We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Bear, Big Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleepy Forest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Bear, Big Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We and another couple rented cottages to check out Big Bear. What a pleasant experience. The cottages were very clean, located in a nice area, and well attended by the owners. We highly recommend Sleepy Forest and will return. I highly recommend that you select Sleepy Forest for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    35
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked the Honeymoon suite for a couple of nights and it was absolutely amazing! It's very cozy and the wood burning fireplace sets the mood. Outside there is a large grassy area that's pretty much your own and it comes with a charcoal barbecue. 7-11 and MacDonald's are a quick 2minute walk away. The staff here are extremely helpful and the lobby has a coffee and tea bar you can stop at anytime of the day and get free refills on beverage of choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneytheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Sweet little cottage decorated farm style. We had a wonderful day skiing at Snow summit just minutes from the cottage. Everything was perfect and I would love to go back one day. The best thing was to open log fire which made it really cozy. And a spa bath after skiing was very welcome to ease tired muscles.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindasinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

First of all I was extremely concerned when we arrived at our cabin mainly because I've seen the pictures on the website and read the reviews but when something seems too good to be true it probably is. In this case it was true!
We arrived late on 1/22...Martin Luther King day. We were driving down from Vegas but didn't anticipate the hoards of people driving back to California with us so ultimately ended up arriving to check in after 7pm but was relieved that they waited around for us to arrive otherwise it may have been a cold night in the car. When we got to the cabin (Villa de Lucia #198) we immediately took our tour to see if it was as advertised and we were pleasantly surprised! We're pretty picky when it comes to cleanliness so you can imagine we went over the whole place pretty well and was extremely pleased to find it was well maintained and very clean overall.
I could go on and on about the great customer service and the great value of this rental but just read all the other reviews, check out the pictures and trust me that everything is as advertised here...not all things are too good to be true. We'll be back next season!

Room Tip: I can't speak of any other rentals but Villa de Lucia, cabin 198 was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at Cathy's Cottages as a weekend getaway from my wife's grad school, and we really had the perfect weekend. Our cottage was homely, spacious, and had full amenities. It really felt more like a second home than any hotel, and the owner's friendliness was more like a host than just a hotel staffer. Even outside of the main village downtown (just past Stanfield Cutoff), this location actually put us close to the hiking trails on the north side of the lake, and was still only a short drive to the restaurants in town. I think the best part of the weekend was the peace of just staying in the cottage, leisurely enjoying the jacuzzi tub, and actually letting the stress melt away. I don't know if I've ever stayed anywhere else when the room was more of an attraction than the destination, but we're definitely going to stay here again when we need some time off.

Room Tip: Kathy's Cottages are a bit outside of town, but a great starting point for the outdoor adventure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deskase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyforestcottages, Manager at Sleepy Forest Cottages, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hello, thanks so much for this nice review. We are very pleased to be referred to as a second home by any of our guests. It is our goal to have that kind of atmosphere and experience for everyone. We hope to see you again soon! Take Care. Josh P., Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Clean, cute and quick service checking in. The room was just what we needed and we enjoyed the fireplace. If I could change anything it would be to have a softer bed as the bed was a bit hard for my arthritic body. The other was the light from the porch and parking lot lights that would be best blocked from filtering into room at night. Also enjoyed the leather glider chair in the room. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyforestcottages, Manager at Sleepy Forest Cottages, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello and thanks for the nice review! We are sorry to hear that the bed was not comfortable for you. We are always replacing, changing and updating beds for this reason. They are often too soft or too hard for different guests. We hope you can come stay again and try a different cottage and bed, give us a call!
Thanks, SFR Josh P. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

It's been nearly a week since my husband and I returned from our mini-honeymoon here. We stayed in cabin 201. We had a wonderful time and I am already longing to return.

Our cabin was great, there was a separate bedroom from the main living area, which had both a jacuzzi tub and a wood-burning fireplace. We made use of both of these features every day we were there.

Our unit also had a full kitchen (minus a dishwasher). This was nice because we were able to chose which meals to eat in or out.

We did have one issue. The day after we arrived, we left our cabin and left the sign up for maid service. We were away for several hours and when we returned, our room had not yet been serviced. My husband went to the office and they gave us fresh towels, and for the rest of our stay, they made sure that our room was taken care of.

The people in the office were very helpful with suggestions of where to dine, etc.

I know that they have larger family cabins, and I am looking forward to coming back here with our daughter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Forest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Forest Cottages

Property: Sleepy Forest Cottages
Address: 400 S Eureka, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Forest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 30 years in Big Bear, since 1/22/80. Our family pioneered the popular Jacuzzi Bath in front of the Fireplace in 1985, asking, "Romance, when was the last time?" The Pool Family invites you to stay in the nicest family lodges around. Sleepy Forest Cottages - the original Studios, Suites, Jacuzzi Rooms and Family Cabins, Cathy's Cottages - Our most romantic Jacuzzi Bath-Tub Honeymoon Suites, or our New Vacation Home Rentals - Walking distance from the ski slopes, on the lake, or backed-up to the woods, featuring Full-Size Spa's, pool tables, foosball tables, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleepy Forest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Forest Cottages Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing