We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good-But get ready to pay for it $$$$$”

Imperial Gourmet Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 61 Restaurants in Bishop
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good-But get ready to pay for it $$$$$”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Your average small box of rice, broccoli, orange chicken. You'll be dishing out $85 to feed 2 babies & 2 slim adults..If the prices were reasonable i'd eat there once a week or so. Instead of once every 2 years.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    56
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
La Puente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I love eating at this restaurant. Absolutely the best Chinese. Orange Chicken and Almond Chicken is to die for

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krazykitty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little pricey”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I would say that this would rate as a middle of the road Chinese restaurant. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food seemed to be a little pricy for what we ordered for take out, but it was good. If you are having a Chinese food craving, it will do the trick.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravels1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is good”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We ordered 4 traditional Chinese dishes. All were good - vegetables ordered separately as well. Food could have been hotter (less cold).
Service was swift and excellent although we are not used to being asked about ID when ordering beer at the age of 27. Thus the meal was delayed as we had to get the passport - I guess we just have to adapt to this US way of regulation enforcement.

Furniture a bit worn.

Informal and friendly atmosphere and not expensive.
I will recommend this place - as one of the best we found in Bishop this Christmas/New year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Chinese restaurant ANYWHERE.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I had dined here a while back, alone. I don't know why I stopped here as Chinese food isn't what I usually eat on a road trip. I was in awe at the quality of both the food and service. Last year I took my partner who was a little weary. I promised him the best Chinese food on the planet. From the first bite he was hooked. So since last year we've said on occasion, "can't wait to dine at Imperial Gourmet when we go back up to Bishop next year. And so we did. Our annual road trip up the Owens Valley for the New Year holiday. We enjoyed not one but two meals on two consecutive nights. It really is that good. That FRESH. And don't forget to order the Sesame Beef. Outrageous.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Imperial Gourmet Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing