We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time in the High Country!”
Review of Parchers Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parchers Resort
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a awesome time at Parchers Resort! A perfect location for all areas in Bishop Canyon! The cabin was perfect and right next to Bishop Creek. Fishing was great and hiking breathtaking! The cabin was perfect for us and the fire pit and BBQ were right adjacent to the cabin. Dan S

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in RV slot #2. The resort is beautiful nestled up against the mountains. It is peaceful and quiet. The staff is fantastic and super friendly. Breakfasts are unbelievable so much food and so delicious. I was definitely ready for a nap lakeside after breakfast. We cannot wait to get back to Parcher's Resort

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you are looking for a place to acclimate to high altitude Parchers Resort provides an excellent option. They have cabins specifically designed for this purpose. They are perfect for the backpacker if you prefer to stay in a cabin rather than tenting it prior to entering the high country. You can stay a maximum of 2 nights. The hiker cabin we stayed in was clean and even had a small kitchen, toilet and shower. The staff is very friendly and accomodatiing. Kerry, one of the staff there, even personally drove us down the mountain after our stay. The owner, Steve Smith, truly loves being up there and it shows in the way the place is managed. I highly recommend staying @ Parchers. It's worth the extra you may have to pay compared to staying in a tent for a night or two before hiking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We could not have been more pleased with Parcher's Resort. The cabins were very clean and comfortable. The perfect place to come back to after hiking and exploring the South Lake area. The staff was friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The only drawback is we were not able to stay longer. We will definitely be returning to enjoy this place again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

our family has been coming to south lake to vacation, fish, and hike for more than 50 years. this is the first time we stayed at Parchers Resort. The cabin was newer, very compact (bunk beds, 1 queen, one pull out sofabed), and only one bathroom (through the only bedroom). good thing we were family! the plates/glasses could have used more cleaning. the kitchen had most everything you need (no filters for the coffee maker, and when I asked at the office the reply was "we don't sell those; well, just take a few from our supply". thank goodness they are generous! no one told us there was a bbq on the porch; and I was afraid to ask how much the briquets were selling for! we bought wood for the outside firepit. some of this should come with the rental I would think. BUT when we decided to leave a day early (one person had altitude sickness), they were very nice and didn't charge us for the last day, even though it was less than 24 hours notice. the management is definitely casual - in both good and bad ways.

this is sounding negative - which our stay was not! so let me tell you how great the mountains are! how parchers is the last resort before south lake for easy access. how the stream across the road sounds amazing all day and night. how everyone who stays there is very friendly. how Sampson, one of the worker's dog, is so happy and friendly he even showed up at our cabin to welcome us when we arrived.

I'll stay there again - but I'll be bringing coffee filters, briquets, and firewood!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad cabin at the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My family has been enjoying Parchers Resort since the early 1970's, maybe not every year as we also enjoy tent camping down the road at Four Jeffrey. We have experienced at least five changes of ownership in those forty years, and the present owners, the Smith family, are not only the best by far, they honestly deserve it! Jared Smith is the general manager and highest profile member of the family which has been visiting the Eastern Sierra for generations. Their passion and respect of nature is obvious and evident when speaking to them or visiting their "Little Slice of Heaven".
Parchers Resort and South Lake Landing as well have really benefited under the Smith's five years of ownership. After 35+ years of neglect, all cabins have been quaintly remodeled, re-roofed, and employ basic, functional floor plans, most with a porch and outdoor fire pit. Four new "Hiker cabins" have been constructed to accommodate the more enthusiastic or serious backpacker.The small general store is well stocked with the basics; no bubble bath, liver pate', or Dom Perignon. Every member of the staff is courteous and willing to fulfill special requests. Each season a few of the old rental boats, motors as well, have been replaced with very nice new ones and at least two new pontoon boats have been added to the fleet.The tackle store at South Lake is well stocked and their night crawlers can be fresher than those purchased down in Bishop.
I was surprised, if not shocked, to read the few negative remarks of Parchers Resort which is the main reason prompting me to write this review. In forty years of experiencing numerous ownership and staff of Parchers Resort, I, as well as a host of others I know who frequent Parchers, have never remotely encountered any staff member who was not courteous, helpful, accommodating, and just plain happy to be there, even more so under the Smith's ownership.
While the cabins in general may not be impeccably, showcase house clean, they are more than adequate and the bathrooms are squeaky, sanitized clean. I will admit, last year I opened the refrigerator in cabin # 25 to find the freezer so iced up it could not keep the rest of the refrigerator cold, probably due to the door not shut all the way. An embarrassed Jared took care of the issue immediately. At $150.00 weekday, $195.00 weekend per night rates for the 4-6 person cabins, they could be considered a bit pricey. However, when considering their money-saving kitchens, secluded, quaintly rustic appeal and close accessibility to all alpine activities, anyone would be hard pressed to find a better value.
Located just past the cabins at the end of the main driveway through Parchers is Rainbow Pack Outfitters. I do not know of any other mountain resort where you can walk from your cabin to stables, jump on a horse, and head up to the high country.
As for the marina, the rental boats are the cleanest and nicest I have rented anywhere. The staff in the tackle shop at the marina will honestly inform anyone which baits and lures as well as how and where to fish them in the lake to enable people to catch fish. They are more concerned with making people's fishing experience a memorable one so they return rather than getting rid of dusty old lures on display that don't work.
There may be those few who would prefer concrete or cobble stone driveways to limit the dust, a cinder block sound wall erected to erase the noise of the rushing South Fork of Bishop Creek, and a snooty staff clad in starched, formal uniforms. There are numerous destinations which offer such amenities. Thankfully, Parchers Resort has been spared. Expecting more of this "Little Slice of Heaven" would be comparable to complaining of the wind noise in a convertible or driving a sports car with an automatic. To those who might take issue with that statement, my only reply is "I rest my case".
Mark Talmo & family

Room Tip: Although cabin #26 has the same floor plan as the other 4-6 person units, it is closest to the Creek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for two nights on a recent weekend in RV site #2. Although listed as a 34' site, we were able to squeeze our 35' fifth wheel in with no problems. The resort is very clean and well maintained, has a nice general store and friendly staff. Speaking of the staff, they allowed us to stay in the campground until 6 pm on a Monday night as no new campers were scheduled to come in. By doing so, we extended our fishing trip into a third day which was nice. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
15.4 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,989 reviews
15.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
906 reviews
15.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
252 reviews
15.0 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
195 reviews
14.9 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parchers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parchers Resort

Address: 5001 S Lake Rd, Bishop, CA 93514-7253
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Bishop
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing