We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Bishop)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elms Motel(Bishop)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
127
203
117
37
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
203
117
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree popcornroom was cleanbunk bedsdenny's restaurantcontinental breakfastpet areadeath valleybbq areafish cleaningbagelswould stay here againin townfishing triplas vegasremodeled roomsshower headcold cereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have spent the last 5 years staying at the Elm Motel and have been very happy, but now we travel with our dog and they have a no pet policy so we had to try somewhere new. We spent one night at the La Quinta, which was fine, but the beds were tiny as was the bathroom so we thought we'd try here (and they were cheaper for the night, even with the $15 dog fee).

So glad we did! The rooms are spacious for the price, everything was very clean, the bedding comfy, it was quiet, they have a nice little pet area, AND they have yummy popcorn in the lobby! Nice queen beds and crisp clean towels. Heater was reasonable quiet as well.

I booked through hotels.com on my phone, which I love, except for the fact that there is nowhere to make a note about travelling with a pet and when we arrived the person at the front desk said they were running out of rooms for pets. Worked out fine for us, but that is a little concerning as nowhere did it say "limited # of pet rooms". I'm not sure what would have happened had we gotten in later and they were all taken.

This will definitely be our go to motel in Bishop each year now!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you so much for the five star review! We are happy that you were able to bring along your pet as a traveling companion. We have a great set up for dogs, with the large lawn in the back of the hotel for exercising your four-legged friends. Feel free to book directly with the Vagabond Inn for great customer service as well as a chance to request a pet friendly room for your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Words cannot desribe my visit. I have been out of the country on international affairs. Landed yesterday. This was top on my list to do. Love it love it love it. Wireless is fast. Staff is helpful and knowledgeable. If you find yourself in northern cali, Bishop is just a gem.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank jlewis923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquachef79, Owner at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Mr. Lewis,

Welcome back to the US and welcome back to Bishop! I am glad that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I am very sorry that I did not get an opportunity to say hello while you were staying with us but please email me directly the next time you are in town. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stay at this location several times a year for the past 8 years now. Located nest to Denny's, it offer walking distance proximity to most of the restaurants in town. Ample parking, clean and comfortable rooms, and a friendly staff ensure a pleasant stay every time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquachef79, Owner at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Gerald S,

Thank you for your continued patronage at our hotel. We certainly hope that you liked our recent renovations. During the next year, we will begin Phase 2 of our renovations that will include an upgrade of our furniture and television sets. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This motel is in the centre of Bishop so we were able to walk to local restaurants. They provide a good breakfast with plenty of seating. Our room was spacious and comfortable.

Our only complaint was that the pool was too cold and the hot tub too hot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquachef79, Owner at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear biggles51,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - our centralized location certainly makes it convenient to walk to many great restaurants and activities. I am sorry that you found the pool to be cold and the hot tub too hot. Due to local, state, and national regulations, a hot tub must be maintained at an approximate 102-degree temperature. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Vagabond Inn, Bishop, once again the stay was very comfortable. Very nice rooms, clean and well maintained, and the staff is great, We stayed here last year and were happy to find the same pleasant experience again this year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquachef79, Owner at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Fred W,

Thank you for your continued business at our hotel. We are very happy that we were once again able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews