We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary celebration exceeds all expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gwahumbe Game & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Had a wonderful and relaxing time at the resort celebrating 19 wonderful years of marriage.One of the highlights was being chased by the friendly rhino while taking a hike through the reserve (fortunately we got away by hiding in a donga). We also came across a group of Giraffe's while riding the MTB trails down to the hippo pools, what an awesome experience to be up so close to these graceful animals. The food was excellant and the staff went to extra effort to ensure that our romantic dinner at the spa continued even though the power had gone out. Thank you to all at Gwahume, we will definately be back. Regards Michel Lagesse

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

A huge thank you to Sarah, Andrew and all the people at Gwahumbe for making our wedding day absolutely perfect. The personalised attention, the food, the unique and forever memorable trip in the unimog (an experience!!!) - it really was exceptional in every way. To the chefs - your food was amazing and the cake was as delicious as it was beautiful. Andrew, your patience driving us around and assisting with the photography was great...you are now adept at flying a veil :-) And lastly, Sarah, your very nature was a blessing and we were so relaxed as you effortlessly made sure the day was a dream come true. Right down to our romantic dinner with every finishing touch, you made sure that we had the perfect wedding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeriThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Spend a few hours at Gwahumbe for the game drive, was absolutely wonderful. Professional and friendly and what an incredible experience. Our game ranger was knowledgable and accomodating. I would recommend this game drive to anyone with a little sense of adventure (quite hectic 4x4 tracks) which i thought was exciting. Highlight of my drive was seeing the cute little 6yr old white rhino.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TammyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent a weekend at Gwahumbe with 4 adults and 2 kids (5 & 6yrs) - we stayed in their Riverbend self catering cottage.

The cottage was very clean with 3 bedrooms all en-suite and a very well stocked self catering kitchen. (all beds were single)
The bathrooms were clean and well designed with windows over looking the amazing views.
Beds were comfortable but I found the pillows lacking and got a sore neck - maybe take your own pillow. The cottage had a splash pool - which the kids loved! And a boma (outside braai/fireplace area) which the adults loved! The nearest TV is at the main lodge so bring portable DVD players etc if your kids are addicted to TV.
Although we emailed the lodge prior to our visit informing them that we needed lots of wood for our evening braais/fireplace they ran out - which was a little disappointing. If you have men who are fire nuts my advice take your own firewood.

We went on a game drive and although the reserve is not populated with much game it was very pleasant driving through the area. We did see their resident rhino, zebra, wildebeest, impala, several duck & geese and missed their hippos. The ranger, Daniel was excellent and kept the kids and adults informed and entertained.

We have a great relaxed weekend and would definitely recommend Gwahumbe to any families not wanting to travel great distances from Durban.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeimosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful value-for-money Sunday buffet lunch for Mother's Day. Food and service was great and they even ensured that my daughter was catered for as she is on a special diet. Thanks to all - we'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobingSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My family and friend stayed at the eagles nest accommodation at the Reserve and we were very happy with the friendly approachable nature of the staff. We loved the accommodation and the Boma area that was so neat and tidy. The kitchen was very well stocked with a microwave and gas stove and fridge. The utensils were all up to date as well. There rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were also clean and spacious. We had two children here with us and they loved the house as they could tour from room to room. I loved the fact that we were awaking to natural sounds of the birds and the kids loved that too. There is no TV in the house but there is a bar in the common area and restaurant that has those kinds things that you may require. The games room is very lovely and we took board games back to the house. I would recommend this anyone who just needs a break away from the city life.

Room Tip: choose the eagles nest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Gwahumbe is overated on their website. We visited Gwahumbe on May 1st 2013. We were hoping to do a game drive, visit the spa and have a nice meal at their restaurant. On arriving, we were told that we would not be able to have lunch as the kitchen could not cope with orders. Apparently it was too full. We were told we could pay for the game drive and on return were would not be able to get anything to eat. They offered us cheese sandwiches which we could take away. Absolutely ridiculous for a venue to be advertised the way it is but treat patrons with such contempt. No effort was made to accomodate us or help with anything to make our stay comfortable. We had driven all the way from Stanger, only to return with even doing the game drive.

Attitude was not friendly at all, just straight forward with distasteful gestures.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank suveer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gwahumbe Game & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwahumbe Game & Spa

Address: D368 Road, Mid Illovo 3750, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mid Illovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mid Illovo
Price Range: £112 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwahumbe Game & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour's drive from Durban - or a 45 minute drive from Pietermaritzburg, Gwahumbe Game Lodge & Spa offers a wide variety of catered and self catered accommodation ranging from ultimate luxury to a rustic bush camp. We are "Wilderness on a Whim" - the perfect getaway to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the bush veld. Game drives are undoubtedly the best way to view our exceptional fauna & flora, offering the opportunity to get up close and personal with the game in a natural setting. As our reserve is relatively small, there is always an excellent chance for guests to view our variety of game, such as hippo, wildebeest, giraffe, zebra and many antelope species to name but a few. The Reserve enjoys an abundance of animals and birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Gwahumbe Game & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing