We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suburban oasis close to CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Durack House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Mount Lawley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We cannot do anything but agree with the many glowing reviews for Durack House. Arrangements were made for our late arrival and after a very comfortable night's sleep we met our fantastic hosts Sandra and Bill. Sandra put on a gastronomic show each morning which set us up for the day ahead. The location offers close proximity to the CBD (it's just a few stops from the nearby Mount Lawley railway station into Perth if you don't have a car) while avoiding the expense of city parking. The room was largish and decorated with some beautiful old furniture and nick knacks. The bed was possibly the most comfortable we've ever slept in while on holiday. The guest spaces in the rest of the house were just as warm and inviting. The dining conservatory was a sun-filled and airy with an outlook over the well-tended and delightful gardens. The whole place was immaculately clean. If you're a couple or single person visiting Perth and you're looking for B&B then you need to look no further....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was our second stay at Durack House. Both stays have been first class. Sandra and Bill are excellent friendly hosts and Sandra cooks a different breakfast each morning. The B&B is located in Mt Lawley which is one of Perths older and definitely better suburbs. It is located just outside the eastern edge of central Perth giving easy access to the city by car or train, Mt Lawley station is just a few minutes walk. There are plenty of good eateries nearby in Beafort street if needed. Will happily making this my first choice next time we come to Perth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossco90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The most fabulous B/B. The most welcome I've ever felt. All rooms where gorgeous, beautifully furnished. A great living room to sit in the evening having drinks with family. Great breakfast and helpful hosts. Thank you soo much for the great night we spent with you.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay. Cost about $20 from the airport in a taxi. Much nicer than a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Durack House is conveniently close to the railway station, shops and restaurants. The hosts Sandra and Bill are delightful and very welcoming. I especially enjoy the ambience of their delightful colonial house with exceptional facilities for weary travellers. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and faithful to the tradition of the colonial period.
If you are not into hotels and want a truly home away from home experience I recommend Durack House it will meet all of your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awbw1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Sandra & Bill own this amazing colonial style bungalow in Mount Lawley about 10 minutes by train from the centre of Perth The station is just a 3 minute walk from the house and there are an abundance of eating and drinking places within 10 minutes walk of the house
Durack House is over 100 years old and and is beautifully appointed with its original features of verandas stained glass windows and shaded gardens. The rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and the bathrooms are a delight with every amenity
The lounges and conservatory are lovely homely and comfortable and the ability to make a cup of tea whenever you want and sit and read inside or in the garden make a welcome change from a having to struggle in small sterile hotel rooms!
Sandra & Bill are charming and made us so welcome it was like staying with family or friends and they were a mine of information in planning our daily explorations of Perth and the surrounding area
The breakfast were different each day and left no room or need to seek refueling in the middle of the day!!
If we could find Durack House in every other city or country we visit we would never stay in another hotel again
Sandra & Bill a huge thanks for letting us stay in your lovely home

Room Tip: We had the room with a bath - fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 366PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at Durack House for an extended weekend away. Sandra and Bill are amazingly friendly and fantastic hosts. The house itself is gorgeous. The rooms are very comfortable with beautiful bathrooms. Sandra served an excellent cooked breakfast every day of our stay. The house is situated a little outside of the centre of Perth but very close to public transport that takes you right into the city.

Love this place, would definitely recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_W_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I have stayed in Perth for business for a number of years and this is the best place I have stayed in and that includes the large hotels in the centre of the CBD. I also stayed in the courtyard room and will ask for this on my next visit as the room and the bed were exceptionally comfortable. Everything about the B&B is agreeable, tasteful and relaxing - a perfect home away from home and a haven after a busy day's work. I particularly like the garden. The welcome from Sandra and Bill is friendly and helpful and all the positive feedback in earlier reviews about the hosts and their B&B is absolutely correct. Breakfast is great, location is great, restaurants are close by and the amenities we guests like, i.e.tea and coffee facilities, a refrigerator, a comfortable lounge area, good magazines, seats in the nooks and crannies in the Garden and off street parking, are all available.
In a city that has become very expensive in recent years this is a great find and exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but I do like the courtyard room which is at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geelong_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Durack House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durack House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Almondbury Rd, Mount Lawley, Western Australia 6050, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Mount Lawley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Lawley
Price Range: £84 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Durack House Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durack House Bed and Breakfast is an elegant Edwardian home situated in the quiet leafy suburb of Mt Lawley. Only 3km from the Perth CBD with train and bus access 300 meters away. Durack House offers two individual bedrooms - queen and one king size (or twin). Each room comes with an en-suite, reverse-cycle air-conditioning, television, hairdryer and a comfortable bed with quality linen. Parking and wifi is free An elegant and cozy sitting room is available exclusively to guests at all time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Durack House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durack House Bed And Breakfast
Durack House Hotel Mount Lawley
Durack House Bed & Breakfast Australia/Mount Lawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing