We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Reviewed 11 August 2014

For a trip from Southern California to Carson City, we decided to plan a stopover about half way through. This motel had decent ratings and the price was good. Fortunately for me, even though I planned this only a week in advance, I was able to book the last room. Unfortunately it was the family room that slept 5. I was just traveling with my wife so we did not need all of that space. However, the rating was fairly good and the price wasn't bad. When we arrived we saw a sign at the office that said we needed to go to the Mobil station next door. The woman at the station who checked us in was very fast and friendly. When we got to the room, it had two full beds and a single bed and a table and chairs. It was very clean and very good size. It was dated but it appeared to be well taken care of. The bed was soft and comfortable. There was a shower only (no tub) but that probably makes the most sense for it being a family room. It was very quiet and we had a very pleasant stay. The woman at the Mobil station that checked us out was very friendly as well, I'd definitely stay here again. Don't miss the Ancient Bristlecone Forest that is about 25 miles from the motel. The vistas are amazing and the trees are beautiful.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family room if you want a tub.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ManOfNoConsequence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Bristlecone Manor Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff was quite friendly, the room was comfortable, and the price was reasonable. We enjoyed the 'rustic lodge' type room interior. Ample hot water, fridge, and microwave included. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in July during a Sierras hiking trip. Room was clean, bathroom clean and spacious. The only issues were a nest of baby birds directly across from our door that left droppings all over the mat and doorstep into the room (which were difficult not to track in) and the bright lights from the electric store sign that the curtains did not block.

Staff was helpful and personable, but there was never anyone in the motel office; only in the attached store.

In short, we would definitely stay here again, but request a room further into the complex, away from the lights! And we would definitely go back to Copper Top Barbecue for dinner!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TheProseccoLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was actually afraid the price was too low. But it really is just a good price for basic needs. It is not fancy but like so many reviews say it is clean and the people are friendly. They do tend to sell out for the night so book ahead if you can. The store in front made it easy to pick up snacks and drinks. We didn't have much need for hardware but the crickets were cool to check out. The bar across the street was great for an evening beer and the restaurant down the street was perfect for breakfast.

The 4th star was for a problem that was corrected so well.

Room Tip: Do double check your reservation, We may have been the only one that has gone sideways in forever b...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGD828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A beautiful ride south from Winnemucca and nowhere is there lodging to be found in Bishop CA or even a Jacob's pillow for the Weary traveler. Twenty miles south of Bishop is a little town (spot in the road) called Big Pine. A lovely motel can be found called the Bristlecone motel. Dead tired I was afraid of something from the 50s and feared it hadn't been cleaned since then. I checked in at the gas station and was informed they had just one room left. I reserved the room sight unseen and very apprehensive. What a pleasant surprise! The staff is pleasant, friendly and helpful. The room has a fairly large bed room with a table to set up the electronics including wifi. Their wifi was better than my 4G hotspot thank goodness. The bathroom is large and holds the refrigerator and microwave which worked great. My wife turned the A/C on high and we forgot about it after turning in for a desperately needed sleep. About 4AM the poor over worked AC froze up waking us up to a very warm room. Fortunately turning off the AC helped it to defrost quickly it worked fine thereafter. The room is very clean, the bed is also very comfortable and a good night sleep was had enjoyed. No free breakfast for us city slickers but the restaurant recommended just down the road was fabulous. This motel must be great for the young both in spirit and in shape. All our neighbors had backpacks and could hardly wait to hit the trails up the Eastern Sierra Madras. Ah to be young. For those passing through and needing rest this is right spot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rusty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Second trip here. A little long in the tooth, but in a perfect location. We allways travel up for camping. We found the store and out of curiousity looked at some of the rooms. My wife thought the place was cute. So the next year we made a reservation and stayed. Not to bad for the price. We made a reservation this year and the room we got was better. So, hey, I like the place. Not 5 Star, but perfect for why we come. THUMBS UP! Oh yeah, they have free internet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Its not fancy, but it's clean, close to all the local sights, and very friendly. The bathrooms are nice and large too. I booked at the last minute (got the last available room) and we just stayed one night, but were very happy with the price, the service and the proximity to the Sierras as well as the White Mountains with the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest. Quieter and better priced than the motels in Bishop. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
15.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,919 reviews
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
894 reviews
14.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
485 reviews
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starlight Motel
Starlight Motel
#1 of 3 in Big Pine
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Manor Motel

Address: 101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513
Region: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bristlecone Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bristlecone Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Manor Hotel Big Pine
Bristlecone Manor Motel Big Pine, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing