We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

thanks for everything Linda. You had the best brownies I think we have ever had. Thanks for the lovely stay too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    9
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
77
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san marcos, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay over the recent weekend. We were very pleased with the room and the breakfast was great. We enjoyed the peaceful setting and cant wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are great and not one of them has a bad view from what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The accommodations, the atmosphere, the cooking, and the atmosphere is so down home...We loved it!!! Thanks for a fabulous weekend, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

we love coming here to re-kindle the old flame and keep our romance new. We are so grateful that there is a place like this for us to enjoy together. It rejuvenates our souls and blesses our lives.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabryna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had a great weekend stay at the Alpenhorn and was very impressed by the cleanliness, hospitality and attention to details. Our room as extremely clean, roomy and comfortable. Large, very updated bathroom and nice relaxing private deck that looked out onto a man made babbling brook. The backyard was so serene, well manicured and peacefull. Linda goes out of her way to make sure her guests are welcomed and taken care of. The breakfast was simple, but a nice variety, followed in the afternoon by fresh baked cookies, wine and appetizers in the evening, then on our return from dinner and an evening out, a very welcoming display of after dinner drinks and a variety of chocolates and snacks. The whole experience was top notch and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hairly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We enjoyed our visit...would probably return for a second visit because we loved the wonderful, homecooked breakfasts...but needs a few improvements on making guests happy.
There were hardly any guests there at the time we were there...yet the staff neglected to give us clean towels the second day. I waited and waited...finally had to ask for clean towels and they handed me only 2 bath towels. I had to ask for clean wash cloths and hand towels and she had to get them out of the dryer. I really like clean towels each day...and don't want them at 5:30 at night after I ask. Also... we looked forward to the cookies and little snacks that were supposed to be provided in the evening...but they were sporadic on when they served them. It didn't happen every night...which was disappointing.
I would definitely give this another chance...there were many neat things about the grounds, the house is very pretty and clean and the staff was nice. I think maybe they need to be a little more consistant .
It is very relaxing to sit out in the huge back yard area..with benches and interesting things to look at.... like cute bird houses and a little fishing bear statue by some running water.
I really think maybe we happened to be there during a stressful time for the owner..and maybe that is why it seemed that a few things were forgotten.
Would recommend this to others...if you can get it on a special deal...it is still very nice....even with the minor irritations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Thank you Alpenhorn (and Groupon!) for the awesome balcony room, the satisfying breakfasts, a picturesque setting, and gracious service! We could not have asked for more during our first ever B&B experience. I loved the communal atmosphere and despite the close quarters in this home-like inn, we barely heard a peep from anyone. We all got along great and everyone was super friendly. The owner Linda was ever helpful and we liked her immediately. Breakfast was always tasty and had us so full that we rarely needed to have lunch. I will definitely keep this place in mind should we ever come back to play in Big Bear!

Room Tip: There's envelopes that request gratuity
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miship00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.9 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Fawnskin
The Inn at Fawnskin
#1 of 2 in Fawnskin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 601 Knight Ave., PO Box 2912 (US Mail), CA 92315-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evelyn and I became the new Innkeepers on 6/22/2016. We welcome you to the Alpenhorn Bed & Breakfast Inn located in spectacular Big Bear Lake just blocks from Snow Summit, the lake and the village. Elegant, but informal this B&B has private decks, fireplaces, and seven-jet spa tubs for two and a tranquil garden. Gourmet breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres, after dinner snacks and chocolates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhorn b&b
Alpenhorn Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing