We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably better for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was our first trip to Big Bear in a very long time. We just needed a base of operations for doing some off-roading. Chose Golden Bear because of the good reviews. We would probably not go back to Big Bear because it is too crowded and busy to be restful. Unfortunately we ended up with a cabin (basically one room with a small bathroom attached) that was right along the road. The traffic coming up from LA was very loud and kept us awake until about midnight. Then at 2 am some partiers were banging on our front door looking for a different cabin. We didn't need a pool or the play ground. On the plus side it was clean, although when we first came in it had a very strong smell of some sort of odd air freshener. Luckily I had brought some apple cinnimon tea that I boiled for an hour and that took are of the smell.

Room Tip: Avoid cabins along the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RuthSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

First time staying at Golden Bear Cottages and we loved it. We were their with a big group with lots of kids. They had so much fun so many things to do. My 2 yr old really enjoyed their playground. Our cabin was spacious, clean and cozy. The staff was great always making sure we were comfortable. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vargas_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We really enjoyed our recent group visit at Golden Bear Cottages! It was perfect with each family having their own space and plenty of areas to meet up for fun/food. The staff was very friendly and always willing to make sure our stay was comfortable. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kmholsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was my first stay at Golden Bear. The cabins were spacious and really clean. The price was excellent and the staff was very helpful. There is plenty of activities for the kids and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike_efff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My whole family stayed at this place, the service was awesome, the grounds were fun and well kept ,and the cottage was clean, well maintained , and cozy! THANK YOU FOR SUCH AN AWESOME TIME GOLDEN BEAR COTTAGE STAFF AND OWNWERS! I would recommend this place 10x over to a couple looking to share some private cozy memories together or a family of however many looking to share some quality family time together!



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Worst experience ever.....the run my credit card 5 months after being in the cabins. They did the same three times to my brother in low. If you check the reviews you will find that is a commun practice from this thieves!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Camilo556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a mini get away for the weekend at Big Bear Cottages. Our 1 Bed cottage was perfect in every way, we had all we needed to just stay and enjoy the beautiful mountains, pool, basketball court, volley ball court, ping pong tables and my hubby enjoyed the horseshoes area. My kids has so much fun they are begging me to go back. The staff was great!! They were all nice, helpful and friendly they made you feel so comfortable. I would recommend this place to all my friends and family. Thank you Golden Bear Cottage for a great weekend for my family we all appreciate you very much. See you soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
429 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.1 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bear Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Address: 39367 Big Bear Blvd, Mail: P.O. Box 1731, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £85 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Bear Cottages Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Bear Cottages, the best place for lodging accommodations in Big Bear Lake, California. We have 29 cabins to choose from on a historic big five acre resort. Rustic cabins nestled among 200 year old big pines just a block from Big Bear Lake. You will find our clean AAA approved cabin and cottage rentals as cheap as local mountain hotels. A cozy smaller studio or a one bedroom cottage is perfect for romantic couples, and our bigger 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 bedroom cabins are the better size for families or big groups. Clean AAA historic mountain cabins and resort lodge where the service is friendly and your family pets are welcome. If you plan on bringing your pets, make sure to choose designated cabins where pets are welcome in fenced pet yards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Golden Bear Cottages Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Cottages Hotel Big Bear Lake
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing