We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Friendly Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
West Covina, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent our New Years at Golden Bear Cottages. The cabin was comfy, clean and had all the essentials we needed to feel like home. Don & Lisa are so sweet and make sure all is taken care of for you. We look forward to coming back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    43
    11
    16
    38
See reviews for
111
38
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a great time! Lisa was very friendly and made us feel like family. They let us tour a cabin that was being renovated, but was not yet available. It looked great, I think we will stay in that one next time we come. This time we were able to get three cabins right next to each other. Nice amenities, swimming pool, jacuzzi, kids play area, basketball and volleyball courts, horseshoes,pingpong. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TODD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jacinto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a family favorite for us to stay at. We've been repeat visitors for the last thirty years! The customer service exceeds any I have ever had- genuine, gracious and a joy to do business with. The cabins are homey and comfortable, and supply all the basics. It's a home away from home- we would recommend to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just had a sweet getaway at Golden Bear Cottages in Big Bear. We have stayed here about 3 times now. Right off, Lisa upgraded our room, and what a neat little cabin it was, with kitchen and jacuzzi. Cute, clean, cozy....we had a real relaxing time. The staff is super friendly, consistent, and treats you like family, with emails about specials and recreation ideas in Big Bear. An email prompted us to go this fall, and we had the best "moderate" hike up Castle Rock trail. We bought a beautiful sweater in their gift shop. Also had a crisp walk behind the property on quiet streets, just gorgeous. They are easy to find on the main boulevard, yet we feel like we are secluded in the pines. Charming cabins of all sizes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Had the best experience! I was upgraded to the biggest most adorable cabin. Everything I needed was provided in the cabin. It had 7 beds! Great prices, wonderful staff and beautiful setting. I will definitely be coming back for my next Big Bear Trip!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My family and I had such a great time at Golden Bear cottages; our stay was exactly what I needed after a very stressful month. As we drove up it began to snow (my kids first snow experience) and the cabins looked like something from White Christmas (the movie). Our cabin had a full kitchen that was equipped with all the tools we needed to make our spaghetti dinner that night. After dinner we roasted marshmallows in our living room fireplace and watched a movie (cabin had a tv and dvd player). In th morning we made a full breakfast (having a kitchen is a must/saves money). The kids had a snowball fight on our private patio. What a perfect way to begin the holiday season. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jingerbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just like the last reviewer on here, I too won a weekend trip to Big Bear for 4. 2 night stay at Golden Bear Cottages & tickets to the Oktoberfest. When we arrived they had a 2 person cabin reserved for us b/c the trip was suppose to be for 2 pp but the radio station told me 4pp so I went up with my husband & 2 children. It was a little awkward at first. Lisa at the front desk called her Dad about the mix up & after she hung up with him she went ahead & upgraded us to a bigger cabin at no extra charge. The cabin was nice. Just what I expected for a cabin in the mountains. It was warm, comfortable & very cozy. All the rooms in the cabin are decent size. The 2 recliners in the living room were pretty comfy! Me & my husband actaully fell asleep in them on our 2nd night. There were 4 beds upstairs, 2 full or queen & 2 twin size. They were comfortable & the bedding was very warm! There is also free wi-fi. There was an outside area near our cabin where my kids loved to run around, take pictures of the large trees & collect pine cones.
After pulling into the resort for the first time, I noticed that I had actually stayed there about 10 yrs ago with 4 other families in one of their larger cabins which is 5 bedrooms. The owner Don gave me a tour of the newly upgraded cabin before we left on sunday. It's awesome! Very nice & roomy! All the appliances looked to be newly upgraded & the bathrooms were big with jacuzzi baths. I am planning our next trip there with a few other families to go back when it is snowing in Big Bear.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 737Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#13 of 19 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bear Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Property: Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Address: 39367 Big Bear Blvd, Mail: P.O. Box 1731, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Bear Cottages Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Bear Cottages, the best place for lodging accommodations in Big Bear Lake, California. We have 29 cabins to choose from on a historic big five acre resort. Rustic cabins nestled among 200 year old big pines just a block from Big Bear Lake. You will find our clean AAA approved cabin and cottage rentals as cheap as local mountain hotels. A cozy smaller studio or a one bedroom cottage is perfect for romantic couples, and our bigger 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 bedroom cabins are the better size for families or big groups. Clean AAA historic mountain cabins and resort lodge where the service is friendly and your family pets are welcome. If you plan on bringing your pets, make sure to choose designated cabins where pets are welcome in fenced pet yards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Bear Cottages Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Cottages Hotel Big Bear Lake
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing