We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend!”
Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I really enjoyed our stay over Memorial Day weekend (especially Annie). Courteous staff, clean rooms, nice spa. However, if you need maintenance, the red headed lady at the desk wasnt to helpful. My step son was a lil persistent and we got them to come out. The maintenance man was so nice and helpful. The televisions could stand to be updated. Overall visit was great!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnk021409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2010

My husband and I just got back from our early May stay at the Snow Lake Lodge in Big Bear Lake, California (just below the base of Snow Summit Ski Resort); we stayed in Room # 112.

We found our room an agreeable size for up to four people; our condo was warm, spacious, clean and comfortable. You entered the condo into the foyer… this space separates the two halves of the condo and acts as a buffer; there is plenty of room for coats and boots there. From the foyer you can turn left into the bedroom or right into the living room/kitchen area (the couch folds out into a bed). Each of the two halves of the condo had their own separate bathroom (full sized), flat screen TV, DVD player, fireplace and their own separate heating unit. Our living room looked out over the wooded lot next door, our bedroom overlooked the parking lot (with some trees and a bit of an open space beyond). The kitchen area has a microwave, oven, stove, dishwasher and a normal-sized refrigerator. The kitchen’s pantry and drawers hold a good array of cooking / dining needs and there was a nice sized table with four chairs.

Things I liked about Snow Lake Lodge:
* The friendly, helpful staff… especially Annie at the front desk!
* A computer in the guest lounge by the front desk with free Internet usage.
* The heated pool/hot tub
* 2 nice, modern gas grills for the guest’s use.
* A good array of games and DVDs to check out from the front desk
* This property has a wonderful location within the community! You have your choice of eateries, drug and/or grocery stores all within a 3-minute drive of the lodge.
* Most of the rooms have been recently refurbished and modernized.
* Comfortable bed!!!

Hint*… Phone the front desk at the Snow Lake Lodge before coming up the mountain. Road conditions are sometimes an issue when coming up the mountain to Big Bear. In our case we found out that Highway 330 was closed indefinitely and that we should use the alternate Highway 38… this saved us a lot of confusion!

Staying here in the off-season is wonderful! There was plenty to keep us occupied in the Big Bear Lake community! Suggestions for springtime day trips (for those interested):
* Moonridge Animal Park… we honestly were prepared for a “hokey” little zoo… but we found much more than that! Most of the animals in the park are local animals that were injured too severely to go back into the wild. The volunteers are knowledgeable and friendly… we spent a very pleasant morning there. I had NO idea that Big Bear Lake was a nesting area for the Bald Eagle!
* Hiking… we made picnic lunches and hiked Gray’s Peak, Cougar Crest and the Castle Rock Trails. They were all wonderfully maintained and lent beautiful views! Note* this May there was a significant amount of snow on all three mentioned trails… when we commented on the snow, we were told Big Bear sometimes had snow up until June.
* Big Bear’s Discovery Center on the North Shore is very interesting.
* Big Bear Lake’s Downtown Shopping Area has some cute stores.
* The Gold Fever Trail is a self-guided automobile tour of the Holcomb Valley… its highlight being the Metzger Mine. The trip takes about 3 hours and gets to be a bit of an off-roading experience… it was a nice drive… but we were lucky to be in my husband’s truck and not my car! I am thinking they must grade this road closer to summertime… but I suggest checking with the Discovery Center before attempting this drive.

We enjoyed Snow Lake Lodge and Big Bear Lake, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJoisygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Great little stop off on our road trip. Head to the supermarket five minutes down the road, stock up on whatever takes your fancy and chill out in front of one of your two log fires.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleUKEddie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We booked through Expedia and got a great price. The suite had a living room and kitchen area which was separate from the large bedroom. The unit had two full bathrooms which made it nice with two small children. The kitchen was fully equipped with a full size refrigerator, gas stove, dishwasher, microwave. There was even a blender on the counter! The cabinets were filled with dishware and flatware. Really, everything you would ever need was in that kitchen. There were two televisions, one in each room with VCR and DVD players. Our room (#202) was directly over the carport therefore we didn't have to worry about our children's loud footsteps disturbing guests below. The lodge is centrally located to all of the attractions. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Quiet, warm and clean. The 3 three things I demand from accomodations and this hotel/lodge has them all!
I would definitely go back here, and believe me I do not hesitate to tell it straight if I have a bad travel experience.
Just got back from 3 day mid week skiing trip and stayed at The Snow Lake Lodge. At check-in, front desk was very happy and friendly. In fact, we were allowed an early check in which is always nice. I had asked for a top (3rd) floor room, and got it. It was quiet and very well decorated and roomy! Yes, there's no elevator but that didn't matter to us. The 2 room suite is just what the photos and description descibed, which was a refreshing change from some hotels' exaggerations! Very clean. Very warm and cozy. Both gas fireplaces were a nice touch and added warmth. The wall heaters actually are very efficient. The kitchenette is perfect and well stocked. Nice full size stove, fridge and new microwave. The queen bed was comfortable as was the pull out sofa bed. TVs had cable with a full selection of channels. Both DVD and VHS players worked well. We got a pleasant call from the front desk on the 2nd day just to inquire as if we were happy so far and if there was anything we needed. . .when was the last time that happened?? Didn't go to the year 'round spa, though we were invited to use it whenever we wanted to-maybe next time. We borrowed some free board games and DVDs frm the front desk, again very nice attitude from them all. I called them one evening to ask for some recommendations for dinner. We chose The Captain's Anchorage where we had a fantastic meal. I can't say enough about all the people that are running this hotel and the relaxing warm and friendly attitude we received from them. I usually look for AAA ratings, but I read others' reviews of this hotel and I am so glad that I did. A very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

This hotel allowed us to stay for just 1 night (most only allow reservations for 2+ nights). Location is great, and cost was very good for a friday night during new years weekend. For just over 100 usd, we had a 1 bedroom, 2 bathroom, living room and kitchen suite. Very recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank static_tempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We stayed at Snow Lake Lodge #111 on the Tuesday before Thanksgiving. My wife and her brother wanted to check out Big Bear for a day and then maybe plan an extended vacation down the road. We were very happy with our stay at Snow Lake Lodge. Upon entering, you have the bedroom to one side and the living room/kitchen to the other. Each side has its own full bathroom and each side has doors for privacy. Each side also has its own cozy fireplace, thermostat controlled heater and old school television. You could not beat the $89 we paid for the night. The nice staff at the front desk said the prices can get up to $300 on peak weekends, but if you get these rooms for under $150/night and have children/other guests to fill up the space, it is a great deal.

There was not a lot of snow, so we went man-made snow tubing at Big Bear Snow Play. That was very fun and worth the $25 if you are up for going down 10+ times. Next we headed over to Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain. Magic Mountain has a smaller tubing hill, but they have the Alpine Slide toboggen run, mini-golf and go-carts. The Alpine Slide was the most fun thing we did. You start on a chairlift that takes you to the top of the run where you can see the lake and the mountains. This was a great value for $4 per time. We went twice each and bought the 5 times for $18 book.

After the fun afternoon, we at the Big Bear Mountain Brewrey. The atmosphere was good, the food and in-house brews solid, but it took way too long to get our meals. People who arrived after us ate and left before we got our main course. I think they were having a shortage that day or something went wrong.

After dinner we went to the Bowling Barn. That was a lot of fun as well.

We slept in the Snow Lake Lodge's warm and comfy room. The next morning we had an incredibly fun breakfast at the Grizzly Manor Cafe. You HAVE to go here if you have a big breakfast appetite and are easily amused by all of the funny bumper stickers that are plastered on the walls. Do NOT get more than 1 pancake...trust me. After they rolled us out, we went shopping in the Big Bear Village before the scenic drive down the mountain.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The-Turbo-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Address: 41579 Big Bear Boulevard, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £84 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing