We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean but in need of upgrades” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Big Bear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Big Bear
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
sylmar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clean but in need of upgrades”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I book a room that was advertise as a double queens and got really double full size, the mattresses are really in need of replacement (bowed in the middle),linen, blankets are so worn thin that they do not keep you warm thank God the heater worked and the pillows are so old they give your head and neck no support. The TV is of the 1980 model, But it was clean and everything in the bathroom worked, the staff was nice and helpful, the rates were cheap,but the next time I come to visit Big Bear I will stay at a better place

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    31
    27
    16
    11
See reviews for
31
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

A good friend of mine and I were in Big Bear for a three-day weekend from October 11 to the 14th, 2013.
Check-in was simple. We found out that it was Oktoberfest in Big Bear and the motel was totally sold out. No wonder, since it was right across the street from the venue. On Saturday there were no parking spots left at the motel, so we just parked on the street. There were no parking issues on any of the other days of our stay. The motel is located in a nice area and the weather was beautiful.
We did have a few small problems during our stay: Upon arrival the room really smelled of cigarette smoke. It either wasn't always a non-smoking room or it just needed a good air freshening (spray of scent killer to all surfaces). The shower regularly dripped heavily - I put a towel on the floor of the shower and it was quieter. When we returned to the motel on Sunday evening, our room had not had maid service - we contacted the manager and he was not eager to make sure the room was serviced (it was quitting time for the housekeepers).
Motel 6 is the best value in Big Bear Lake. Even though we had a few problems on this visit, we'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The highway runs along the north side of the motel - other rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaTreeMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Some of the essentials when choosing or finding an hotel are, simplicity of booking, cleanliness, ease of parking etc
M6 Big Bear meets all of those criteria..
We had two dogs and made a last minute decision to stay in the mountains for the Saturday night instead of returning to the heat of the desert.

We were very comfortable and even contemplated a second night but were prevented by other commitments.
Recommended

Room Tip: We asked for an got a ground floor drive up room - worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Across the street from the lake, and a very nice park right there on the lake, this property is close to restaurants and lake activities. The Motel is very basic...bed, bath, functional TV, but it was clean and quiet. It is doggie friendly, with lots of walking area. The area around the parking lot, however, needs to be cleaned of weeds and trash. We did find ants in the bathroom. The staff gave us a can of odorless spray, and that took care of them. Additionally, they gave us a nice partial refund because of the ants. For a place to stay without bells and whistles, this is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool/courtyard...away from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at motel 6 in Big Bear mid week in early May, the off season. The motel was priced reasonably, it was quiet and the beds were comfortable. I was traveling with my dog, so I needed a place that could accommodate her. Hardly the lap of luxury, small rooms, but a nice, comfortable, clean, basic room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sahewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

First of all I'm in the business, so I have a different perspective then a regular traveler. I was not impressed. My family of 4 (2 young boys , mom and myself) came to B.B. for a nice weekend away. The nicest thing I can say is that the hotel is right in front of the tubing place so that was nice, unfortunately there was no way to get there except to walk thru the snow to my shins, (or up to my 4 yr olds thighs) or u can walk on the busy street, again with my 2 little boys that wasn't the safest route. The bed was ok, the "comforter" if that's what you can call the paper thin cover on top was no good and considering this is a SNOW resort it was cold. The heat was either super hot or super cold. The tv was a dinosaur, and our remote didn't work. We had to pay for wifi that u had to keep putting the code in which was a huge pain while entertaining the kids with Netflix. No breakfast, the coffee was ok, the hot water was not hot. The bathroom floor was really slippery, I slid into thr bathroom everytime I went in. no safe, and the amount of snow & ice in the parking lot & sidewalks is a lawsuit waiting to happen. When we pulled in a police car had someone pulled over n had trouble getting in (not their fault) overall it was a place to sleep nothing more. Again I work front desk so I tend to be alot easier on complaints etc but we should have rented the room $20 cheaper up the road even with their bad reviews. I wouldn't go back, and I wouldn't recommend it. The front desk staff was nice though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahN1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Starting with the price. Around $96 per night for a room during weekends. No microwave, no coffee maker in the room, no free WiFi. Oldest TV set I have seen lately. Towels were cheap and old. Far from the Village. Try to stay away from it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
3.0 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
3.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#13 of 19 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Big Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Big Bear

Property: Motel 6 Big Bear
Address: 42899 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Big Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Big Bear CA is located 3 miles from Big Bear's World Class Skiing and 1 mile from Big Bear Lake. The Convention Center, home of Octoberfest, is across the street. Enjoy Wi-Fi, available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Big Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Big Bear Hotel Big Bear Lake
Motel 6 Big Bear Lake
Motel Six Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Motel 6
Big Bear Lake Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing