We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

.This room was terribly overpriced. My family of four, kids ages 8 &6, were not impressed. The beds were so small we barely fit. As it was my husband & I were not able to sleep together, we both had a child in bed with us. The fireplace continued to stop working even after the staff came up to "fix" it. The staff was polite enough, however, we do not recommend this location for families with kids.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel has an European/ Alpine feel to it, right down to the Murano crystal chandeliers in the lobby and the breakfast room. The breakfast is large, varied and delicious. Do not miss the lounge for a drink with the huge TIffany glass ceiling. It is the largest piece of Tiffany glass I have ever seen and very beautiful. The fireplace in the rooms, the heated towel bars and the jacuzzi tub is perfect after a day of skiing/hiking. Of oourse there is the hot tub option if you want to socialize in the rear of the building. The staff at the front desk were super helpful and make you feel very welcome. This is the second time we have stayed there and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Close walking distance to Snow Summit Shuttle Parking lot, Location was perfect, close to everything else, Kmart/Vons/StaterBros, The staff is very friendly, and the food was pretty good The Rooms are cozy and they're pet friendly !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Myung Kyu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

So besides the location being quite close Snow Summit, I have very little positive feedback regarding this hotel.
We stayed here on a family trip, booked by one of the other members of our party. I would not stay here again and would HIGHLY recommend that you evaluate all your options before paying for this place.
We paid $300/nt for a standard room that in my opinion was worth $100. The rooms are so dated and OLD and felt a bit grimey even though it appeared at first glance to be clean. I am not used to staying in such properties. The grout in the bathroom is gross, there is no liner on the shower curtain, there was hair in one of the towels, the gas fireplace was broken. No temperature control in the room so either it was too cold or boiling hot with the heat on.
Our room rate at least came w/ complimentary American breakfast.
The front desk staff really is not that friendly or helpful.
I was really grateful when my second night was over and it was time to check out. Not a great feeling for ending a trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsl_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a disappointment to my family. We paid a premium rate of approximately $300/night and had higher expectations.

We arrived the hotel after 4pm (check in time) and the front desk girl was aloof and rude. She informed us our room may not be ready because they were very busy. Luckily, the room was ready but her attitude put a sour taste in my mouth.

Upon entering our room, there was an odd deodorizer smell. The furniture in the room was antique and the bed was brass. The drawers were difficult to open and close. The Jacuzzi tub was so high up, I almost tripped every time I got out of it. There were no extra plugs to charge our phones. There was no temperature control in the room so we opted to use the gas fireplace. Apparently, the logs were scented (I was not a fan of) so we smelled burning hickory all night. The upside to the room was the flat screen TV and it was very clean.

We decided to take advantage of the free breakfast. The cook to order eggs, bacon and sausage were not good. The eggs tasted like Chinese fried rice. The upside to breakfast were the waffles, bagels, juice, coffee and oatmeal.

We had dinner at the bar/lounge on the 2nd night. The bartender was very pleasant and friendly. The lounge was cozy and lodge-like and the fish n chips were really good and reasonably priced.

This hotel is not located in the village so if you are looking for the mountain lodge nostalgic feeling, this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a disappointment for my family and I. We paid premium rate of $300/night so we had high expectations. Upon arrival, around 4pm, the front desk girl was not warm and inviting. She was aloof and cold. She said our room may not be ready. I stated we came after check in time. She said they were very busy so we might have to wait. Luckily, our room was ready but her attitude was sour. We had come from Doubletree Suites by Hilton, in Anaheim, where service was impeccable and they were no less busy. The hotel is beautiful from the outside but when we walked into the lobby, it was 80's throwback of my grandma's house. The pro's were the Christmas tree was beautifully decorated and the lounge area was lodge like and featured the Tiffany dome. When we entered our hotel room, there was an unpleasant deodorizer smell. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The fireplace featured gas/scented logs. Since there was no temperature control, we opted to use the fireplace but had to deal with the aroma of burning wood. The brass bed was strange and there were not enough power plugs to charge our phones. The furniture looked antique and the drawers were difficult to open and close. The Jacuzzi tube was so deep, I almost tripped on the side when getting out of it, each time. The first morning we took advantage of the free breakfast. The cook to order eggs, bacon and sausage were awful. The eggs tasted like Chinese fried rice. The restaurant staff were very nice, though. We stuck with the bagels, oatmeal and waffles, the remainder of our stay. The second night, we had dinner at the lounge. The bartender was very friendly and the fish and chips were delicious. The maintenance guy was very busy but always had a smile on his face. I felt sorry for him because he was running around like a chicken with his head cut off. I believe he was the only person handling the guest requests. If you are looking for the mountain lodge experience, this is not the place to stay. It is not in the village.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is very average but, unless you want to stay in a ski cabin, is pretty much the only "hotel" option in the area and therefore gets higher scores than I would otherwise give it. There is nothing spectacular or awful about this place. Large rooms, decent value. All in all, a good and simple option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#8 of 19 in Big Bear Region
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Big Bear Chateau

Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £79 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing