We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cozy!”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Pomona, California
1 review
“Cute and cozy!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed there one night on vereran's day with my boyfriend. The studio cabin had a fireplace next to the bed, the room was stocked with firewood and starter logs you can purchase so you don't have to go out to get more if you run out. I loved the little porch with 2 chairs to just relax outside. The room had a refrigerator for our beverages and a microwave and coffeepot with cups. It was perfect for the price!!! The owner was very friendly and they have a VHS player in the room and there are about 100 VHS tapes in the lobby you can borrow as well as books. Also picnic tables and BBQ outside if you want to bbq. The lake is right across the street too. I will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmfranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    35
    8
    10
    11
See reviews for
67
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern, Calif.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This facility has older accommodations with few amenities outside of a weak wifi. The beds are only OK and there is no air conditioning if it gets hot. The prices are very high for what you get. They are charging for the location the hotel is at rather than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great location and value. Leaves you money to do the great things in Big Bear and enjoy the better restaurants there. HOWEVER, you need to be 'flexible' in your taste. We happen to love staying in places that are comfortable and old-fashioned. Timberline reminded us of places we would stay on vacation with our folks. Especially loved the hand-painted walls that looked like wallpaper...beautiful! And the knotty pine walls and the fireplace were perfect. But, we learned that you leave the bathroom door open as no heat vent there!As long as you are not demanding the ultra modern...its a great value and charming little place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all satisfactory...depends on how many people are in your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I decided to go on a weekend getaway for her birthday. We chose the Timberline Lodge based on other reviews and we were more than pleased. We stayed in cabin 8, which had everything from pots and pans to extra blankets and pillows. My wife and I had packed blankets, pots, and some silverware just in case. Cabin was very clean, spacious and included a wood burning fireplace (they even have 2 bundles of wood in the cabin and if you use them;they just charge you!). We were very pleased with the cabin, the location, and we didn't even here any neighbors. The next time we get away it will be at this place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSouth75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amargosa Valley, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The cabin was bigger than I though it would be. Nice and clean, no musty smells. Has a view of the lake. Cozy little place and although it's right the main drag, it's quiet after 10:00 pm. Makes for some good sleeping. WiFi was good in our cabin, but I didn't try any other locations around the place. The bed was comfortable, but it could use an upgrade, it had a tendency to bounce a little when you or your spouse moved.

The owner called me on my cell at 1:00 pm. and let me know we could go ahead and check-in if we wanted to. We had just ordered lunch at Carl's Jr. down the road a bit. When we finished our lunch, we went over and checked in. That was great and awfully nice of him to call! Otherwise we were going to have to kill time until 4:00 pm.

I would recommend this place to anyone who's going up to Big Bear. It's easy to find, is just a short distance from the lake, and food is also on the same road. Boulder Bay Park is nice, and you can rent kayak's nearby and launch from there if you like.

Room Tip: The king size bed cabin are closest to the pool and street. There is little to no noise from street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stay here every September for our group dog camp. Fendi is always welcoming and accommodating. Most cabins have full refrigerators and stove and microwaves along with dishes, pots and pans and utensils. We always prepare food in our cabin. Timberline captures the feel of Big Bear. We enjoy our time here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I don't know how I missed it because I check all reviews on places that I book, but somehow this one slipped past my radar. The cabin was so filthy that my stomach turned. I couldn't allow my Grandkids to touch anything, the smell was yukky, like old dirt, sweat, food. There was visible dirt on everything, the switch plates, the fridge handle, the edges and corners of floors. There was a smear of jam or blood right above the switch plate by the front door. Can you imagine the germs and disgusting stuff that you can't see!!!??? The furniture was sooo sad looking, so old, grey and dirty. The comforters looked like they hadn't been washed in months, never mind the ugly 70's style. The carpet was so gross, wavy and ancient, and so dirty that it was a dark ugly dirty color and had a stench coming off of it. The manager was nice about the whole thing and tried to get me into another cabin, but it was almost as dirty. That same damaged filthy carpet... I hate leaving a bad review, I'm not that hard to please, but this was a major inconvenience for me since I had 2 little kids with me. I had a hard time getting another place on such short notice. They definitely need to hire a deep cleaning service, buy new carpet and furniture.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallbrookgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Golden Bear Cottages Resort
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Motel 6 Big Bear
Motel 6 Big Bear
#17 of 19 in Big Bear Region
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lagonita Lodge
Lagonita Lodge
#6 of 45 in Big Bear Region
143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 39921 Big Bear Blvd, PO Box 1955, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Timberline Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family cabins from 1-2 people to 8 person private cabins, heated swimming pool, new playground area and full size volleyball court surrounded by tall pines of Timberline, CA. Located close to Big Bear Village with lake and marina close by. Cabins are fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing