We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience was less then expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bishop Creekside Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

In my opinion, experience here was less then adequate. Made reservations months in advance, actually 3 months. Requested river side room, and no pets. Somehow my "river side" room request was dropped. Given a room that was best described, in my opinion, as the janitors closet; tucked away next to the back door, the food storage closet and elevator.
Starting at 5:15am the noise from the food closet began as the staff started to prepare for the breakfast buffet. then at about 7:30am the food truck came, piled up boxes of food and supplies right outside our door, and outside the food closet/room next to us. Food staff was in such a rush to serve that they dash between the food storage room next to our room and the buffet area, knocking into my wife with cup of coffee. Sean, the general manager, cut me a discount, which is appreciated, but it was obvious, in my opinion, that the hotel wants to put on a "better face" for out of town/European guests, who block rooms through travel agents. In my opinion I would suggest staying at a chain hotel in town next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bottom floor rooms near the breakfast buffet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chronofix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean N, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Although I wish the circumstances were of a more positive nature, I truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. I do wish to apologize that you found your room location unacceptable. When we are in a sold-out situation, it becomes difficult to be able to move guests to other locations, and in this instance, we did not have any other rooms of the room type that you requested when you booked on-line. Also, as we discussed in person, our hotel has never received a complaint of noise from the room you were placed in. I have engaged our maintenance and housekeeping teams to assess the room at various times during the day to check for any excessive ambient noise, and we will make whatever changes are necessary based on our findings. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, and you have my card so you can contact me directly and I can personally select a room that may work better for your needs. Thank you again for your feedback. Sean Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,473 - 1,479 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice pool along side babbling brook, happy thoughtful staff with good restaurant suggestions and a real breakfast with recognizable food items. If you must travel to or though Bishop, California on your way to someplace nicer, stop here for the night (or two). On a three week trek across the U.S., this was the most pleasant and surprising place we stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our hearts sank as we walked down the corridor to our room on arrival. Everything seemed a little "run down" and the carpet was old and faded. But what a surprise when we opened the door to our room! It was spacious, spotlessly clean and and with modern decor. The room would not have been out of place in a Four Seasons hotel and we spent a comfortable and peaceful night. We were glad we stopped here on our way from Lake Tahoe to Las Vegas, and we thought it excellent value for money. I would recommend that, for privacy and outlook, go for a 2nd floor creekside room. The patios of the rooms on the ground floor of the car park side were very public and, if sitting on the terrace, your outlook is likely to be the radiator grill of a Chevy Suburban!

Room Tip: 2nd floor creekside rooms for privacy and outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean N, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so very pleased that you found the hotel to be good overall, and that your experience was a positive one. I did want to take a moment to respond to your comments regarding our hallway carpeting. The Creekside Inn is in the midst of a multi-year, $5M renovation. This past winter we successfully completed renovating our guest bathrooms with a "down to the studs" upgrade. This coming November, we begin the process of updating the remainder of the guest room areas, including new guest room and hallway carpeting. You are absolutely correct that the current carpeting is showing its age and wear, and that will soon be rectified. We are excited to continue this full-resort renovation, and hope that you will be able to join us again to experience the result.

In Service,

Sean Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Creekside Inn is has an excellent location with excellent staff people. It is on the pricey and is fully-priced in my opinion. Next door is a great bakery well-known in the area and extending into So Calif for those who pass through or stay in Bishop. The other side of the motel is probably one of the best restaurants in Bishop, featuring Japanese style food. And if you want to take in a little local flavor, across the street there is the main athletic field where local teams play in the evenings during the late sprint to early fall. Breakfast excellent. There seems to be a certain pride-of-ownership to the property.

Room Tip: Parking is very close to your room if you are on the first floor, which has rolling window-doors you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean N, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you, Bob, for your nice comments! The ownership, management and associates of the Creekside Inn all take immense pride in our property, and the service we afford to our guests. As we continue to improve the property with our current renovation projects, we will also continue to provide our guests the very best lodging in the Eastern Sierras. We look forward to your next visit to our area, and to the Creekside Inn.

In Service,

Sean Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoy going back to Creekside almost every year on our way to Lake Tahoe. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very nice. Especially the ladies who make the wonderful "Free" breakfast every morning.
It is also walking distance to several restaurants downtown.

It is a little more than the other Best Western in Bishop, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 144Cindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean N, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for the nice comments. I shared your review with our food & beverage staff and they were delighted for the recognition! Although the Creekside Inn ended its affiliation with Best Western back in 2011, I do have to agree that being the only true hotel in Bishop, CA does sometimes come with a slightly higher price, but we believe that our product, service and amenities offer the best value for the money. We look forward to your next visit to Bishop, and to the Creekside Inn.

Regards,

Sean Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a friend's recommendation and could not agree more - it is the nicest place in town! Large, comfortable rooms with great amenities, a decent hot breakfast and nice grounds which include a pool and hot tub.

Having driven through the city, many other hotels looked like 1950s motels, or cookie-cutter chains. This place is unique, located within walking distance of most of Bishop including many fun restaurants, and the staff could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: he hotel is very long, and its quite walk to breakfast and reception if you are in the back. On the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photoguyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean N, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so very much for such a nice review. I shared the review with all of our staff and they were all very pleased that our hotel is being referred by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bishop, and to the Creekside Inn.

In Service,

Sean Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

An extremely well run operation with large rooms.

Not only are the rooms more than adequate in size the bathroom is equally generous. The rooms also have coffee makers which is a nice thing first thing in the morning.

I had to make a last minute adjustment to a reservation and employee Justin was a rock star to help out!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elizabethrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cielo Hotel
Cielo Hotel
#13 of 20 in Bishop
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Creekside Inn

Address: 725 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: £114 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop Creekside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an inviting oasis mid-way between Los Angeles and Reno. A crackling fireplace, cozy seating, captivating photographs of the local landscapes and freshly baked cookies set the scene as you enter our lobby. Each of our 89 guest rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet, plush Simmons Felicity pillow-top mattresses, and a level of comfort unmatched by other area hotels. Our expert guest service staff can help plan the itinerary for your visit to Yosemite and Death Valley National Parks, as well as other memorable outdoor activities nearby to ensure you make the most of your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Bishop Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel Bishop
Best Western Creekside Hotel
Best Western Bishop
Bishop Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing