). I was in one of the remodelled suites and it was so nice that I told them I wanted to move in immediately. Two fireplaces, two flat screen t.v.'s and great internet service. The weather was spectacular with clear skies and temperatures in the mid 70's. The Lodge's outdoor pool is heated and the jacuzzi is superb at sunset!! I would say that I was there "between" seasons which was PERFECT for me. Casual and relaxing...even though the town activity picked up with the Tour de California Bicycle Race that had a leg of the race finish right at the Summit Ski area...walking distance from the lodge. Everyone was very excited and energized by that event. The drive around the lake is very enjoyable. I rode the chair lift up the mountain and hiked down. I enjoyed my lunches at Peppercorn Grille and Sweet Basil Bistro. Had a great Ribs/Chicken dinner at the Hacienda....just up the street. Enjoyed the solar eclipse on the patio at B's Boathouse right on the lake...great burger. I loved seeing the lilacs and daffodils amongst the pines...quite magical. Mother Nature at her finest. If you're a shopper...don't bother going to "The Village" before noon....nobody really opens before 11:00...at least not at this time of year. I bought a beautiful piece of blown glassware at Art Garden on Pine Knot Avenue, the main shopping street. I look forward to another stay at Snow Lake Lodge.

Room Tip: Request remodelled rooms ONLY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paigeallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIVacations, Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Paigeallen,
We are so very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Snow Lake Lodge. Events such as the Bicycle Race you had the opportunity to participate in make for an enjoyable time in Big Bear. There are many events going on year round that we hope you can join us for, because they are all superb, such as the Jazz Festival coming up on June 22, 23, and 24. Thank you very much for the compliment on the room, a lot of hard work went into making sure the room would be perfect for you to enjoy, and it’s nice to hear that the effort was appreciated. We truly hope to see you and your friends again, and I hope your gift has found a beautiful spot in your home to remember us by.

Biff Snyder
Resort Manager
Snow Lake Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Snow Lake Lodge in Big Bear Lake is located directly on a main street. There are no scenic views of the lake nor the mountains from the hotel.

PLUSES:
1. The hotel is located just a few miles from a ski/snowboard area. The roads from the hotel to the area are good and would not be a problem to travel in the winter.
2. Even though the hotel is on a main road, the noise in the unit is limited. The stairway landings have been enclosed with glass which limits noise and keeps some of the cold air from blowing into the stairway.
3. A big plus is the room configuration. When you enter the unit, you are in a small vestibule with two doors leading off to the right and left. One side contains a pull-out sofa (queen size), a gas fireplace, flat screen TV (mounted over fireplace), DVD, a small kitchen (full size frig, dishwasher, sink, 4 burner gas stove/oven), a chair, and a dining room table with 4 chairs. There is also a full bathroom on this side of the unit. The opposite room contains a king bed (quite comfortable), gas fireplace, full bathroom, TV with VCR, and a chair. The kitchen is equipped with enough plates, etc to handle 6 people (but the unit sleeps 4). A coffee pot, toaster, and blender are available. What is nice about the unit is that if there are four people, each section has their own bathroom and sleeping area. Basically, the room with the pull-out sofa (and kitchen area) can close their door and the bedroom can close their door with each having privacy. It was a nice feature. Unlike the previous post, our room had been updated - the walls were a light beige and the bathrooms white. It is not modern by any means but it fits the rustic-ness of a ski area.
4. Nearby the lodge are a Vonns (grocery store), a K-Mart, Walgreen's & CVS (pharmacy), several fast food places (McDonalds, Carl Jr, Taco Bell, etc.), and restaurants (i.e. Denny's, etc.).
5. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
6. A laundry basket is in the unit....if staying for a week, there is one towel/sheet exchange complimentary. There is a washer ($1) and dryer (.50) in the lodge (not in the unit) that can be used in the afternoon. They will enter the unit once a day (unless you have on the 'do not disturb') to empty the trash.
7. The office has both DVD's and videos for use (complimentary). The office also has a few games for check-out. There is a pool table in the office area for use also.

MINUSES
1. There are a few 'carport style' parking spaces at the hotel but these are limited. If you are not lucky enough to get one of these, you will be parking outside and in a limited area.
2. The hotel is three floors with no elevator. Just be mindful of this if you are mobility impaired or don't want to carry suitcases and groceries up flights of stairs - ask for a bottom floor room.
3. Activities at the lodge are VERY limited.....if you are looking to come to the lodge and have things to do without leaving, this is not the place for you. You need a vehicle to drive to anything in the area.

If you are coming to the area, check out the Big Bear events page ( http://c1.livetext.com/misk5/formz/invited/58832/qiIrPVwcWH/AAF2F0AB6754D3DE1176E1DE44DF4F35 ) to see what is going on during your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aw0rld2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Their website lists flat screen TV, full suites with kitchen and separate dining areas. When we arrived, we walked into a room that looked totally different than the pics posted. Styling looked like something out of 1982. Porcelain squirrels in the bathroom, pink tinted walls in the living room?!?!, bright red/green sofas, and a blue carpet?? Seriously, what in the world was someone thinking... Also, there was no dining area, the kitchen counter just had bar stools next to it. So I guess you sit in the kitchen and that's considered a dining table?

Went to ask about the rooms we saw posted by other tripadvisor people as well as from their website and we were greeted with a "don't care" kinda attitude by the front desk and told that the owners of the rooms get first dibs on those renovated rooms. Gee, thanks for making us feel special :(

To top it all off, the room wasn't very clean. Dishes needed to be rewashed by us before we could use them, random hair in the bed, stains on the carpets (probably since they are so old), etc...

I'm ok with kitschy decoration or quirky places, but honestly this was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. With all those things compounded together, there is no way we would think about staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Butt0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have made the annual pilgrimage the last 4 years to Big Bear for "Oktoberfest". We discovered this place last year as we had a large party and we actually stayed here since the other location was too small. Glad we found it!!

Agree with the other reviews here.....

Review:

Staff: VERY friendly. Upon checkin greeted with a warm smile and "small town" charm. In fact the friendliest check in I have ever experienced.....

Common areas: They have a pool/spa but have not seen this. They have a common area where you check in, where they serve the daily continental breakfast. Also located here is the TV and guest computer, along with lounge area to sit and talk with family/friends. Outside the common area is several picnic tables and 2 BBQ grills which you could use in nice weather.

Room: All rooms are large and come with a bedroom separated by doors to a living room and fully stocked kitchen. Bedroom and living room have a large shower/bath attached. Kitchen comes with a refrigerator, microwave/stove/ dishwasher and all cooking utensils. Living room has 2 TV's along with a pullout sleeper couch. Room can fit up to a family or group of 4 comfortably using both the bedroom and sleeper. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable along with living room. 2 fireplaces: one in bedroom and living room. Bathrooms were large/clean and great water pressure with plenty of hot water. Also there was a TV in the bedroom.

Pets: not pet friendly, in fact they make you sign an agreement about this.

Location: On Hwy 18 close to Denny's going through town. Not to far of a walk from the Village.

Wifi: don't know if they offer this.

Parking: plenty of parking, not an issue.

Cost: paid 260.00 per night: again large space so felt it was good value. Likely more money in peak ski season.

Would have given 5- Excellent review but as mentioned in other reviews, roomss need an update. All rooms and bathroom are carpeted and carpet has that "funk" appeal but again this was clean.....

So again, friendly staff, large rooms that are great for families/large groups and reunions. Would definitely stay again.

Tips on Big Bear: Eat at Alpine County Coffee Shop, much better than Grizzly Manor, in our opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank globetrotterswannebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

While a little outdated, this was a quiet little place with very nice amenities. The staff was top notch! Everyone was beyond nice! I liked having fireplaces in the bedroom and the living area. I could have wished for curtains to block out the morning light, but we had everything else we needed and were even able to rent movies free of charge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelintoHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.0 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Address: 41579 Big Bear Boulevard, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £63 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing