We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Get-a-Way for our family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
chino, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Comfy Get-a-Way for our family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this Big Bear retreat since July. The staff is pleasing, the atmosphere makes our family feel special, the pool surrounded by tall pines is magical. Loved the view from our balcony, the jacuzzi and the wifi! Always a special experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ileene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherri h, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for the time to write a review about our facility and sharing your experience.
Glad to hear that your expectations were met. Have a great rest of the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    160
    85
    46
    33
See reviews for
240
201
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We went up to Big Bear to escape the heat in Orange County. It is a very nice place to stay. It is close to biking & hiking as well as restaurants and a shopping center. The rooms are clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff is helpful with advice on places to go. The breakfast is very good - they cook your eggs to order. The pool looked nice, but we didn't use it due to thunderstorms. I have stayed here in the past for a ski weekend and it is a nice location between the two Big Bear ski resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

(This review is basically a copy/paste of what I wrote on Yelp)

Despite this hotel being somewhat old - it has a really nice home-y feeling to it.

The room were very clean - had a nice, decent sized flat screen and the bathroom was spotless. Rustic decor continued into the room which was adorned with a painting of a bear! I loved it. There was a fireplace, but I only used it once. Even in the winter it didn't feel necessary. Beds were soft and comfortable. Too easy to sleep in even if you have things to do in the morning.

What really made this place stand out to me were all the people that ran it. Everyone I ran into, from the cleaning staff to the bartender were incredibly polite and seemed to genuinely care. I think a lot of that may be due to the small town atmosphere you get when you come here. I was surprised considering how little I paid - I was expecting a sort of hands-off "motel experience".

So here's my tl;dr:

Service: Amazing. Friendly and personable people.
Price: Probably the least expensive I saw, at least on most of the travel websites. (which is why I chose it to be honest)
Rooms: Clean, well furnished. It was snowing outside but I never felt the cold unless I wanted to.
Location: The Captain's Anchorage restaurant nearby? Definitely go there. Trust me.

OH, and the free breakfast buffet! Ron Swanson would have been proud to sit at that one. They had the works: Eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes and waffles. Awesome.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They allow pets on the bottom floor if you have a dog or cat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanisjimdandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
big bear, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Big Bear Best Western. The breakfast was more than adequate. The beds were a little stiff but the hot tub made up for it. We rode motorcycles and were able to park them in the protected area to keep them dry from the rain. The pool area was very clean and the workout facility seemed more than adequate (although we did not use it). Laundry service is unavailable on weekends so if you get rained on while riding your motorcycle you better have extra clothes with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Took a last minute weekend getaway to Big Bear for my sons to enjoy the mountains. This hotel was just fine for us. A bit old and outdated but it's expected in the mountain community of Big Bear. The hotel has a nice charm to it with a friendly staff and french decor. Our room has a balcony and a gas fireplace that the kids enjoyed. The cleaning lady Lupita was great and she propped the boy's stuffed animals on the beds after she cleaned our room. Only negative is the complimentary hot breakfast was pretty bad. It was the reason we chose the hotel and after our first breakfast, we actually thought about going out for breakfast the next morning instead of enduring that again. But we did anyway and just stuck with fruit and cereal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dexter619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

After a five-night stay, I was going to rate this average but reconsidered. Positives were a good staff, free parking and a better-than-average complimentary breakfast, with eggs cooked to order and good coffee. The big negative was that the rooms do not have individual thermostats. What you get is a switch; the AC is either on or off (or the heater, depending on the season), and when it's on it doesn't cool very well. As a result our room was too warm almost all the time, and we slept with a door open to the outside. When I complained the first time I was offered a fan to circulate air in the room, and that helped. I then asked to have the AC checked, because the air it was blowing wasn't particularly cold. It improved after that as well. All things considered we'll find somewhere else to stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_B074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I made a last minute reservation for a Saturday night stay in Big Bear Lake. This property was nice and did resemble a Chateau somewhat. My room was in the basement and was small but the bed was comfortable and the gas fireplace made for a wonderful, warm evening. The room was clean and the bathroom was decent sized with an awesome oxygenated showerhead. The breakfast was yummy and included freshly prepared eggs, potatoes and breakfast meats. The price was a little steep but it is a resort area and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherri h, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on this website and we really appreciate the feedback and rating for the Best Western- Big Bear Chateau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Worldmark at Big Bear
Worldmark at Big Bear
#4 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau

Property: BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing