We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the stop for both the food + the experience”

Erick Schat's Bakkery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the stop for both the food + the experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After two days of solitariness backpacking and camping in nearby Little Lakes Valley, the throngs of people inside and outside of Erick Schat’s Bakkery were an affront to our senses, but that turkey sandwich [on award-winning Shepherd's bread] was damn tasty. If I had been fully re-acclimated to people, I could have spent some serious time [and gained some serious pounds] here. Definitely worth the stop for both the food and the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingEXHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    310
    81
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is definitely a tourist trap, not sure what all the hype is. The bread is good but the pastries and cookies were not good. They tasted stale and flavorless. I am sure they used it be real good but I think they lost their original vision. It's a shame. We will not return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lela429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a selection”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We picked up some sandwiches and other goodies from here to take on the road. They were delicious. Could have spent a fortune on the massive selection of cakes, biscuits etc but we were good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gribs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's bigger than i thought! They have all kind of bread to choose from.
they open at 6 AM ...means that you can buy your coffee and breakfast.
We might want to stock up before driving to LA.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnitaLacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in California!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We parked our trailer in J Diamond RV and Mobile Home Park just behind Schat's so it's just a short walk. The place is always busy, there is so much bread and pastry it is difficult to restrain oneself. You have to be prepared to stand in line to pay and on a weekend there is a queue to get in even, but it is well-worth it. The Sheepherder Bread, their original product, has no equal!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SweatersPram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Erick Schat's Bakkery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing