We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hillcrest Lodge " DID IT AGAIN!!! "”
Review of Hillcrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillcrest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My Family and I stayed Here last year January 9th, 2013 for our first Winter Family Vacation in Big Bear...WE LOVED IT and ESPECIALLY the service from Lori (assistant manager) and Curtis (all around handy man and staff)! See my review back then Jan. 9, 2013. Well, My family could not wait to get back again this year and although we did not time it right for Snow, We stayed January 2 - 5, 2014 The Hillcrest Lodge once again made our stay another one of our best vacations ever!
We stayed this time in unit #11. This was another great unit and fit all four of us well...2 kids and 2 adults. Last time we stayed in unit #4 and was better fit for us with a bigger kitchen but unit #11 had two bedrooms and large table for playing games etc.
All the Hillcrest staff was great!
The Hillcrest lodge is a short walk from the Alpine Slide, Across the street from a restaurant & brewery and two easy in and out driveways to the lodge.
The Hillcrest Lodge has great facilities we BBQ'D steaks, Corn on the cob and Mexican Onions on the outside grill for dinner one night!
MOST IMPORTANTLY among the great facilities, it is by far the people who work and run this place that makes the Hillcrest Lodge worth every penny!!!!
All the staff from room cleaners to handyman to the assistant manager make the Hillcrest Lodge the best value in town.
I spent a lot of time with Lori when booking my vacation on the phone both last year and this year. She is the most accommodating and honestly caring about my family vacation experience as anyone at any Hotel Establishment I have ever booked a stay. And then there is this guy Curtis or Curt, He is probably the best worker at any facility I have ever been! He is everywhere, doing everything! Greeting us on arrival, fixing a refrigerator door handle when we needed, cleaning rooms, assisting at the front desk when we checked in the 2nd time, making sure the BBQ worked for us, insuring we had our requested extra towels and toilet paper, and taking my kids to show them where a safe and nice place to play in the snow last year...WOW! Way extra and what will keep us coming back!!!!
Simply Put.....THE HILLCREST LODGE IS A GREAT FAMILY VACATION SPOT!

Room Tip: We are a family of 4 with a 14 and 12 year old child. We love unit #4 and also now unit #11. We a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We sold the lodge. But we think you will feel just as good (or better) about the new owners, Val and Ken. They are really nice people dedicated to great service.

Thanks for your repeat business and fantastic review. Hope you will always return to Big Bear and The Hillcrest Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hillcrest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Hillcrest Lodge this past weekend and had a GREAT TIME! The cabin that we were staying in was perfect. My family of two adults and two kids lived comfortably from Thursday to Sunday. The room was very clean, and close to all the action without being in the busier part of Big Bear. The amenities were very helpful in not only keeping the cost down by making food rather than eating out, but it made for a much better "Family" atmosphere by making a fresh meal, having the fireplace going, and enjoying the company of family and friends in a setting that you never get from doing the same back in the city. The staff were very friendly, and were professional in making sure that our trip was perfect. A special thanks to staff member, Curtis, who would always say hello and ask how our day was going and see if there was anything that was need.
I am already looking to return there within the next couple of weeks, as well as will always look here for my first choice for accommodations. Thanks again to everyone at Hillcrest Lodge, and I look forward to coming back REALLY soon.

Room Tip: Room #904 is the room we were in and is very roomy for a family of four/five.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Wow! You can't believe how rewarding it is to receive such high praise.

Susie and Rusty Barnes have enjoyed being hosts, but we are moving over to welcome the new owners, Val & Ken Bascom, to take over. The Bascoms are wonderful and will surely take Hillcrest Lodge to even greater heights (so to speak).

Susie and Rusty wish them great success and hope all our guests will return to see what Ken and Val add to a great little lodge.

Thanks for staying at Hillcrest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went up to Big Bear last weekend, and once again stayed at the Hillcrest Lodge. This is a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is fantastic. We decided to come up one day early and called at the last minute, no problem our room was available and they made sure is was ready for us when we arrived.
The rooms are very welcoming, and comfortable. We like to stay in the one bedroom cabin. We have also stayed in one of the single units, they are also very roomy and nice. (cabin #1, yes I think openning up the wall between the kitchen and bedroom is a good idea)
They have BBQ's and outdoor seating areas on site if you are in the mood for a home cooked meal, which was real nice.
The location is great, easy access to the Village, the Marina and the Mountains.
This place will always be my choice destination.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svlorijt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you once again! We have completed a couple small improvements this fall. Opening up the wall in ONE has not yet been done. We will likely wait until after the busy winter season because it may turn into a bigger job than we think (remodeling usually does).

We have added a couple "eyebrows" on the roof above the entries to ONE, TWO and FOUR so the rain and snow melt won't be such a bother when you're coming and going. We have completely redone the bathroom in TWO by replacing the cheezy plastic showing with a full tile one and moving the sink so there's much more room in the bathroom.

We have taken our customer's suggestions seriously and have added requested hooks and hangers, replaced a DVD that was sometimes a problem, changed our WiFi components for better service and spruced here and there as things are pointed out to us.

We will continue to improve and change as time and budget allows. Please keep letting us know what needs to be done. And please, keep those positive reports coming our way when we earn them.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

First trip to Big Bear and we were pleased where we stayed. We stayed in the Meadow View Cabin which is a small but comfortable 2 bedroom/1 bathroom place on the main grounds. The cabin was extremely clean and was a comfortable stay for 2 adults and 2 children (7 & 11 years.) The fenced backyard area was a nice addition to allow the kids to safely play. We were an easy walking distance to the Alpine Slide and water slide and a longer walk (but still easy for kids) to the village area.
The staff on site, Lori and Curtis, were extremely helpful, friendly, and made us feel very welcome! We took advantage of the full kitchen and all appliances worked properly and there were enough dishes/utensils for all of our needs. There is a small area in the front of the lodge that has a ping pong table, sand box, outdoor seating and an outdoor fireplace. The girls enjoyed using this area a few times and we made smores at the outdoor fireplace. I would stay there again!
There wasn't a swimming pool so I left it unrated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty B, Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

It is so much easier to keep working hard when we are rewarded by reviews like yours. Thank you so much for taking the time. Lori and Curtis great inn keepers. They make all the difference between an okay stay and a very nice one.

Hope you'll return often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away , we had never been to big bear, we made reservations just for a couple of days at this place and loved the cute cozy cottage. we had a private backyard and the cottage had recently been remodeled. Rustic yet with some modern flair. we had arrived 2 hours early and since the cottage was available they let us check in. great friendly staff. Everything was a five min drive very conveniently located. Its was great for my pets too. if I return to bear lake, we definitely will stay here again . Thanks to Wendy at the visitors center, for recommending this place. and Lori who checked us in with a friendly smile. NIce place nice people!

Room Tip: If you need a pool or exercise you have walking through nature and a huge lake! also, smaller cabins...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora4507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thanks for your great review. We love hearing from our guests. We really want to know what might make your stay even better next time. Our manager, Lori, will pass along any suggestions and we will strive to make them happen.

A guest recently asked where their electric car could be charged. In response, we installed a 50 amp charging plug.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I cannot begin to express how awesome the staff at Hillcrest is! My toddler got car sick on the way up to the lodge and made a mess on her blanket (which she cannot live without)... The staff was kind enough to wash it for us while we walked around and had it ready on the bed when we returned. They were SO sweet! We stayed in room 8 which was pretty nice. Having a full kitchen was great to have considering there are not a lot of vegan places to eat around there. I recommend this place to anyone! It's not the Ritz but the family atmosphere is priceless. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

You are so right! The staff, Lori and Curtis, are the key. They are the best we could ever hope for. They care about every detail of our operation; cleanliness being at the very top of their priorities followed immediately by guest relations.

Your review is greatly appreciated. If there are any suggestions for us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Managing Member
Hillcrest Inn, LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in room #9 last weekend with our dogs. We weren't looking for anything special -- just happy that we could find any place at all for the July 4th holiday weekend. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. The staff was pleasant and accommodating from the beginning. As dog lovers, we were thrilled with the room. It was decorated with dog photos, had a pet dish, pet gate, and really made us feel welcome. It's pretty comfortable for people, too. There is a full kitchen, spotlessly clean and stocked with everything we needed. We love to hike and found out after we arrived that we were walking distance from a great national park and hiking trail. It's also an easy walk to the Village and the Lake. The price was reasonable for a holiday. The managers live on premises, so if they're not in the office, there is a phone number where they can be reached at any time. There's a great deck with BBQ, sand box for the kids, romantic swing, and ping pong table. The whole place was quaint and very well-kept. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty B, Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your next visit we hope to earn Five-Stars across the board. Please let us know how we can do that. Any suggestions to improve are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Sleepy Forest Cottages
Sleepy Forest Cottages
#2 of 45 in Big Bear Region
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Lodge

Address: 40241 Big Bear Boulevard, PO Box 1872, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £81 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh paint, new wallpaper, hardwood flooring, flat-screen TVs, new linens and so much more has transformed Hillcrest Lodge into a charming and cozy get-a-way. Hillcrest is within a block of the Alpine Slide & snow play area and only a half mile from The Village and Big Bear Marina. There are restaurants, bakery and a Brewery half a block away. And the new tent venue for weddings and small concerts is just across the street. We know you'll want to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing