We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute 2 day get away.”
Review of Lagonita Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lagonita Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“last minute 2 day get away.”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had seen Lagonita Lodge before and decided to give it a try before the holiday weekend. I was able to book online a 1 bedroom, full kitchen, balcony with full view of the lake. Check in time was 5pm but I requested an early check in if possible. We arrived just before 2 and Yasenia was able to check us in and gave us an even better lake view on the 2nd floor, room 219, over looking their boat docks. It was a perfect location close to the parking lot, which they don't charge for, close to the stairs and elevator. The kitchen was small but had everything you needed. Had a very nice gas fireplace which we made use of as it was cold at night. The bed was comfy and bathroom had bathtub/shower combo. They have an indoor pool and hot tub as well as an adult hot tub outside but shielded by the wind so that was nice. The grounds are kept up really nice. We had an issues with the deadbolt plate on or door and they came and fixed it right away. We also signed up to do an 2hr pontoon ride from 10:30-12:30 in the morning and it was only $10.00 per person. We have been going to Big Bear for many years but our driver had information that I didn't know so that was nice. They have gas BBQ's in a couple different areas but are a little touchy to get started but that worked nicely for dinner. All in all it was a very nice place to stay and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor room 219 and it was perfect. There were 3 stories in some of the buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    47
    19
    5
    12
See reviews for
69
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Dirty rooms, poor customer service.... Would not be my first choice to stay in big bear. The next month I was up I got stuck behind the bus from the dam to the village.... No courtesy to pull over!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simonorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I should learn to read everything I see when booking a place to stay. Granted, we had lake view (was wonderful), 3rd floor 1 bedroom, meaning high ceiling, the kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom was clean. I really would have not complained if it wasn't for the 5pm check-in time and the 10am check-out time. And the fact that my husband had to fix the television set, because all cables were pulled out, but the TV itself is screwed into the cabinet.

If you only go for a weekend to Big Bear and maybe, only maybe want to sleep a little longer when celebrating your wedding anniversary, choose another spot.

Room Tip: Upper floor on building 2 has really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west covina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

was very pleased with our stay and was planning on returning until we notice we left a very expensive watch behind in our room i am 100%it was wrapped around the sheets and blanket was still in the area was eating breakfast when notice we left it behind i asked my husband to go retrieve it well he felt comfortable enough to say just call them they will get it for us and hold it.long story short they said it was no where to be found, its unfortunate that some people are dishonest and would take something that don't belong to them. bed was uncomfortable.we stayed in room 221 trim the trees they are in the way of the beautiful view.

Room Tip: my best friend stayed in room 220 beautiful view..DONT LEAVE NOTHING BEHIND!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We wanted to do something for my husband's birthday and I found the place on the ResortTime web page. We got a discounted price to go there for a weekend.

This place is right by the lake with its own beach and docks. The staff there were great. They were very friendly and accommodating. Since we got a very low price for this place, our original room was by the street in the back. I made a joke about no lake view and so far away from the elevator, and the girl right away said that she would see what she could do for us. Then she found us a unit on the second floor next to the elevator and right in front of lake. We were so grateful.

The place is nothing fansy and need some mainternance. The furniture is very tacky and the dinning chairs are the most uncomfortable ones we ever have, the remote control does not work very well, and it was hard to turn on/off the faucets and open/close the bathtub door. However, the beautiful lake view and wonderful staff makes up for all those. Also, the bed is very comfortable and we had good nigh sleep.

The place has indoor pool and jacuzzi, but the outdoor jacuzzi is amazing. It is on the sun deck with a lake view and it's for adults only.

We had a very relaxing birthday weekend and we definitely will go back sometimes soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floatingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was the worst hotel stay we have ever encountered. The floor in our room was covered with crumbs. Our bathroom was filthy, and even after our complaint to the front desk did not get cleaned. The heat in our room did not work, and did not get fixed after we complained. There was hair from the previous occupants all over the bathroom and bed. The Jacuzzi was covered with about an inch of foam. Hotel management did not act on any of our complaints and denied any refund or other compensation. Stay away from this place!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_G301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.8 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagonita Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagonita Lodge

Property: Lagonita Lodge
Address: 183 Lagonita Lane, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagonita Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagonita Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagonita Hotel Big Bear Lake
Lagonita Lodge Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing