We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again...and loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleepy Forest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed at Sleepy Forest before with our son and his family and stayed in a much larger two story unit. This time it was just my husband and I. We stayed in a small unit number 203. Just perfect for us. Cabins are always tidy, clean and very cute! We loved our stay and look forward to staying again in the future...........Oh, and the new beds are awesome! We slept like babies!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffenino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

What a wonderful relaxing time we had in Big Bear!. The accommodations were safe, comfortable, clean and relaxing. Just what we were looking for!! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great!. We only used our vehicle once to go fishing but other than that it was an easy walk or a nice bike ride to view the scenery or get something to eat. We will be going back again!!

Room Tip: Anywhere along this beautiful lake is just great. Friendly people and great scenery. Bring your bik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Everyone asks when you go to Big Bear "was it clean??". We were in cabin #5, and yes, it was clean for the most part. There was the occasional ant (seriously, we're in the woods, there will be some creepy crawlies here and there) that i smooshed, but no ant invasions. My biggest complaint was the tiles in the bathroom. The 1st thing i did when we went in to check it out was to walk right back to the office to let them know that the tiles were cracked. The guys said "oh, ok, i'll make a note of that", which he did, and "i think they were going to repair it this week". Ummm...we're staying here this week...i hope they're not fixing it while i'm staying here. They didn't. The other thing is, the cottage leans...yes, that's right, like a drunk sailor. I got used to it, and the kids didn't notice it, but it does lean.

I liked that we were able to park right outside our cabin. Some of them, you have to park on the street...well, in spots that are right off the street. It made us feel more secluded. There was a nice fan to bring in the cool afternoon air...that kept us from getting too hot.

Other than that, the kitchenette was very functional. Microwave (on the smallish side), fridge, coffee pot, stove (we only used the stove top) and a BBQ just outside. There were dishes, cups, utensils and a pot and pan. Oddly, there was only one steak knife. A sponge and soap to clean your dirty dishes, a towel to dry them off and a roll of paper towels to clean up your messes. Loved that.

We didn't use the central fireplace as it was summer and it didn't get that cold, but it was gorgeous as old fireplaces go. The pull out bed was comfy for my daughter, so the 3 of us were right at home. The bed seemed new and firm...the bed linens a little old and wore, but clean and comfortable. Old school 26" TV w/cable, VHS (which we could figure out), DVD player (which we could not).

The bathroom was nice except for that tile problem. The shower is VERY tall, so guys, if you're upwards of i'd say 6'2", you're good to go. Nice pressure and ample hot water.

Central location...a little closer to the Village than to BBC, but it was a great starting point...7-11 and McD's on the corners...which i mention for convenience. We only went to 7-11 for a lottery ticket...not a fan of the golden arches. I really picked Sleepy Forest because of it's location to the swim beach...it's only 4 blocks away, but it was rainy the 1st few days and when it warmed up, the beach is closed on Tuesday and Wednesday...just so you know. Bummed us out, but what can you do??

Morning coffee and pastries in the office. Same apple danish everyday, though. OK for my daughter, but my son kept hoping for donuts. Good coffee, for sure. In the afternoon, they had cookies...chocolate chip the time we stopped in...not sure if they have any other flavors. It's a nice little extra.

Over all this is a nice place. I don't think you'll be disappointed at all...unless you're a creature comforts sorta family. This is a do it your self place...and was perfect for us. Oh yeah, they also have free wi-fi, which is how i'm writing this review right now. Allowed me to check different things during our stay...like where to go or what time to be there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wheelies29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyforestcottages, Manager at Sleepy Forest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Thanks very much for this review. The exact cottage being reviewed her is cottage 205. A nice cozy cottage nestled in a quiet spot far from the roads. We are now remodeling this cottage, and have been concerned that we would probably get some reviews about the tile and leaning. The cottage will be new and re-structured soon. We offer snacks, coffee, movie rentals and more in our lobby, all complimentary. We apologize for any inconvenience in these issues, and appreciate the positive and kind words! Our main concern is that all of our guests know that we urge you to let us know while here how you feel and how your stay is going. We will do whatever we can to make you happy, and will upgrade any stay to any available room if unsatisfied. Thanks! Josh Pool, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were up to a great weekend out for Memorial day with the kids. Because we are five we were happy to find a place that could accomodate us. We met the owner and son of the cottages and they made an extremely friendly first impression. The cottage interior obviously wasn't new but made a sufficient impression. The location close to a playground seemed perfect.
Worriefree were we. But soon, the cleaning crew started to bother us. We could not move the patio furniture towards a more sunny place, our son playing with pinecoens and sticks around the cottage was asked not to do that (they thought we didn't hear them talking to him). It became clear the cleaning team was very afraid to get more 'work' and was afraid to get in trouble with their employers... They did not give us any time to clean up after dinner or they already had judged us. One of the owners approached us with their complaints by threatening us with an extra fee without even giving us the benefit of the doubt! I invited him to check on our cottage and then he saw he had worried for nothing. It was very clean! The cottage did not provide a broom or vacuum so we had not been able to do the floors, but you would expect this to be in the service, right?
A fairly nice weekend ended in a disappointment. Be careful when you go, the first friendliness isn't genuine. Especially with kids, don't go here. Although there is a cleaning service, make sure you do it yourself!!!!!!

Room Tip: check their conditions carefully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stefanieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyforestcottages, Manager at Sleepy Forest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you for the review. I do specifically remember this guest, and I am very saddened that they left with a bad taste and took the situation as bad service. We strive to be VERY kid friendly, but of course expect our guests to be respectful of our property as well. We apologize to this guest for the misunderstanding. Our housekeepers strive to keep our property looking nice, and the children in this cabin were pulling our bushes and plants from the ground and leaving them throughout our property. We kindly asked them to have their children stop doing so, as it left a mess and actual grounds damage for us to repair. The branches, pine needles and dirt that the children were playing with was left all over the deck and tracked into the cabin. the trash was over flowing and we had to spend twice the amount of time as usual cleaning. In this type of circumstance we do of course speak with the guest - and after speaking directly with them myself I realized the communication between our Hispanic housekeepers and the guests was misunderstood greatly. We did not mean to rude but only to ask the guest to clean up the extra mess they had made and seemed to think was not an issue. I had a very hard time explaining this as nicely as I could to this guest. Normally we ask all of our guests to let us know right away if there is anything they don't or didn't like about their stay - in this situation I was unable to explain the situation to this guest and I believe they mistook us as being rude when we were only trying to kindly ask them to be respectful. We strive to be honest and up front about anything. Please see for yourself and come stay with us! Thanks. Josh Pool, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We went away for one night for our anniversary and we had a wonderful time. Our room was clean, the fireplace and jacuzzi were great touches. There were enough supplies in the kitchen to make meals. We were pleasantly surprised at what we got for how much we paid. We will definitely be coming back again and recommending to friends.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank thepeepsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for our anniversary and we loved it!! It was our first time and from the start..very excited. Once we arrived, a very nice lady welcomed us and made our check-in as easy as possible. We stayed in cabin 4 and as soon as we walked in, we knew we picked the right one. The cabin was super clean and furnished just right for us. The jacuzzi worked perfect. It did fill up slowly but remained hot and so did the 3 shower bathroom. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need in it. Outside was all quiet, nature at it's best! It is a short walk to the lake, a very beautiful lake I might add. All in all, it is the best getaway we have had, ever. I will definetely be coming back here soon.

Room Tip: For a romantic atmosphere.. Cabin 204!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cris514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

My husband & i have been going there for our anniversary since 2002. I liked the old management better, they were more personable and friendlier, but the new people have updated the rooms nicer with less lace and thrills and a little more style. The wall heaters can be a bit noisy & the plumbing is old; for instance year after year cabin 205 washer on the bathroom faucet has a pin-hole that shoots a super thin stream of water onto you until the water gets hot and the hole swells and the squirting stops. Also the toilet flusher is sooo loud! The floors are very uneven and if you put a marble on one end i think it would roll right out the door! LOL. But the cabins are Very charming anyway and service is good and the location is great, and the value is the best for what you get. I just don't think they should be more than 2.5 star rating tho. My husband and i will continue to go there as long as the cabins stay as they are and we live in So.Cal :)
There is all sorts of sizes or cabins with different needs being met from a romantic hot-tub cabins to the 3 bedroom house for big families and everything in between, so everyone should be able to find what they are looking for. And the location is great within walking distance to the lake, 2 min drive to the town, etc.
Definitely recommended .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JnBinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyforestcottages, Manager at Sleepy Forest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thanks for this review. We are very glad that you continue to stay with us each year and like it here! I would like to note on a few things - our lodge has been owned and operated by my family for over 30 years now, and we do strive to keep the cottages in great shape and remodel when necessary. I am the current manager and have been here all along. Lately we have been doing new wood floors, new furniture, and new plumbing, including many multiple shower heads in our cottages. Guests seem to love the updates, which can be viewed on our website in our new pictures. We try to keep the cozy cottage ambiance that often comes with some of our cabins' creaky stairs or rustic fireplaces, but maintain comfortable and convenient amenities and conditions, which we work around the clock to maintain. Many of our cottages have stood where they do for a long time, and are loved that way. Our biggest concern here is that there might be plumbing issues and they are reported here on TripAdvisor instead of with us - we urge every guest at every check in to let us know right away what they think of their room or cabin/cottage - and to let us know right away if anything needs attention! These are issues we would love to know about and fix right away so that you can completely enjoy your stay with us! Please let us know while you are here how you like it. If you are not completely satisfied we will offer you a FREE upgrade to ANY other cabin or room. We strive to be completely honest and personal with every guests and appreciate the same in return. We love and appreciate our return customers very much. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks - Josh Pool, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hillcrest Lodge
Hillcrest Lodge
#1 of 45 in Big Bear Region
146 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lagonita Lodge
Lagonita Lodge
#6 of 45 in Big Bear Region
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#8 of 19 in Big Bear Region
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Forest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Forest Cottages

Address: 400 S Eureka, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £70 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Forest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 30 years in Big Bear, since 1/22/80. Our family pioneered the popular Jacuzzi Bath in front of the Fireplace in 1985, asking, "Romance, when was the last time?" The Pool Family invites you to stay in the nicest family lodges around. Sleepy Forest Cottages - the original Studios, Suites, Jacuzzi Rooms and Family Cabins, Cathy's Cottages - Our most romantic Jacuzzi Bath-Tub Honeymoon Suites, or our New Vacation Home Rentals - Walking distance from the ski slopes, on the lake, or backed-up to the woods, featuring Full-Size Spa's, pool tables, foosball tables, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleepy Forest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Forest Cottages Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing