We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay”
Review of Joseph House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joseph House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bishop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I decided to see what Mule Days was all about in Bishop. We are so happy our research brought us to Joseph House. It was the perfect experience and we wouldn't hesitate to return. The property is beautiful with grounds that resemble a park. The owners treat everyone as family and are helpful with anything you need. Our room was very nice and the living room and other areas on the property that guests could use made us feel like we were staying in a very special place. The delicious breakfasts are served in a light and airy dining room. The location is very close to the fairgrounds and Main St. All was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tapestries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Yet another visit to this wonderful B & B. Very comfortable, great breakfasts, helpful information.
Myriam, Max & Hilde made our stay very special once again. If travelling through the Eastern Sierra suggest you spend a few days exploring the area and stay at Jospeh House Inn.

Room Tip: Gold & Green Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RustySuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Bishop as part of our 3 week honeymoon in California. On the back of reviews, we chose Joseph House and were not disappointed.

An idyllic setting, we were warmly greeted with local wine and snacks. Well received after our long drive through Death Valley. We then spent some time sat in the beautiful gardens, an incredible setting.

The room was a good size, with great facilities and a patio door out into the gardens. The bed was really comfy and provided a great nights rest.

Breakfast though, was incredible.. French toast with fresh strawberries and cream. Absolutely amazing. Along with the fresh coffee, it set us up perfectly for a days drive and hike in Yosemite.

If you're near Bishop and looking for a memorable place to stay, you'd be a fool to not stay here. Couldn't rate it any higher!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank 382David_H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Joseph House Inn and found it very pleasant. We especially enjoyed the large living area with its comfortable chairs, fireplace, and glass doors that look on to the attractive garden. Myriam, the innkeeper, was very helpful with restaurant reservations and suggestions about things to do in the area. The breakfast was excellent. Our bedroom was large and immaculate. There was a little noise from the other rooms but nothing that was a problem. The only inconvenience was the lack of a reading light anywhere in the bedroom, neither by the bed nor the chairs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel-bed and breakfast for ten wonderful days. The Joseph House offers huge bedrooms with adjoining dressing rooms and baths plus access to an enormous living room and a wonderful tree filled backyard. The hostesses, Miriam and her mother, Hildy, were owners of several successful restaurants in Mammoth Lakes,California and have transferred their knowledge to the operation of this bed and breakfast. The breakfasts are enormous and offer a wide selection of dishes.

Computer facilities include WIFI.

A plus is the interaction with other guests,always from different countries and always ready to converse..,

Room Tip: One cannot select the room. Depends on what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had prebooked two nights and then could not get out west from Death Valley because of snow. After a long drive north through Nevada it was great to arrive is such a wonderful house and town. Hilde looked after us with wine in the late afternoon and a splendid breakfast. Everything was perfect including some star spotting from her wonderful garden.

Room Tip: Give yourself plenty of time to read from her extensive library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ostaigperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I and my wife tripped in US for holiday, and stayed here 1 night on the way from Las Vegas to Yosemite National Park, Bishop, CA is a peaceful and beautiful place, and Joseph House Inn is the best choice!
The Inn have 4 comfortable rooms, all of them have nice decorations, and it has a big back yard garden, has chairs, pool, you can have sunshine at this place, the lounge is big and comfortable too!
The owner Myriam is a nice and warmhearted lady, she gave us many good comments for our dinner, route.
The only pity was we only stay here 1 night and have no enough time to enjoy the Bishop Sunshine!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
2,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#12 of 20 in Bishop
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph House Inn

Address: 376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop
Price Range: £135 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Joseph House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a hotel this bed and breakfast is located in a lush oasis in Bishop, CA off of Hwy 395 in the high desert between the Sierras to the west and the White Mountains to the east. If you are traveling between Death Valley and Yosemite in the summer, Joseph House Inn is the ideal layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Joseph House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph House Hotel Bishop
Joseph Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing