We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHRISTMAS FAMILY VACATION!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My family and I had always wanted to go somewhere to make the most beautiful memory at Christmas time and New Years!!! We choose Golden Bear Cottages because the staff Lisa and Don made us feel like family right from the very beginning on the phone and thru emails!! Once we got there, we had never seen the cabin before and it was "PERFECT" SO COZY and comfortable making it feel so very homey. The cabin has very comfortable beds which is a "must" since we were spending so much time there. They supply you with all the comforts of your own home, dishes, linen, maid service...it was fantastic!!!!! The cabin was so rustic and very well thought out as far as design. i was so sorry to have to leave! We will be back again for sure, that is a must. I like it too that its a Christian family running it as well, the whole place reflects it! Lisa, you are a sweetheart and we are so glad we met you. Thank you so always being so helpful. We cannot wait to come back again and soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!! God Bless you all!!!!

Room Tip: Depending on how many children you have, the bigger cabins are the best if you have lots of children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Virginia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent our New Years at Golden Bear Cottages. The cabin was comfy, clean and had all the essentials we needed to feel like home. Don & Lisa are so sweet and make sure all is taken care of for you. We look forward to coming back again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a great time! Lisa was very friendly and made us feel like family. They let us tour a cabin that was being renovated, but was not yet available. It looked great, I think we will stay in that one next time we come. This time we were able to get three cabins right next to each other. Nice amenities, swimming pool, jacuzzi, kids play area, basketball and volleyball courts, horseshoes,pingpong. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TODD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a family favorite for us to stay at. We've been repeat visitors for the last thirty years! The customer service exceeds any I have ever had- genuine, gracious and a joy to do business with. The cabins are homey and comfortable, and supply all the basics. It's a home away from home- we would recommend to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 618leannep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just had a sweet getaway at Golden Bear Cottages in Big Bear. We have stayed here about 3 times now. Right off, Lisa upgraded our room, and what a neat little cabin it was, with kitchen and jacuzzi. Cute, clean, cozy....we had a real relaxing time. The staff is super friendly, consistent, and treats you like family, with emails about specials and recreation ideas in Big Bear. An email prompted us to go this fall, and we had the best "moderate" hike up Castle Rock trail. We bought a beautiful sweater in their gift shop. Also had a crisp walk behind the property on quiet streets, just gorgeous. They are easy to find on the main boulevard, yet we feel like we are secluded in the pines. Charming cabins of all sizes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 930jackies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Had the best experience! I was upgraded to the biggest most adorable cabin. Everything I needed was provided in the cabin. It had 7 beds! Great prices, wonderful staff and beautiful setting. I will definitely be coming back for my next Big Bear Trip!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jessica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My family and I had such a great time at Golden Bear cottages; our stay was exactly what I needed after a very stressful month. As we drove up it began to snow (my kids first snow experience) and the cabins looked like something from White Christmas (the movie). Our cabin had a full kitchen that was equipped with all the tools we needed to make our spaghetti dinner that night. After dinner we roasted marshmallows in our living room fireplace and watched a movie (cabin had a tv and dvd player). In th morning we made a full breakfast (having a kitchen is a must/saves money). The kids had a snowball fight on our private patio. What a perfect way to begin the holiday season. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jingerbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
136 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bear Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Address: 39367 Big Bear Blvd, Mail: P.O. Box 1731, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £79 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Bear Cottages Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Bear Cottages, the best place for lodging accommodations in Big Bear Lake, California. We have 29 cabins to choose from on a historic big five acre resort. Rustic cabins nestled among 200 year old big pines just a block from Big Bear Lake. You will find our clean AAA approved cabin and cottage rentals as cheap as local mountain hotels. A cozy smaller studio or a one bedroom cottage is perfect for romantic couples, and our bigger 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 bedroom cabins are the better size for families or big groups. Clean AAA historic mountain cabins and resort lodge where the service is friendly and your family pets are welcome. If you plan on bringing your pets, make sure to choose designated cabins where pets are welcome in fenced pet yards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Bear Cottages Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Cottages Hotel Big Bear Lake
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing