We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Forest Lodge
Temecula, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Black Forest is the hotel I've ever stayed at before in Big Bear. My boyfriend went up there midweek and got a nice 1 bedroom jacuzzi cabin for only $85 a night. The lady at the front desk was very nice and let us look at all the rooms before we payed. It was very romantic REAL log burning fireplace was an adventure and its nearby "The Grizzly Manor" which has very good breakfast for about $15 for two. We loved our stay and plan on returning at least twice a month every season. In fact I'm going to book my own private cabin right now

  • Liked — The price and the service
  • Disliked — Trying to drive in with no chains on our car haha :P
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nikkiwfg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    43
    21
    12
    32
See reviews for
32
59
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We were pleasantly surprised by this Lodge after reading some other reviews (on other webpages). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Lodge is walking distance to a few restaurants and shops. We definitely recommend Fuji Teppan Grill. The Teppan chef, Sam, is funny and a great cook. The Lodge is also less than a mile from Snow Summit.

Our room (Room #53) was kind of run down but it wasn't bad. For example, some of the blinds were broken, the door to the bathroom didn't shut well and there was no fan in the bathroom. However, the room was big, the bed was comfortable, the wall heater and fireplace kept us warm and the in room jacuzzi was awesome after a day of snowboarding.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — In room jacuzzi and fireplace
  • Disliked — Some broken blinds, no fan in bathroom, no room service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatiePesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

Booked our room last minute through their website. Although our room was right in front of the main road, we could not hear any of the traffic while we were inside. The bed was comfortable and the place very clean. I was slightly disappointed to see their "fireplace" was not a real fireplace but a mock fireplace that lights up a a press of a button. Minor disappointment. The jacuzzi was a very nice bonus, although we did not get to use it since we only booked the room one night and got there pretty late. The location was great. There is a restaurant right across the street that served HUGE breakfast portions. Snow Summit is just down the road about a mile or so. The Village is a couple of minutes away. All in all, a very cozy place to stay.

  • Liked — in room jacuzzi!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank flipinflix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Big Bear is amazing, a great getaway from the city. Unfortunately, our trip was nearly ruined by an employee at the Black Forest Lodge. The service was terrible and the one staff member was more than rude. The prices are cheap, but you get what you pay for it appears.

I would recommend looking elsewhere.

lk

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank paultic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was in a great area, we could walk downtown. There was an awesome bbq restaurant across the street. The Rooms have balconies, fireplaces, nice king size bed. It was clean and comfy!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Lagoooonagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2006

Paid $60 with tax got a great deal on a saturday night in month of December. It's a pretty cozy place. My complaint is that the heater didn't even turn on and had to rely on the gas fireplace which was annoying because you can hear it while sleeping. The bath tub was fludded. Don't expect shampoo and conditioner because they only provide soap. Overall, i think it's not so bad for the price paid for. Although did noticed the sheets were old and worn out bed.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank candy722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Calif.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2005

We rented a jacuzzi suite on the recommendations of the Big Bear Lake Chamber of Commerce, ( not knowing at the time they made money on our decision).....The price was high but sounded like the special getaway my wife had asked for for her Birthday. The facility looks in need of repairs,-poor Paint, - maintenance, etc. ---Once in the room we discovered - the bed sheets, pillows, blankets...all smelled DIRTY, sort of like an unwashed sleeping bag ! - The blinds on the windows were too narrow and left a 6 inch gap from top to bottom that allowed everyone that passed by to see into the room,- Bar countertop was sticky and dirty--The gas fireplace barely had a visible flame,- the thermostat for the wall heater didnt work properly, elec. outlet in the bathroom was faulty, ((Things we could accept for a 74.00 a night room, ))--but UN-ACCEPTABLE for a 174.00 a night room, --Also could not find anyone to voice our opinion to in the morning when we checked out, Had to leave the keys un-attended and hope no one else picked them up.....We wont make this mistake again !

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
17 Thank kencan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.8 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Lodge

Property: Black Forest Lodge
Address: 41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Famous Black Forest Lodge has been providing memorable vacations to fit any size group or budget for over 30 years. With cabins, motels, family chalets and homes we can make your next trip to Big Bear a fantastic experience. Enjoy cozy honeymoon suites with in room spas and our exclusive micro spa for a haircut massage or a little self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest Lodge And Jacuzzi Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing