We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden in plain sight.....Best breakfast in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Cafe

The Village Cafe
Ranked #27 of 60 Restaurants in Bishop
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden in plain sight.....Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I wanted to try someplace "new" coming home from Mammoth so, after checking out TA, this place popped-up......What a great spot !!! You won't see it unless you're looking for it which explains why its mostly locals enjoying being there. The portions are huge, the service is super-friendly and the breakfast items are soooo tasty. I had two-eggs, sausage patty (1/3 of the plate), hashrowns (piled high) with biscuit & gravy.......After being scolded by my wife over what I ordered.....I proceeded to "attempt" to eat it all....No way......Too much food !!! My wife had the 1/2 frittata with a side of fruit which she loved but was way too healthy for me !!! I am so glad to have "discovered" this place !!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WallyGator92260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent breakfast this morning at the village cafe! It is a quaint little place serving delicious food. We had the blueberry pancake special and the ole frittata and it was more than enough food at a very reasonable price. Superb service from the very friendly staff. It's the best in town and we can't wait to go back!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best kept secrets in Bishop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Being off the main drag, makes it a bit less visited by non-locals, but the locals love this place. By far the best breakfast/brunch spot in Bishop -- in fact, that is their specialty. The many offerings include the most enormous and amazing French toast I've ever had! Unless you're *really* hungry, I'd suggest the half order.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BishopTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Bishop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We go to Bishop often. We have eaten in most of the restaurants around. This one is a little hard to find, being at the north side of town. It is located in a converted house with a crooked floor. This definitely adds to the charm. It would by no means be considered fancy or stuffy. It just has great food, cooked to order, that never disappoints.
Their corned beef hash is wonderful as is their huevos rancheros. Try this one next time if you like local finds that stand out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Little Discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

I saw a review saying this is the best breakfast in Bishop. I would have to agree wholeheartedly! The restaurant is small & located on a side street, but nevertheless it was surrounded by cars and fairly full of patrons. We were traveling north and had already looked unsuccessfully for breakfast in Lone Pine and Big Pine, so by the time we found this cafe it was almost noon. We were delighted to discover they serve breakfast all day. They specialize in frittatas, and will gladly make substitutions or special orders. I requested vegetables & cheddar, and it was wonderful-- filled with grilled onions, bell peppers, and chopped avocado. Perfect! Oh, most of the menu items can be ordered in 1/2 portions, which is still a lot of food. The 1/2 portion was more than I could eat. With my frittata I received hash browns and biscuits & gravy (a very tasty mild flavor). Overall, this was a great find. We will definitely stop again next time we're traveling through Bishop. (PS: there was a very yummy-looking freshly-baked apple pie sitting on the counter...)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing