We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value. Great location in Bishop.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We were passing through on the way to Vegas and only stayed in Bishop overnight. The price was great for a king room, free wifi a bonus. Great for what we were after. Recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We presented a coupon at 2:30 p.m. in the afternoon before most other travelers checked in. Desk clerk said they had no room at coupon price and offered more expensive room. We looked in a open room before entering office. Room looked dingy and old. We passed and moved down the road a block to the Super 8.

Room Tip: Always use a coupon from a coupon book or online app. Always ask to see the room before committing...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We investigated the issue and have taken appropriate steps.

You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel is off the main drag so traffic noise is not a problem. The facility is old but newly renovated. My blanket hems were worn to the point of falling off but other wise clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is a joke. The eating area is the lobby which is big enough for three people to stand in while at the front desk, forget eating there unless you want to get hit by the door or someone checking out at the counter. The managesr's answer, "take it to your room."

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in this motel in Bishop, it was the same as all the other best value inn's. It was clean and a decent stay. Usual breakfast stuff, ceral, bagels and coffee. Its within walking distance of the small town,if you wanted to eat out and have a few drinks.. What we didnt like was having our door banged down at 9am for room service. We were checking at 11am. We said this to the manager and he said they wouldn't do this, well they did!. Not just one knock, but 2 big bangs on the door!! It cost us about $69 for the night,they also have a pool here.

For motels and places to stay near Yosemite and Death Valley, Bishop is a very good place to consider. Not too sure on the driving distance to Yosemite, I think its just over an hour to the mammoth lakes,with a another drive onto the half done. Id advise people not to book, on say booking.com as they only show 2 motels. But when you arrive in Bishop you have your pick of motels. There are at least 15 motels to choose from. Drive around and take your pick. This way you will also save a few dollars..

There are also plenty of places to eat,you have your pick. KFC, Dennys, Carl Jr's, so you wont go hungry. Gas prices are a bit cheaper here to Big Pine that is 15miles souh of here.

So all in all I think people could really consider Bishop as a stopover to Yosemite and Mammoth Lkes, it has everything you need..

Room Tip: All rooms, face into the courtyard, carpark so its really up to yourself which room, you want. Its i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathanrowe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

It's a small motel on a side street just off the main road so the location is good.

The rooms are fine - quite spacious and clean but in need of some TLC.

The first room we had along the back didn't get the wireless signal and we really, really needed it to book the next few nights' hotels. The receptionist suggested we sit in reception which is tiny and smells of curry. This was not an option for what usually turns out to be several hours work on the net. The alternative was to pay more for a double queen as no other king rooms were available. Given free wi-fi is a selling point for them, we weren't happy with this solution so eventually the owners were called out and they agreed we could move room for no extra charge.

The new room was fine, surprisingly not as large as the first so I couldn't quite see why this would have cost more. But anyway. The pool wasn't open but was pretty small and unappealing.

Breakfast was a no-go zone for me - just a choice of doughnut, doughnut or doughnut.

This place was by no means awful and as a no-frills stopover for one night, at the right price, it's fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and also the observations.

We are addressing your observations related to the room features and cleanliness and of course the pool and the breakfast.

You shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

We await your next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We paid 67$ for one night during October 2011.
The lady at the desk was very nice.
It's bit old, but clean and very close to the main street where you can have dinner.
The shower is not in the best maintained but noting too extreme.
The breakfast included muffins, donates, bagels, serials and drinks.
We didn't find any bed bugs or other creatures.
For one night stop, for saving some money – it's worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilanit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed one night looking for place to sleep. Older motel definitely showing its age. Room was adequate. Good value, recommend paying cash for best deal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514-3538
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: £59 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing