We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay ever”
Review of Lagonita Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lagonita Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel stay ever”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was the worst hotel stay we have ever encountered. The floor in our room was covered with crumbs. Our bathroom was filthy, and even after our complaint to the front desk did not get cleaned. The heat in our room did not work, and did not get fixed after we complained. There was hair from the previous occupants all over the bathroom and bed. The Jacuzzi was covered with about an inch of foam. Hotel management did not act on any of our complaints and denied any refund or other compensation. Stay away from this place!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_G301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    48
    19
    5
    12
See reviews for
71
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Some background. We are a couple with 9 and 12 year old boys who have been coming to Big Bear about once or twice a year for 10 years. We tried cabin rental but twice got moldy dirty mess, tried the 3 most popular hotels which are overpriced and hate going to restaurants in Big Bear because the food is largely inedible.
Since our first visit 4 years ago to Lagonita we have never stayed anywhere else. For a few dollars more than a motel you get clean, one bedroom unit with full kitchen, lake front or 2 min. walk to lake. The boys love the pool, activity room and there is always a DVD for them to rent. We pack breakfast lunch and dinner to heat up in microwave and store in full size fridge.
Yes the customer service is not the Ritz but you are in Big Bear and they are nice. Yes the beds are a little hard but much better sleep having central heat and door separating us from the kids. Unless you are staying in Condo on the slope you are driving to ski anyway, you should know you have about 2 miles to get to village.
I suspect negative reviewers have not frequented Big Bear lodging options.

Room Tip: It is 2 floor condo style so second floor will have less parking lot noise and you won't hear pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShakeItSugaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

we stayed at the Lagunita Logdge in Big Bear last weekend. It definately is a family lodge with lots of families with children. There is an indoor pool and spa which was great given the cold cold temperature outside. It was clean not overly loud. There were lots of people but it wasnt out of control. The room was great with the indoor fireplace and kitchen. We found the lodge past 10 was very quiet. All in all we will stay here again

Room Tip: Definately just park in the front as the parking by the rooms gets a little crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I will never make plans to stay at this facility again. Mangement is rude and actually said that if you booked through an outside source like Hotels.com or Expedia they will provde zero customer service and will only provide customer service for people who book directly through their hotel. Unfortunately I didn't know this before I booked my trip through Expedia and was extremely disappointed with my expereince. Who wants to say somewhere in the hospitality industry where they basicaly tell you that you don't matter?

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked a room for one night and we paid almost $300 for a one bedroom. The sleeper sofa bed mattress was unbelievably worn. It was basically springs only with a thin layer of cover. The hard , cold floor was the only option. To make matters worse, the heater hummed like a siren all night. This was a waste of money and made for an impossible night to sleep. Too bad because the place looks nice and it was clean. A little bit of money on the owners part and they could fix this.

Room Tip: Don't plan on using the sofa beds and check out the heater upon arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OutbackSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We've been going to Lagonita every year for the past 3 years. I always look forward to it as a real R&R type of vacation. I don't need to rush to any attractions or be on a timeline. You get here, it's peace and quiet all the way. Our room this time was 122 which was a 3 bedroom 2 bath suite with indoor fireplace, a balcony, 2 pullout couch so you can fit alot of people with this room. It has a 6 seat dining table, a good enough flat screen tv, and best of all, free wifi. Not the fastest but free nonetheless so you can't complain. All the utensils are readily available and clean. The suite comes with a stovetop, oven, microwave, and dishwasher. The suite also has a heater for the cold days however no air conditioning for the hot days but they do supply you with an electric fan.

We got there at 10:00am and the room was freezing! It was 30 degrees Fahrenheit when we arrived so thank goodness the heater was working.

The bbq grill was just outside our room so talk about convenience however my complaint is that the grill switch becomes really hot when used (which it shouldn't be) I burnt my left thumb while trying to turn the grill back on after another guest had used it, so be careful.

I was also disappointed to find out that they had removed the dock and I was unable to fish. You can fish on the edge of the lake however you won't get anything so don't waste your time. Renting a guided boat isn't worth it at $85/hour with a minimum of 2 hours to catch a few trouts.

I'd love to come back here when it snows. It's really really relaxing and you'll just feel right at home.

Room Tip: Lake view is always worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A place to relax. Lake and mountain can be seen from the balcony of your room. A fireplace and a good wine at the end of the day in a family meeting. The sound of silence when you sleep. I've been there only two nights but i'm planning to return for a week. The lodge is at the same distance for the two best places for snowboarding in Big Bear, so you are in the best place near the lake and the city of Big Bear. Do not forget to ask for a room in front of the lake with a balcony. Try it. You will love.

Room Tip: Lake Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpreisvelloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.8 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
411 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagonita Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagonita Lodge

Property: Lagonita Lodge
Address: 183 Lagonita Lane, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagonita Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lagonita Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagonita Hotel Big Bear Lake
Lagonita Lodge Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing