We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Alpenhorn for a mini getaway on his days off.
The bed and breakfast is really beautiful and well taken care of. When you first arrive
you feel as if you are staying in someones house, it has a warm and comfortable feeling to it.
We have only stayed at one other bed and breakfast in the past so this was only our second experience at one it definately is a different feel then a hotel. Linda the owner and inkeeper was very nice and made us a great breakfast which we really enjoyed. I loved the fireplace in the room as well as the huge jacuzzi tub. I was expecting just a bathtub with jets but this was the largest bath/jacuzzi indoor tub I have seen indoors. If you are thinking about visiting Big Bear and want a nice, clean comfortable room this would be a great choice. Will definately visit again someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heysweetiehey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    10
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I had a amazing weekend at my sister's wedding staying at the Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast. Linda (the owner) is a wonderful lady. She made everything so lovely. The food was awesome. I can't wait to go stay again with all our family. Thanks Linda for everything :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnDerBach, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I love hosting weddings here and your sister's was especially lovely. I look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We've stayed at a lot of B&B's before and the best by far is Alpenhorn. There are many great things about this place, our room, the amazing food, and of course our generous and delightful hosts. They made us feel like family and we look forward to our next trip back to Big Bear!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Alpenhorn B&B. They are generous and really care, and we appreciated their hard work and the breakfasts were wonderful.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had an amazing time! What a great place to stay. We will definitely be back. It felt like home!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Alpenhorn B&B is a beautiful place! We had a wonderful time. Thanks to both of our wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The Alpenhorn is a very quaint B&B with great service close to the Village (about 5 blocks). You are greeted warmly by the proprietor, Linda, when you arrive and shown your room and the property. The 5pm appetizers with wine were very nice. Linda made these delicious little puff pastries stuffed with feta cheese, along with fruits and vegetables, cheese and crackers.

The breakfasts were our favorite part. The first morning we were served warm vegetable and cheese quiche, along with granola, fresh fruit and steel cut oatmeal topped with caramelized bananas.

Our second morning we were treated to french toast with fresh berry syrup, thick slices of smoked bacon, granola, yogurt and fresh fruit.

The only slight downsides to this B&B were:

1) The bed in our columbine room was a little too hard for our taste
2) The first night we got in, we were under the impression that Linda had made us reservations at the Peppercorn, but for some reason they did not have our reservation so Linda booked at at the Evergreen instead, which turned out t be good.

Overall I would recommend this B&B for a nice romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.9 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#6 of 19 in Big Bear Region
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 601 Knight Ave., PO Box 2912 (US Mail), CA 92315-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evelyn and I became the new Innkeepers on 6/22/2016. We welcome you to the Alpenhorn Bed & Breakfast Inn located in spectacular Big Bear Lake just blocks from Snow Summit, the lake and the village. Elegant, but informal this B&B has private decks, fireplaces, and seven-jet spa tubs for two and a tranquil garden. Gourmet breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres, after dinner snacks and chocolates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhorn Hotel Big Bear Lake
Alpenhorn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing