We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Quoted three different rates on line. Called to check for correct rate and could not understand the person who answered the phone. Finally he quoted me yet another rate. Decided not to make a reservation there. Called comfort inn and got a rate 20 dollars cheaper for same accommodations.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank am89074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We apologize for the confusion and conflicting rates. We always try to provide top quality service at the best rate possible. We hope that in the near future you will give us a chance to provide you with the same experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We just needed somewhere to stay between Zion National Park and San Francisco: we wanted to stay somewhere close to Yosemite too.
It was good for one night. The pool was enjoyable and the place is on the main drag, so close to food places. The TV in the room is a bit old, but whatever.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TheCrimsonRosella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for stopping at our Vagabond Inn. We're glad you enjoyed the pool and that our location was convenient for you. Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When we come up to bishop several times a year to go fishing we are greatly satisfied with the clean rooms and friendly hospitality. Always very helpful with our questions about the area. In walking distance to several eateries. We don't stay anywhere else when we visit Bishop/ Mammoth.
Sincerely- T. & G. Reid

Room Tip: Everyone we've stayed in has been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are extrememly happy that you have such a wonderful time when you stay with us. Our goal is to provide a relaxing, welcoming environment for all travelers. We thank you for choosing our Vagabond Inn and cannot wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It's a motel, period. Nothing fancy, but it was clean.
The first room we were given did not have a good air conditioner. It sounded like a jet taking off and would not get cold. We asked to change rooms and were given one with a working AC.

The bed was too soft and the pillows too thick to be comfortable. Room size was fine. We had a King bed and a table/chairs. There was a mini fridge and microwave.
The shower had one of those curtain rods which bows outward to keep the curtain from sticking to you and I do appreciate that but the shower head was so low on the wall that anyone over 5'8" will have to stoop to get under it.

For the price ($110++), I would expect a little more. We went out for breakfast because the free one was nothing but simple low quality carbs (breads, cereals, juice).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wired2theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how about your stay. We appologize that not everything was up to your standards. We rely on guest feedback like yours so that we may improve any area lacking in quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Better than it looks on the outside. Clean, comfortable beds. Liked the fish cleaning area. Very good value. Breakfast looked good, although we hit the road early and didn't try it. nice staff. We would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JDSC319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our rooms. We work hard to keep our rooms clean, comfortable and up to date. We are happy to provide a variety amenities, such as the fish cleaning station, to accomodate each guest's individual needs. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We needed a place half way between Anaheim and Reno, and the Vagabond inn filed the bill. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was good and had a decent variety. For an older motel, we thought it was fantastic and would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Trevor, thank you so much for staying with us while traveling through Bishop. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and our complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here twice within two years. Once with fishing buddies three nights. Slept, fished all day showered, dinner out X's 3. Breakfast at Denney's next door all three days. Vagabond breakfast is nothing to write home about. Second time, tried it with my wife. She did not like the bikers bar-b-qing outside their rooms with a couple of beers. The arrival of a very full tourist bus that parked in the narrow parking lot that evening was added entertainment. The tourist all ate breakfast at the same time next morning - standing room only - back to Denney's for breakfast. The biggest issue was the need to up grade the rooms. You can only clean a room so many years and not show wear and tear. New paint, carpet and bed spread would be a great start. If you are going fish'n with your buddies it will do just fine.

Room Tip: Go across the street and stay at the La Quinta or Creekside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ebarry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We work hard to accomodate all of our guests, and offer a variety of amenities for just that purpose. It is unfortunate to hear that you and your wife did not enjoy the stay as much, but hope to see you on your next fishing trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#9 of 20 in Bishop
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Address: 1030 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2431
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: £67 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing