We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Place But Needs Some Work”
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Forest Lodge
Reviewed 5 July 2008

The Black Forest Lodge in Big Bear Lake is a quaint, and quite old, hotel with cabins. You can stay in a regular room, or a cabin. We chose a cabin. The cabin had a queen size bed that was way too hard and my husband and I tossed and turned every night of our 3 night stay. There is a jacuzzi in each room, but we didn't use it. There was a bathroom that looked like it hadn't been fixed up in years. The sink was cracked and peeling which was kind of gross, but the bathroom was clean. The cabin we were in was decorated in florals; floral wallpaper, floral bedspread, floral curtains; and all the flowers were different kinds of flowers. It was kind of like sitting in the middle of a flower field way every kind of flower you could think of surrounding you. It looks very much just like the pictures on the Lodge's website.

All that being said tho, the cabin had a wonderful front porch with plastic chairs and a plastic table with an umbrella to shade you. Sitting out there in the morning with coffee and the evenings as the sun set was well worth any inconvenience we may have had. It was exactly what we were looking for; peacefullness, rest and alot of relaxation.

The hotel is located right across from a really good restaurant and a good Mexican food restauant as well. It is in an excellent location, kind of the middle of the tourist section of town. It's close to the lake, the marinas and "The Village".

I would suggest to my friends they give it a try, but you have to be willing to stay in an old place that has little upkeep in the last several years. When we left there, we were definately relaxed and the atmosphere of the overall lodge contributed to that. I would stay again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Obreezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2008

This was the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in. Hardest, oldest bed I've ever slept on - could barely sleep throughout the night. Hotel was dirty and needs repairs & upkeep. Looked like it was really run down. Ceiling fan didn't work, no A/C. Then, they put us in a suite that faced the busy road. There was no A/C or ceiling fan, it was hot so we had to open the door which was very noisy and made sleeping even more difficult. Spider webs on the ceiling and in the draperies. Yuck! I didn't want to touch anything!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank raretravelNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

I took my two daughters skiing for a few days. The cabin I had orignially booked was double-booked, and one of their employees recommended the Black Forest Lodge. We stayed in a beautifully decorated room with two queen beds, a gas fireplace, sofa, and a balcony. The room was very clean. The lack of shampoo & conditioner in the bathroom was a non-issue, since we brought ours (why would anyone travel without toiletries anyway??). The room was made up each day, and the gentlemen I dealt with at the front desk were efficient and pleasant. We will definitely stay there on our next visit to Big Bear.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarkus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Black Forest is the hotel I've ever stayed at before in Big Bear. My boyfriend went up there midweek and got a nice 1 bedroom jacuzzi cabin for only $85 a night. The lady at the front desk was very nice and let us look at all the rooms before we payed. It was very romantic REAL log burning fireplace was an adventure and its nearby "The Grizzly Manor" which has very good breakfast for about $15 for two. We loved our stay and plan on returning at least twice a month every season. In fact I'm going to book my own private cabin right now

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nikkiwfg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We were pleasantly surprised by this Lodge after reading some other reviews (on other webpages). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Lodge is walking distance to a few restaurants and shops. We definitely recommend Fuji Teppan Grill. The Teppan chef, Sam, is funny and a great cook. The Lodge is also less than a mile from Snow Summit.

Our room (Room #53) was kind of run down but it wasn't bad. For example, some of the blinds were broken, the door to the bathroom didn't shut well and there was no fan in the bathroom. However, the room was big, the bed was comfortable, the wall heater and fireplace kept us warm and the in room jacuzzi was awesome after a day of snowboarding.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatiePesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

Booked our room last minute through their website. Although our room was right in front of the main road, we could not hear any of the traffic while we were inside. The bed was comfortable and the place very clean. I was slightly disappointed to see their "fireplace" was not a real fireplace but a mock fireplace that lights up a a press of a button. Minor disappointment. The jacuzzi was a very nice bonus, although we did not get to use it since we only booked the room one night and got there pretty late. The location was great. There is a restaurant right across the street that served HUGE breakfast portions. Snow Summit is just down the road about a mile or so. The Village is a couple of minutes away. All in all, a very cozy place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank flipinflix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Big Bear is amazing, a great getaway from the city. Unfortunately, our trip was nearly ruined by an employee at the Black Forest Lodge. The service was terrible and the one staff member was more than rude. The prices are cheap, but you get what you pay for it appears.

I would recommend looking elsewhere.

lk

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank paultic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.2 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Resort
Wolf Creek Resort
#11 of 45 in Big Bear Region
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#25 of 45 in Big Bear Region
164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Goldmine Lodge
Goldmine Lodge
#26 of 45 in Big Bear Region
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
#35 of 45 in Big Bear Region
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Lodge

Address: 41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £45 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Famous Black Forest Lodge has been providing memorable vacations to fit any size group or budget for over 30 years. With cabins, motels, family chalets and homes we can make your next trip to Big Bear a fantastic experience. Enjoy cozy honeymoon suites with in room spas and our exclusive micro spa for a haircut massage or a little self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest Lodge And Jacuzzi Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing