We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sign says remodeled, but...”
Review of Cielo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cielo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The room was pretty standard hotel fare. The bed was comfortable and there were enough pillows. The bathroom is the tiniest chain hotel bathroom I have ever seen. I'm not a tiny gal and I had to practically stand on the toilet to close the door.

There was one chair in the room, a nice upholstered rocking chair but it had seen better days.

Housekeeping was good, they tidied up every day we were there and refilled the amenities.

Breakfast was basic but they refilled it right up until it was over so that was good.

My biggest complaint has to be we were given a room that was already taken so we walked into an occupied room. The front desk was pretty blase about it and blamed another employee who wasn't there and had nothing to do with what happened to us under their watch.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the exit doors. Guests come and go all night and it's very noisy when the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean_likes_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6046gm, General Manager at Cielo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the misunderstanding with the room situation. We did remodel from what the hotel was before. We will be doing another remodel at the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Bishop is a nice town. La Quinta was very clean and comfortable beds . Unfortunately the toilet took a large part of the bathroom and so it was a tight squeeze in there .Good breakfast .nice staff.In the town there is a terrific Dutch Bakkery, even a walk through it is worth the smell of all the wonderful baking.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lobby and ice machine .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azuresky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6046gm, General Manager at Cielo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The experience staying with the hotel was exceptional. Quite, clean and the staff was wonderful. We had a minor problem with the TV reception but the staff identified the problem and corrected it right away!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6046gm, General Manager at Cielo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review!!! We truly appreciate the feedback! We will get the TV reception looked at and take care of it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on a mini vacation. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Great location in Bishop. Walking distance to many if our favorite restaurants (Holy Smoke BBQ & Schatts Bakery). Free wifi and free breakfast was also a plus.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TrooperTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6046gm, General Manager at Cielo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are very glad you enjoyed 4 nights at our hotel we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Randsburg, CA
1
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The desk personnel were very helpful and gracious. Rooms clean and large. Would definitely stay here again. I have to add characters to this review, so the name of the restaurant is The Bowling Alley but don't let the name fool you. Good food and very efficient. Very handy for business traveler. And you can't beat the staff at La Quinta in Bishop, CA.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6046gm, General Manager at Cielo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

We are ver glad you enjoyed your stay here! Please come and see us again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bishop, California
1
Reviewed 24 December 2013

From the greeting on arrival to breakfast and checkout it was clean friendly, and quiet. I need quiet most of all and this place was great. The room had a very comfortable bed and I slept like a baby. Breakfast was a bit more than your average continental with hot waffles and warm syrup. I slept well, ate well, and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6046gm, General Manager at Cielo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for the GREAT review!!! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a Wednesday night en route to Mammoth. The room is huge and the bed is comfortable. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is so loud and noisy (same switch as the bathroom light). If you have a heavy luggage, there is no elevator. Waffle, cereal, hard boiled egg breakfast. Schatt's bakery is 2-3 doors down.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank OC_M_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6046gm, General Manager at Cielo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for review we will certainly look into an elevator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#8 of 20 in Bishop
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielo Hotel

Address: 651 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514 (Formerly Bishop - Mammoth Lakes)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: £112 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cielo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cielo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bishop-Mammoth Lakes Hotel Bishop
La Quinta Hotel Bishop
La Quinta Bishop
Bishop La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing