We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique high quality experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Yorba Linda, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Unique high quality experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A great place. Very European. Think French Chateau. Good value and polar opposite of renting a cabin in Big Bear. Very good location for biking and skiing. Not far from the Village area. Restaurants within walking distance. Décor in the hotel is unique and classic European antique style. A Very clean and well kept property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    177
    94
    50
    33
See reviews for
259
227
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles County, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

NIce room, spacious. Full breakfast buffet included hot and cold food and beverages. Nice balcony and short drive to shopping , dining, activities. Good location. Pool and spa. Quiet. Will return and will tell friends and family. Good for family, business, vacation, honeymoon, weddings, events, reunions, weekend, etc. Nice grounds and lovely lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Tree, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The chateau is nestled in a very charming area that is surrounded by trees. It is a very picturesque.setting. The rooms are always very clean and well maintained. The beds are quite comfy. Staff members are friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub are conveniently located and well-maintained. Af full breakfast is included. The chateau is near downtown, but not right in the middle of the hub. I have stayed here several times over several years and find the experience to be quite relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lorrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our first stay at the Chateau. We were pleasantly surprised at how pretty it was. Even though we went in the summer, it still had such a Christmasy feel.
The staff from front desk, housekeeping, and food service people, were so amazing. They went out of their way to accommodate us. They were wonderful. I can't write enough about how sweet and attentive they were.
As for rooms and decor, the chateau is decorated beautifully and so was our room! The furniture was a bit aged, but it definitely added character to our room. The beds were nice and comfy and the tv was well equipped with channels the whole family could enjoy.
Another perk is the free wi-fi. There were no silly codes to put in, which was great since we were able to hook up multiple devices.
Breakfast was included. Not amazing but the effort was appreciated. They have a limited menu of hot food items, the rest is serve yourself, cereals, yogurts, fruit, pastries, waffles etc... I will say that was definitely a perk because that's one less meal you have to spend money on if you're visiting.
The only downside was that our toilet took some time to fill-up, and our tub drained slowly, but overall, we experienced far more positives staying here. I can say we can't wait to visit again. Absolutely charming!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

because the whole place has been remodeled and redone so beautifully, we liked it very much, specially the beds in our room was very clean and comfortable. workout room was wonderful and equipment were new. also, flowers out side were gorgeous and very pleasant. I felt I am getting married again. love love the whole thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mahmaud Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. If you have any issues, the staff is tremendously accomodating and clearly they value the business. It is obvious that they've gone out of thier way to create the chateau experience and done so in a very fresh way, The pool and jacuzzi are very well kept and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

when in Big bear, I recommend staying at the Best Western Chateau. This lovely french influenced hotel stands stately in the pines and is within an easy of everything. We found the Staff to be professional and the rooms all have wonderful views into the woods or Pool area.. Our room, as all others carry on the theme with antique furnishings, brass beds and corner fireplace. Baths all have a jacuzzi jetted tub and heated towels bars... our favorite place. this hotel is also pet friendly, but be prepared to have your room located on the lower floor near the grass area for easy access....Dont forget the included continental Breakfast with juices, baked goods, cereals, coffee and special order egg dishes.....you will enjoy.!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool area with the dense woods as the backdrop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
420 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Big Bear Chateau

Property: Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing