We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden - Solid bountiful breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village Cafe

The Village Cafe
Ranked #24 of 61 Restaurants in Bishop
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hidden - Solid bountiful breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stopped here on Sunday morning on the way home from camping near Rock Creek. The chicken fried steak was great, gravy first rate, fritta was excellent. We sat outside and althought that was our preference, the location is near the kitchen door which attracts flys so it was not perfect. YOu get lots of food and it was great, seemed more of a locals place then a tourist place. We did have to wait a while to place our order and wait for our food, it was peak time on Sunday morning, so that may have affected things.

So, eat inside and your visit will be 5 stars

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lost_bobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Recently stopped for breakfast, and were glad we did. Sat outside on the deck, which was super cute! Our server was very attentive. We both ordered the French toast special, and it was awesome! Huge portion, and so good I had to eat every last bite. Would happily return next time we are in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rustic cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Lots of character, but the food was just average - although I didn't order the frittata, which seems to be a house specialty. A little difficult to find, especially if you're driving north on 395.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmartin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stopped in traveling through to Texas. My granddaughter had the homemade meatball sandwich (huge), my husband had the highway melt and I had the ham sandwich (also huge).
All were very good! We had our chocolate lab with us and they invited us to bring her to sit with us on the deck. The service was awesome...very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bornnraisedaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

On our way home to Placerville - TA'ed a breakfast place and read the reviews. I had the corn beef hash and eggs over medium, fruit and sour dough toast - loved it! Hubby had chili cheese frittata, home fries with rye toast. His was really good as well although dud not care for the rye toast do had some of my sour dough - all better! Homey place - locals eating regularly. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosebudMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing