We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's our anniversary tradition”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Fontana, California
1 review
“It's our anniversary tradition”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We've been going to Castlewood Cottages for may years now. We just went for our 18th anniversary. The owners/managers, not sure which, were very friendly and helped us scrape the snow off of our truck. The cabins are very clean and nicely decorated. They are also completely private! And, the fireplaces use real wood. There's great food close by. We always eat the Captain's Anchorage. Not the cheapest, but well worth it.
I'm sure we will continue this traditon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djovanelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    35
    8
    10
    11
See reviews for
67
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

If you are looking for anything other than a roof over your head then this is not the place.

1. The worse housekeeping I have ever experienced in a hotel
2. The beds are so uncomfortable, the pillows are less
3. Linens need to be replaced
3. The sponge in the kitchen inside a dirty holder with a hole in it would contaminate your dirty dishes.
4. I pulled the couch out for my son to sleep in the bed and crumbs were on the sheets.
It's really too bad, because it has a great location, but the attention to cleanliness and restfullness is just not there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothersage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

When we arrived, we were happily greeted by the owner. He checked us in quickly and offered to show us to the room. Since this was our second time staying at Timberline Lodge, we didn't accept the offer, so we got our keys and proceeded to the room.

The room we rented was Cabin #1, which had 2 queen sized beds in 2 bedrooms. Since there was only 4 of us, each of us had our own bed! The room was clean and decorated pretty plainly, but it suited our needs well. There was a full kitchen, dining area, a living room with a couch and love seat with a wood burning fireplace, and there was also a huge balcony which overlooked the pool (which was closed for the winter). The only minor downside to the room was the bathroom. It was just very small.

Throughout our trip, we saw the owner several times. He was very personable every time and offered us forgotten toiletries, movies from his collection (VHS), discounted ski/snowboard rental coupons and even suggested an excellent Chinese restaurant.

I would definitely stay here again, the only this missing was a Hot tub after a day of snowboarding.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidnightClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This was the best deal I found on the mountain, especially if you are on a lower budget.
We were offered an upgrade at a very low cost. Very cozy and comfortable. We went with a party of 6, including two young children, and were overall very pleased with our little cabin. It's close enough to town and nice and quiet. Staff was super friendly, accommodating, and very generous. Was clean and convenient. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We have been lodge at Timberline Lodge for the past 20 years, and this is the best keep secret in big bear. The Lodge is nesteled near the lake and it has a play ground for the kids and the cabins make the moutian experiance well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gb1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Enjoyed the hospitality of this lodge by staying in one of the cabins. Small children played in snow, playground, and on adjacent slopes. Cabin was cozy, warm, and easy access to Village. Fendy, manager, called us to make sure we were traveling safely up the mountain and to assure us he would wait for us to arrive. Cabins cleaned well by workers. We plan to return in February!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Ernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This little place was the perfect cozy cabin hideaway. Big fireplace with wood for purchase stocked in the room, fantastic, and the price was good, owner didn't gouge you for it. Also, cozy kitchenette, perfect for cooking if you wanted to, my friend and I made a big hearty breakfast. The location was good, not too close to the village, but not too far away. Great hiking trails close by. The value of our stay was exceptional, and the owner is the nicest person, he gave us little goodies at the front desk, and return coupon! We went to enjoy the local Octoberfest, and had the best time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelagentfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.1 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timber Haven Lodge
Timber Haven Lodge
#11 of 45 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fireside Lodge
Fireside Lodge
#10 of 16 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Black Forest Lodge
Black Forest Lodge
#18 of 45 in Big Bear Region
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Meadows Resort
Bay Meadows Resort
#8 of 45 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Lodge
Blue Horizon Lodge
#10 of 45 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 39921 Big Bear Blvd, PO Box 1955, CA
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Timberline Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family cabins from 1-2 people to 8 person private cabins, heated swimming pool, new playground area and full size volleyball court surrounded by tall pines of Timberline, CA. Located close to Big Bear Village with lake and marina close by. Cabins are fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing