We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Fireside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fireside Lodge
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Was looking to get a cheap room to enjoy our weekend snowboarding. Price was great for a basic room, but you get what you pay for. Outdated tv, blinds on door broken, stained carpet, and toilet was gross (it flushed back unwanted things). The walls are SUPER Paper thin!!!! You could hear you're neighbors footsteps and conversations. Not to mention had "room service" knock on our door at 8:00pm (sketchy much?). The only plus about this place is the location. It's walking distance to the village and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blvn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

We got a great deal through this site so I wasn't too upset with the tiny room. Was nice to have a mini fridge, microwave and a fireplace even though the fireplace timer clicked so loud I couldn't sleep with it on. Very close to the Village which was a huge plus. I'd stay here again if I paid a bit more for a bigger room.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We wanted to be able to prepare our own food and Fireside had all that we needed. Second time at The Fireside and will not be the last. Able to walk to all the local entertainment and we each had our own bathroom which is important to two women.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zena112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great, friendly staff. Clean room. Very close to the Village. Our whole family enjoyed the stay. The kids loved the spa. The staff accommodated all our special requests. We can't praise them enough. Enjoyed the breakfast with waffles.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here two nights in a room which was clean enough but two of the three light bulbs were out...we twiddled a bit and they came back on! The TV was old, the bathroom was in need of an update, the balcony table and chairs were dirty (too cold to sit out anyway) and the coffee mugs were chipped....however, we found the staff friendly and helpful and thought the video library was a good idea (yes, they still have them). We even got a complimentary pack of popcorn which we thought was a nice touch. Very good location for The Village which has a good choice of eating places and quaint shops. We would stay again despite the negatives.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at this great little place, and we loved it!
The guy at the front desk comped us tickets to a really fun concert at the new venue in Big Bear called The Cave. We stayed in one of the jacuzzi suites and I have to say that the amenities were impressive as well as quaintly rustic. It was large enough for a 4 person family to stay in the one room with the futon as well as the bedroom.
We loved the jacuzzi and the lake view from our balcony.
We are totally planning on bringing a group of our friends to stay there again!

Room Tip: Definitely go fo a jacuzzi room with a lake view... its totally worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My GF and I stayed here from 8-23 through 8-25. We wanted a little weekend getaway and there was a small air show in town which is something that I enjoy a lot.

We were put in room #14 which had a fireplace, 2 bath, small kitchen with stove, small refrigerator, miscellaneous kitchen wares, microwave, 32"ish LCD TV in the main room, and a smaller 20"ish tube TV/VCR combo in the bedroom. The room itself was quite nice. Sizable living/kitchen area and nice size separate bedroom, fitting 4 people in the room would be quite easy.

Two sliding glass doors, one in each room lead to a balcony that overlooked the lake. Not a direct view, there was a small back road, then a row of lakeside homes, then the lake itself. It wasn't postcard picturesque, but very pleasant. Some rather bright lights on the back road obscured any possible view of the stars.

Small privacy issues on the balcony in that the only thing separating your balcony from the next is a small 3 foot high wooden railing. Not a huge concern for us, buy one could easily hop the railings and go to any balcony across the entire row for that building. We just made sure to not keep any windows open when we left the room.

It was nice being able to go to the grocery store and get some odds and ends and not have to eat out all the time, which isn't super cheap in the area. Bathrooms were clean and showers had great water pressure (small thing, but I hate low water pressure). Kitchen was sufficient for our needs.

Fireplace was very nice but not used as it was quite warm during our stay. In the main living room there was a wooden futon that folded flat with some effort to become a bed, it was very rustic looking but new and made TV at night nice and comfortable for us. Bedroom bed was a queen size I believe, mattress was ok, not bad but not great.

Everything was quite clean, except the tile floor. Not sure if they just vacuum it or what but it needed a thorough mopping. Its not that there were stains or anything sticky on the floor, it was just dusty and made our feet black. There were a few scout ants here and there, but they never came out in full force.

Location was great, all the best restaurants in the area were within a 5-10 minute walk. There is a bowling alley and a small family fun center right across the street. A 10+ minute walk and you are smack dab in the middle of the "village". Shops, food, small theater, the heart of all the non outdoor activities in town.

Overall it was a nice hotel stay. It was on the pricey side to me, our room was normally $199 a night but we were able to get a 20% discount due to my girlfriends work. For that price you can score a great room in Vegas. To each his own though.

Room Tip: I was in room #14, had a nice view of the lake, albeit between some homes that are behind the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icedomin8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.3 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge

Address: 40660 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £61 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fireside Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Big Bear. We are in walking distance to the Village and also to a number of family activity centers. We offer a variety of accommodations from motels, private cabins and suites with indoor or outdoor jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing