We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargin”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Would stay again. Payed $220 for 3 nights and it slept 8 people. We stayed in cabin 7 and had a great time. Owner was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badscene21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Timberline Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

The cabin that I stayed in had two small bedrooms, a tiny kitchen and an even tinier bathroom. So tiny, that your legs touch the sink as you are using the toilet. The couch was like sitting on springs, the front blinds did not close, and the overall appearance on the inside was from the 1970s. No hangers, sheets that are thin and towels that are dingy. Couldn't wait to get out!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

what a great place to "get away" with our 3 teenagers. Not too far from home but far enough away that the cell phones had NO signal ! Spent lots of time playing cards, board games and talking, things we don't do much at home because everyone is busy.
the 2 bedroom cabin was really nice. The full kitchen made it easy to cook in or use the bar-b-q right outside the front door.
The kids enjoyed tetherball, basketball and volleyball also right outside our front door.
We weren't too far from tow and the Bowling Barn.
You can see the lake right out the front windows.
I would recommend it to anyone with kids of any age.

Room Tip: Cabin #8 is where we stayed way in the back of the property
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91Doreen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We like rustic, and our cabin with fireplace next to bed/ with logs and kindling,
Was sweet!
The grounds and cabins are very clean.
The owner and staff, you could tell loved their Jobs, it showed!
Friendly, always busy!
My Husband and I just wanted a place to relax, AND WE DID!
Close to Marina!
Just a tip, if you are used to plush, probably not for you.
It"s a cabin in the mntains;)
We loved it!

Room Tip: These are cozy, and lil bit Rustic! We enjoyed our stay, and will be back! If I would give any tip...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forgvn1cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We visited Big Bear Lake in May for just one night, after reading revues we decided this would be perfect. But how wrong you can be. The cabin was dirty, and infested with ants, the windows only had broken blinds so we could not close them enough so we had to use pillows and cloths to block out the light. We were kept up all night from the neighbour who played loud music untill 4 in the morning, we could not complain untill the next morning because the owner was not on site overnight. Then to top it off the next morning no hot water for a shower. When we complained we were told the ants had arrived early this year and you had to keep turning the shower hot and cold to get it to work. We were looking forward so much to visit Big Bear Lake and we came away feel great we were leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were looking for an affordable place to stay with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen for our family. We stumbled across Timberline Lodge and it looked like the perfect place. We stayed in #9 and it was perfect for what we were looking for. It has a very rustic feel to it and is definitely older. It was exactly what we wanted for a snowboarding getaway. There was also a playground, which the kids loved, even in the dead of winter.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenjoy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We booked a one bedroom cabin for a two night mid-week mini-getaway and the Timberline Lodge fit the bill for what we were looking for. The property is on the older end (aka the same age as most cabin properties in the area) but fits the funky, campy Big Bear Lake vibe nicely. It was great to have a separated living room, bedroom, and kitchen at a price that would usually score you a modest motel room.
The small unit came with a fireplace, a kitchen equipped with everything you would need to use it, free wifi, a small sofa couch that turned into a twin bed, a tiny television and VCR, and was furnished with a bunch of weird old decorations. The heater was in the living room but close enough to the bedroom to heat that up as well. Hot water took a bit to get to the room but it lasted as long as we needed. Firewood was pay-as-you-go and enough was in the room to last you all night.
Service at the front desk was only during the day, but they had lots of free 'whoops I forgot that' items available and an entertaining selection of VHS tapes. Service was casual yet attentive, which once again fits the campy mountain vibe that we were looking for during our short stay.
As others have said, if you are the type who lives in the lap of luxury and expects a sterile room that looks like it has never been used, you will want to steer clear of this, as well as most other cabin properties in Big Bear. We felt like we were staying in a relatives cottage or something like that, and for the price we paid, it was certainly a nice little treat. We will return when visiting Big Bear.

Room Tip: Front desk will honor price-match. Check the hotel website for specific room details, you can previe...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILikeHiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.5 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Meadows Resort
Bay Meadows Resort
#8 of 45 in Big Bear Region
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Motel 6 Big Bear
Motel 6 Big Bear
#17 of 19 in Big Bear Region
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timber Haven Lodge
Timber Haven Lodge
#9 of 45 in Big Bear Region
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#25 of 45 in Big Bear Region
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 39921 Big Bear Blvd, PO Box 1955, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £71 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Timberline Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family cabins from 1-2 people to 8 person private cabins, heated swimming pool, new playground area and full size volleyball court surrounded by tall pines of Timberline, CA. Located close to Big Bear Village with lake and marina close by. Cabins are fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing