We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and cozy”
Review of Fireside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Big Bear Region B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient and cozy”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The fireside lodge was a nice find in big bear. It's affordable and located within walking distance of the village restaurants, bars and shops. It isn't fancy, but I found it to be clean, comfortable and the rustic, cottage-type decor was exactly what I expected from a small lodge in the mountains. We stayed in a room in the main building with a comfortable king bed and a fireplace (which we used a lot with single digit temps outside). I would stay here again for value and convenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    13
    6
    15
See reviews for
35
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Had a great one nite stay. Room was clean , did not feel run down or old. Modern looking upgrades such as pine beds and newer linens. Bathroom area was nice and shower was NOT a trickle. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning. Freshly made waffles, oj, muffins, coffee, and dry cereal all available in their dining hall/community room/kitchen area. Staff was superb !! Manager was very sweet and kind, offered all kinds of tidbits about the area and places we should check out. Excellent customer service!! (she manages all 3 of their properties) . This place was very accomodating and I can not wait to bring friends back and enjoy a wknd in the snow here !! Thanks Fireside.!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinTrixie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed here one night with our dog. We paid extra for a dog friendly room, even though I think we were the only ones on the property. We found the room extremely expensive for what we got. There was a ring around the toilet and we found alot of dried blood on one of the sleeping pillows (disgusting). There was a futon in one of the rooms, however the cushion did not fit properly and kept falling off. The vertical blinds were missing two slats, so much for privacy. It took quite a while for them to get the Internet working, however it was extremely slow. The TV was tiny and located high up in a corner near the ceiling. There was no breakfast as advertised. We were told breakfast was offered only on the weekends (this was not mentioned on their website). The swimming pool was empty with a tipped over 55 gallon drum laying in the middle. When we checked out, the woman behind the desk was extremely rude. She was on the telephone and just dismissed us. I had wanted to ask a question, but she went right on talking on the phone We would never ever stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle5835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Lake Elsinore, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Fireside is a great place to stay. It is close to the village, quiet with great views of the lake. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and fresh, in fact the pool and all areas are always clean. It is very relaxing to sit outside and enjoy the fresh mountain air and look at the beautiful lake. Fireside is the best place to stay in Big Bear

Room Tip: I have stayed in the suites and regular rooms and all are very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hueneme, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had a family reunion here over Labor Day Weekend and the location was perfect! One block from the Village so we could walk right past the gridlocked traffic. We had four rooms all together, we could gather around the pool to visit and the water was perfect!

We had our 91 year old father with us and the staff treated him like he was their own. He loved the attention!

Jaqueline is a treasure - she made the whole weekend feel like we were her only guests. She was precious with our Dad and jumped to help us with reservations. She was the best, most attentive and friendly hotel manager we have ever met. This small chain is lucky to have her and we hope they realize it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Bill_Port_Hueneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel workers are their to please! From the time I called until we left to go home, the hotel staff was very friendly and accomadating. Our room was very clean and relaxing, the pool was very well kept and their continental breakfast was great! They have breakfast foods from yogurt to fresh made waffles. Very convenient to all the local ammenities and offer great advice on where to go for your pleasure. The prices are very reasonable as well and we even stayed on a holiday weekend.
Everything went great without a hitch and I will be planning my next trip big bear at the Fireside Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Heard about Fireside Lodge through friends, and it didn't disappoint. We stayed in room 11 where there was a jacuzzi/fire place in the living room. The room was adorable, with great views of the lake. Its within walking distance to the village area where all the restaurants and shops are. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. All in all a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.3 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge

Property: Fireside Lodge
Address: 40660 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fireside Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Big Bear. We are in walking distance to the Village and also to a number of family activity centers. We offer a variety of accommodations from motels, private cabins and suites with indoor or outdoor jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing