We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids eat free”
Review of Kippings - CLOSED

Kippings
Price range: US$26 - US$51
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Kids eat free”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

What a great Resturant, we came for lunch 4 adults 1 baby and 1 toddler.
The chef was late but that didn't shake the waitress and a nice glass of free wine was great.
The food was amazing!

Let's start with the kids..
Eva had chicken gooshons that where amazing, freshly made no microwave rubbish and ha scut chips I wanted her's and the fact she ate free was a bonus!

We all had different meals and equallyl loved them. It was the day after valentines day so it was quite but we didn't care.
Bathroom facilities are good and we had a large pram and that was no bother for them.
A really lovely outing and we shall return very soon with friends

Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    37
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My daughter wanted to treat us (her mum &dad) to a meal having just moved to Wheathampstead. She booked a table at Kippings having no idea what it it was going to like - what a gem she has found. First impressions, very clean, well maintained very warm welcome. Menu perfect not so much choice one didn't know what to have but a varied choice for all tastes. Prompt service and the the food was delicious perfectly cooked, service was discreet but there if needed leaving us to enjoy our meal and chat.The washroom again was very clean with good quality soap and hand cream. We didn't at any time feel rushed and when we left our coats were ready for us and goodbye was as warm as the hello. We will return - well done!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Having driven past this place on a daily basis and never been in, we decided to give it a go one grey mid-week evening and what a delight! The food was really good - beautifully cooked and served. It certainly isn't cheap but clearly reflected in the quality of the food and service. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Whispertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited this restaurant again for their Cornish lobster special. Cooked beautifully and tasted great. The food on their regular menu is always of great quality too, as is the wine. Friendly attentive service from the owners/ managers who keep the standards here high.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“one of the worst meals ive ever eaten”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I went here with my wife last year and had to leave half way through the meal as the quality f the food was nothing short of unacceptable! It got so bad that I asked the manager to join us and asked him personally if he had ever tried or even seen the dishes I was served to which he replied no. I have to say he was very nice and understanding and almost in agreement.
The only positive of our experience was a beautiful bottle of wine we ordered..
I hope we only experienced an off night here but some very basic mistakes - including blending the goats cheese they served which looked horrendous.
Friends of mine tell me of good experiences they have had here but i'm hesitant to risk returning again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank scottgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kippings also viewed

 
Wheathampstead, St Albans
Wheathampstead, St Albans
 
Wheathampstead, St Albans
Wheathampstead, St Albans
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing