We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean Rooms, great location, quiet, affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, CA, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean Rooms, great location, quiet, affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed one night for leisure, we were very pleased with the hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were very clean and due to the fact that it is sort of in-between seasons the town was pretty empty and therefore so was the hotel and it was very quiet! We slept great! The breakfast is complimentary and we were satisfied with it, noon check out is great, I really hate when hotels do 10 or 11 AM check outs, was very pleased was the 12 PM check out. Also, the hotel is pet-friendly so that is awesome! I will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    160
    85
    46
    33
See reviews for
240
201
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was a weekend getaway with my wife, and we decided that we wanted a nice, quiet hotel this particular weekend, instead of a cabin. So we booked a room at the Best Western Big Bear Chateau. When I checked in, the woman at the desk said that I had "REQUESTED" a room that was for people bringing pets (which I absolutely had not done) and no other rooms were available. I booked this room through Priceline, and they confirmed that there was no such request. Given no other choice (non-refundable booking), we went to our room in a section I call the "Doggie Dungeon" This is actually the basement of the hotel, where I was surrounded by rooms with yelping dogs. It is like being in a dog kennel. Please keep in mind that this hotel isn't cheap. Dog friendly rooms are not discounted. The woman at the front desk basically chastised me (though she tried to make it sound like she was giving me a booking tip) for not calling ahead to make different arrangements. Yes, in this hotels opinion it is apparently MY FAULT that I didn't call ahead and request a non dog kennel room. Unbelievable. My reservation SAYS NOTHING about wanting a pet friendly room. No one in their right mind would book this section intentionally, unless they truly enjoy the non-stop sound of barking dogs, or that they actually wanted a room in the pet friendly section. Now, there was also LOTS of noise from kids in the game room that is in this small section of the hotel, but I could deal with that. That is something you sometimes encounter when staying in a hotel. But the yelping doggie dungeon is unacceptable. As for breakfast it was was edible, with the exception of the potatoes, which seemed like they had been cooked 3 days before, and re-warmed each day before they arrived on our plates, sort of like "potato jerky" if you will, but flavorless. While checking out, the man in front of me compalined about an issue I had, which was the hotel controls weather hot or cold air comes out of the ventilation. You basicly flip a light switch and hot or cold air roars our of the vents, based on the time of year. Well it was blasting hot this night and it had been a warm day. I could have kept the window open which actually felt great, but in the basement where I stayed it is easy for critters to enter through the UNSCREENED window. Let me be clear. This property looks nice and I might have enjoyed my stay...if I hadn't been thrown to the dogs.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basement. You will not be told that you are getting a basement room when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very reasonably priced, clean, and well appointed. Many places in Big Bear are marginal. This worked well for us, and included a rather good breakfast. The next time we go hiking for the weekend, we will stay here as well. It is in the Moonridge area so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel whenever we visit relatives in Big Bear. Although we have stayed in other hotels in the region, none of them can come close to Best Western in terms of price, comforts, and amenities. The staff at the front desk is extremely friendly, the housekeeping staff do a wonderful job of keeping the room clean, and the breakfast is far better than you will find in most other hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel has a central heating unit located in the basement; which means that guests cannot control...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longstreet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

great hotel - will come back for sure. Did not know what to expect, but the lobby was something else. Some displays of antiques and great decorations. Breakfast was included with the price, and it was also very good - eggs and toast or cereal and muffins types of stuff. Very close to the lake and everything else too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I'm admitting up front that I'm writing this review - furious. My wife was bathing alone in our room when a male housekeeper (on a Thursday evening) walked into her bathroom without knocking because he "heard the water running a long time." Nothing the hotel management said or did could console a husband's anger over this - so while it appears to have just been a mistake- there is no excuse for opening a bathtroom door of an occupied hotel room without KNOCKING on that door. It embarrassed my wife and we left after one night although we were booked for two - they did comp our night and refunded our second, but there needs to be some SERIOUS changes in staffing at this hotel before I'd ever recommend this to a friend. Everything about this hotel is beautiful - but the STAFFING, training, and handling of conflict - is TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
6 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This Best Western serves a cook-to-order breakfast! You have a choice of eggs, omelet, meat, and potatoes in addition to the normal breakfast far. Staff was very friendly. We had a room with an easy to use gas fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. This is not a sleek, modern hotel. It is French motif, so expect some antiquity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristmasSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Worldmark at Big Bear
Worldmark at Big Bear
#6 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau

Property: BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing