We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just passing through” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristlecone Manor Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just passing through”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very clean and quiet motel. All the necessary amenities and reasonable rates. They also accept pets and our dog was quite happy. Convenient to gasoline and food. Lots of activities in the area if you have time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elmer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    37
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
40
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LEJ45
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

As in “no, we don’t have your reservation” [despite receiving an email confirmation]. Clearly, my family did not actually get to experience the splendor(?) that is the Bristlecone Motel / gas station. We had booked a room for two nights online. When we went to check in, the hotel manager did not have us penciled into this book (though he was able to pull up our reservation online, which we saw on his computer screen). Of course, the motel was booked solid, as were the other two motels in the tiny town. At that time, at least four other rooms had not checked in, including one who had booked just the night before. There was no hope for us, but only a “sorry, though I know that doesn’t help you”. No. Sure didn’t. Take it for what you want. If you want to risk unreliability for a motel / gas station, go for it. My family stays in Big Pine multiple times a year and we figured we’d give this place a shot for once. No. Stay at one of the other two places in town—they’ve never “lost” our reservation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Pine hotels

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have stayed at this motel several times and each and every time I'm delighted with the quality of sleep I get and the kind service. Reasonably priced and comfortable, moves this place to the top in my list and the location to the Ancient Bristlecone Pine NP is perfectly convenient. There are many local sights to see and everyone there is helpful and knowledgeable about the scenic area.

The well-stocked store on the property has most everything you might need and there is even a laundromat!

Great croissant sandwiches!

Room Tip: The rooms farther from the highway are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to spend some time with friends and we wish we had more time to enjoy this motel also. The staff (and locals!) are all very friendly, the room was a good size and decent bathroom. There is a store and gas station on site and a laundry next door. We would definitely come back here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMG36579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on route to Vegas and I wish we had allowed more time to explore the area and enjoy this cute motel. The staff (and locals!) are all very friendly, the room was a good size and decent bathroom. There is a store and gas station on site and a laundry next door. We would definitely come back here again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlottie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Bristlecone is a wonderful roadside motel. The rooms are large, clean and serve their purpose. We always stay here when we go to Big Pine / Bishop.

There is a gas station and mini mart right next to the motel. It is owned and operated by the same folks who own the motel. The mini mart has everything. Be sure to pick up some shampoo because the motel doesn't supply it.

The Country Kitchen is a short walk across the parking lot. I think this place has changed hands because the quality of food has deteriorated over the years. If you want a fabulous breakfast drive the 15 miles to Bishop and eat at Jack's!

If your going to the Owens Valley give the Bristlecone a try.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PONYRCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This motel does the job and does it right. We took our first trip to Owen's Valley, and despite the sort of "extreme motel" sense you get pulling up, the interior is excellent, at least in the room where we stayed, which was spacious, quiet, with a vaulted ceiling and next to two extremely well-stocked markets, yet not over in Bishop which was too busy for what we were looking for. So I happened to really like this motel, a three-star motel which would easily be a four-star hotel in other areas. Also, good, hot showers, very comfortable bedding, a nice bathroom set-up, nice furniture, tons of channels, a table and chairs, a microwave, and a fridge. Plus it was spotless with large towels. My only complaint is that our room had an odd gap in the shades which required us to jimmy rig it with tape and plastic bags since the owner/manager had no suggestions, and you could see into our room from outside. Obviously, if it hadn't been really easy to fix, we would have checked out, period, since this was a romantic vacation. My only other complaint is more that every motel in the area seemed pricey, and the Bristlecone Manor Motel was competitive in that department. Other than that, it was just right. We stayed for two days and will probably return in the future.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a vaulted ceiling and wood interior. Some are really plain little white r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aqusite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
14.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
15.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starlight Motel
Starlight Motel
#1 of 3 in Big Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
14.8 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#17 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Manor Motel

Property: Bristlecone Manor Motel
Address: 101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513
Region: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bristlecone Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bristlecone Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Manor Hotel Big Pine
Bristlecone Manor Motel Big Pine, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing