We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible management/office service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Bear Cool Cabins
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My grandson and I stayed in "Baby Bear" cabin from Cool Cabins. Unfortunately I lost the key to the cabin. All of our things were inside. I called the office prior to coming in for the spare, they told me I would have to pay for the key I lost...no problem, what, a few bucks. They searched and did not have a spare key and told me I had to have a locksmith go to the cabin and make a key and I would have to pay for it. They called the locksmith and no doubt they work in unison. The locksmith finally came after 4 calls to the office. We waitied outside in the freezing night for about 90 minutes. He wanted $100 cash only. I think because my grandson and I were standing outside for so long with our teeth chattering that he lowered the charge to $75 after some negotiating. Victim of a scam, yes! Never ever again!

Room Tip: Cabin was very cozy and the bedroom bed was comfy. The sofa bed was comfy according to my family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

This cabin out of all we have experienced staying at was the best. It is a small cabin right on the lake. Very private, quiet and has a great dock. We fished, swam, barbecued, and rested like we didn't know how much we needed this until we were there. It was very clean and wonderful to be in the mountains on the lake like that. It was perfect. Our dog loved it (pet friendly place) and it will be our future go-to Big Bear Lake Cabin again. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Bring food because you won't want to leave to eat out. It's that nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IShareCuzICare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I just returned from two nights in Big Bear in a cabin called Moonridge Retreat I booked through Big Bear Cool Cabins. I spent much time looking over information before renting with them and I was very satisfied. Having spent many nights in cabins located around Gatlinburg I wanted a similar experience. The cabin was located at the end of a cul de sac and only two other homes were occupied so it was very quient and private. The appliances were newer, hottub was older but was clean sans a few dead bugs floating in the water. No big deal. It had two decks and the lower one was a little worn but there was a very functional gas grille on the upper deck along with a table and four chairs. It was so peaceful having the windows open and hearing the wind in the trees. We split the cost with another couple and it was less than two hundred dollars per couple for two nights. It was a typical cabin experience with a few bugs, a few cobwebs and the placed needed aired out on arrival but when you figure these are occupied maybe 10% of the time what should one expect? Had a great time and will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickN6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We were deceived by cool cabins in believing that the lake front property we were going to stay is in Prestine and clean condition. The cabin was advertised to fit 12 people but it had hardly enough space for 6 people. The rooms were dirty and horrible despite us been charged top dollar for it. Stay away from these guys.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Ah, where to begin? First off, the original booking company we used, Red Awning, booked us in the Bear Necessities cabin with Cool Cabins for Memorial Day weekend (we have the email confirmation). When I called Cool Cabins on Friday morning to see if we could check in slightly earlier than 4pm, I was informed that the cabin had already been rented (!). Barbara was helpful, though, and did send through a list of cabins that were available at similar pricepoints for Memorial Day. Priority One was for us to find someplace to stay...so we ended up choosing Little Brown Bear, which happened to be available. Some of the property reviews on the Cool Cabins indicated that the carpeting was dirty, the furniture run down and uncomfortable, and there were holes in the walls. However, those reviews were posted over a year ago, and mgmt had responded to the review assuring upgrades, so we felt confident in our decision.

We arrived at the office to pick up the keys. Service was adequate, if distracted. We received instructions on how to access the cabin & keys, so went to the property.

We arrived at the property (in the fog and rain) and the lockbox code did not work. I called the Cool Cabins office, who said that they would send someone. We waited in the dark in the rain in our car for 30 minutes - no one showed. So we called Cool Cabins again, who said they would send a maintenance guy and that they "didn't know what happened" to the person that they thought they had sent originally. I would like to point out that all this time, they had my cell phone and could have called me with an update. So another twenty minutes later, no sign of the maintenance man. We called Cool Cabins again, who said he was 'on his way', and we started to make our contingency plans (find another hotel to stay the night, etc.). By the way, it is still raining, and is now dark. When the maintenance man showed up, he tried the lockbox and couldn't make it work either. Then when he called the office, someone on the other line gave him a different lockbox code, which thankfully worked. My question is, why didn't Cool Cabins give us the correct lockbox code either 1) when we checked in, or 2) when we called and said that the lockbox wasn't working? Either way, poor service & organization all around. We finally had access to the cabin, and decided to stay the night.

The cabin itself was barely serviceable -- carpet was filthy, including patches of stiff crud on the floor where something had been spilled and not cleaned up. Furniture (1 couch, 2 folding chairs) was caved in in the center so difficult to sit on (let alone sit on with any sort of comfort). Luckily we brought our own zero gravity chairs and ended up using those all weekend. Main bedroom was serviceable, bathroom was OK. Kitchen was listed as 'fully stocked', which translated to a plastic shopping bag of assorted silverware on top of a small microwave, and a handful of plates. At least the refrigerator and dishwasher worked...

I would definitely not stay in this property (Little Brown Bear) again, and will also not be using Cool Cabins to book my next stay in Big Bear. However, we did learn one helpful tip from the owner of our backup Bed & Breakfast - if you encounter any issues with your cabin rental in Big Bear, you should call the Big Bear Code Compliance hotline immediately (909) 866-CODE.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k23p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

These guys are the epitome of cheap and penny pinching. We stayed at 39342 Aurora Road. This place was run by Cool Cabins and owned by a cheesy, cheap guy. When you're spending thousands of dollars a night for a cabin you should have access to the rooms. These guys lock off the rooms including the master!! Secondly, they charge you for garbage collection. Yeah you heard that right. $5000 a night doesn't get you garbage removal. I'm not talking about cleaning up a messy house. I'm talking about Cool Cabins making you drive your garbage in bags, to the city dump or pay $50 for them to do it. Really? Obviously when staying here you can afford the $50 but it's the principal. Combine that with no access to half the rooms in the house, a dirty spa, rules against using the DVD player, a laundry list of things you have to do before departure, and signs everywhere telling you to rat your neighbors out if they have too many guests, and this place leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth! Suffice it to say we are never coming back to the Aurora house or using Cool Cabins again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We rented the 1classic cabin do presidents day weekend and overall it was an awesome place to stay. Check in was easy just go to the big bear cool cabin office near the center of big bear city to check in and get the directions to the cabin. The cabin we rented was clean, the electric and heaters worked great and there was a big flat screen tv in the living room. There was also a great wood deck with a propane grill out back. It was covered in snow when we stayed but would be a great place to hang out during the spring/summer. I should also mention that cool cabins gives a 10% military discount so if you rent from this company b sure to mention if you are in the military. Our weekend centered around snow boarding and we were less than 5 mins from big bear snow summit which was fantastic considering how tired we were at the end of the day. I highly recommend the 1classic cabin for families with kids as there was plenty of space for my husband, myself and our two young sons ages 3 and 5.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikinjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#26 of 45 in Big Bear Region
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
#35 of 45 in Big Bear Region
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleepy Forest Cottages
Sleepy Forest Cottages
#2 of 45 in Big Bear Region
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Bear Manor Spa Cabins
Big Bear Manor Spa Cabins
#38 of 45 in Big Bear Region
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Cool Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Cool Cabins

Address: 40375 Big Bear Boulevard, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £205 - £862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Big Bear Cool Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to beautiful Big Bear with mild summer temperatures and snowy winters! Big Bear Cool Cabins invites you to be our guest in the beautiful mountains of Southern California. With more than 400 properties, ranging from single-room cabins to condos and entire lodges, Big Bear Cool Cabins has the perfect rental for your adventure. Located just a couple of hours from Los Angeles and Orange County, and about three hours from San Diego or Las Vegas, Big Bear Lake, Southern California is the perfect vacation destination. This year round resort features a beautiful lake for boating and fishing, the best slopes in Southern California for skiing and snowboarding, the National Forest for hiking, biking, and horseback riding, a quaint Village full of shops and restaurants, and much, much more. Whether you're looking for a woodsy cabin or a luxurious lakefront, you can choose the features you require to book your Southern California vacation with us. Big Bear Cool Cabins' friendly reservationists are ready to help you find the perfect accommodations for that vacation hat has been long awaited and well deserved. Check out each vacation rental online for availability, then give us a call! From all of us here at Big Bear Cool Cabins, we look forward to hosting you, your family and friends very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Big Bear Cool Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Cool Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing