We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whyteleafe
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the travel lodge for 2 nights during our stay in the UK for a friends wedding. I honestly thought that for what we paid for the room for 2 nights, the accommodation was fair. Simple, clean and does the job. Stayed in a room facing the apartments across from the lodge and it was relatively quiet. No issues.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

best travelodge ive stayed in, bed was really good, even temped to buy one of their matresses, staff were polite and helpfull, room was clean, only two slight niggles: one is that i had to sleep with the window open due to the fact it was like a sauna,. which was ok except when a lorry was passing by, but was ok after a while, and the breakfast was terrible, had been sitting for a very long time. but i complained and was cooked a fresh breakfast. for the money the whole stay was value, although i do believe they should offer guests free parking.

Room Tip: ask not to be facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevthehandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There is an over reliance on lemon scented Febreze which would make me suspicious of what smell they are trying to mask.
Rooms are a good size and very basic.I was staying here out of necessity and was well aware of the standard to expect. Beds are very uncomfortable and pillows are not great. Some of the reception team are more enthusiastic than others. I would not recommend eating in the hotel. There is a hairdryer available on request. Outside noise can be an issue especially if you have to leave the windows open as there is no air conditioning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. I did try to request this but they were not helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucie802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've stayed here many times and the refurbishment has been done well. We've always been treated well by the staff. Travelodge is a budget hotel, so its always going to have a few shortcomings, but if you book early enough and make the most of the savings to be had, you'll get a nice refurbed room at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rooms can get hot in the summer and the windows only open a little. If you've room for a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Rex186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A modern building, where the bedroom windows open only 100mm. An exterior temperature of 22C produces unbearable heat in second floor rooms facing the sun. A building contractor in an adjacent room said to me 'If a cell in a nick was this hot, you could sue the bastards for a breach of your human rights !' I assumed he knew what he was talking about. I decided not to sue, but to ask for a full refund. Haven't had it yet.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Twotony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for friend's wedding. Check in was slow and awkward, man on the desk didn't seem to have a clue. Eventually got our key and breakfast pass. Got into our first floor room. Unbelievably hot, no air con and windows only opened so far due to security fittings which I can understand. Room very grubby, bed frame filthy and dirt/dust everywhere. Remote control had been through the wars as back was missing with batteries exposed. Shower was more like a dripping hose and bathroom was just as grubby as the rest of the room. Nice smashed tile behind the bathroom door as well. Difficult first nights sleep due to unbearable heat and noisy drunks who were staying there for the Epsom Derby. Breakfast was shocking, especially for £7.95. Fruit juices were like drinking syrup, sausages tasted cheap, choice was limited. Croissants and muffins kept in a big tuppaware box which didn't look very professional. Good cereal selection though. Absolutely no comparison to premier inn breakfasts in both choice and quality. Second night stay was not any better although we did find out through another guest that fans were avaliable. However, the fans were so small they were a total waste of time. From reading other reviews the hotel are clearly aware of the temperature issue but aren't very proactive in making their guests comfortable. I haven't stayed in a travel lodge for years because they are so awful and this stay was definitely through necessity rather than choice. Avoid if at all possible and try to find a premier inn although the nearest one to here is quite expensive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank adam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Been using this Travelodge for years whilst working away from home , the refurbed rooms are excellent and the beds are excellent and comfy, isuf and his team have always been excellent in addressing any issues that arise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whyteleafe
2.3 mi away
Coulsdon Manor & Golf Club
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
2.6 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#18 of 24 in Croydon
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe

Address: Travel Lodge 431 Godstone Road, Whyteleafe CR3 0BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Whyteleafe
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whyteleafe
Price Range: £38 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe Hotel Surrey
Travelodge Hotel Surrey
Travelodge Surrey
Travel Lodge Surrey
Surrey Travelodge
Surrey Travel Lodge
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing