We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Bodega B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We just completed a two night stay at this property. The service was impeccable, our room was fantastic, very nice spa treatment, the setting was lovely and the food was great. Johannes (sp?), the owner, worked extremely hard to make our stay a wonderful one. The location is secluded, but very close to lots of great wineries, restaurants and other attractions. We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

I bought a 2-night groupon that included dinner, welcoming chocolates and a wine tasting with appetizers (No chocolates, disguisting day old wines without an appetizer, and a applebee's style dinner). Barely a bar of phone reception and they charge $10 a day for internet.

Grounds were nice, room smelled of smoke and mold and a very hard bed as noted in other posts. My largest complaint is the lack of value with ridiculous prices, gouges and fees. The horrible three course dinner (49.95 a person) included a hefty 20% service charge and a 10% tax rate, $15 a day per person resort fee, and room taxes. My two day stay cost another $130.

Numerous purchasors asked about taxes and the food taxes were never divulged. There are better places in Bodega bay itself, Pt Reyes, or Sebastapol. Stay Away!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank HappyCamper916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear Happy Camper 916

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us, We are sorry that we did not meet your exceptions during your visit. I wish you would brought this the management attention during your stay. We do offer a wide selection of wines for the wine tasting and some times we do offer older vintages and most of our wines are from the Sonoma and Napa area. We are sorry that no appetizers were served for the wine tasting. Our three course dinner menu changes daily and only the freshest local produce are used. The menu included, Maple leaf Duck Breast with Orange Sauce, Fresh Halibut with Lemon grass, Wild Salmon with Ginger, New York Steak with Rosemary, Garlic Shrimp, Sonoma Rack of Lamb with Mint Sauce, Surf & Turf, Petite Filet Mignon and Halibut, The price for the three course menu is $ 47.50. ++
The chocolates were served with your dinner, The Groupon deal was the 11% taxes and $ 15.00 resort fee are not included,
Remember: Groupon customer tip on the full amount of the per-discounted service (tip generously)

Camper 916,
Thank you again for your valued comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

A group of us arrived at the Villa on Sunday February 26. We were all utilizing a Groupon that we had purchased earlier in the year. The setting is quite peaceful and just what we all needed to begin our yearly trip up the Mendocino coast. We took advantage of the wine tasting and dinner on our second night and during that time we all enjoyed talking with, and getting to know, Johannes.

SInce we were a fairly large group we let Johannes know ahead of time that we would all be taking part in the wine tasting and dinner on the same night and set up a pre-arranged time to do so. Johannes was generous with the pours during the tasting and the dinner we were served afterwards was delicious.

All in all we had a great experience and we do plan on returning to the Villa again next year and my husband and I are taking about going up for a couple of days before summer begins.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazelnut52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Had 2 nights with a Groupon. Room was nice, Lupita was very friendly, Johannes was reserved but efficient, his wife did no more than walk through once. I feel sorry for Johannes having to do all the work - quite late into the night at that serving dinners in the room. Dinners were okay but not really worth $49.50 pp. Also corkage fee of $15 when you have your own wine and he doesn't even open yours seems absurd. The desserts were good and breakfast was fine with a wide variety, but agree with another guest that a different kind of quiche at least would be a good idea. The putting green needs repair, there is no information about where you are allowed to go. We usually stay in very nice places (nicer than this one) but decided to try the $755 value - it was not worth it. And the 'chocolate box upon arrival that was a $40 value was a joke - 2 chocolate truffles in a small box with Christmas decoration on the front - looked used! If his wife calls people Lovely coupon people who does she think made the offer for the coupon in the first place? the guest or the owners?? Skip this hotel and go to Yountville where they have amazing restaurants and nicer hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the Villa room, with our wood burning fireplace, double jetted tub and radiant floor heating. I sorry that you were not 100 satisfied with the dinner, You did not bring this the management attention during your stay. The resort is on 60 acres and guest have access to the pool. Putting green, indoor jacuzzi during the posted our, the spa is by appointment only. The tower library very popular with our guests. We escort all our guests to the rooms explain the amenities. Then taxes are based on 11% from the $ 390.00 value which is $ 42.90 and there is a $ 15.00 per day resort fee which is outlined in your voucher. We do charge a corkage fee of $ 15.00 in our dining room like any other restaurant. The chocolates are made in house and presented in a custom designed gift box.
Thank you again for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa this past weekend and it was so wonderful! The location, so close to the coast and very fresh sea food! The staff and owners are so very nice, and the food in the dining room... WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Amazing!!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe suites are just right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajpgazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had a very nice room (radiant tile floor heat was great) and a nice fireplace. Bed was pretty hard and both of us woke up with a sore back. It has very peaceful grounds (took a long hike up the hill and around the property), nice pool and spa. Other comments about owner are very true - not a bad person just doesn't relate to guests very well. We got a thanks and that was it! Seemed more put out by having to do everything than happy we were there. Breakfast was OK - coffee was luke warm at best and had no black tea. Felt like we got an OK deal with a Bloomspot offer we used but would not have been very happy if we had paid full price.

Room Tip: get a room facing the hills to the southeast - rooms on the other side are pretty dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I received a travelzoo deal on the Sonoma Coast Villa and Spa, and was eager to use it immediately. The website looked charming, and it seemed like a great stay for my boyfriend and myself. I would have to stay that I was a bit disappointed with my stay, but do not get me wrong-the area was absolutely beautiful.

PROS:
Located a few miles from the beach
Wood burning fire place for a romantic night in
Quiet enviornment where you can relax and enjoy your stay

CONS:
Breakfast buffet--basically an upscale motel 6 buffet. I was very dissipointed by the buffet.

Smell-The inside office that we had to walk through daily smelled like an old lady; however, our bedrooms were fine. Just coming into the hotel to get to our room I would plug my nose.
Bed-was pretty hard

The water was turned off in the middle of the night. I was unable to use it to take a shower, brush my teeth or even flush the toilet #ewww. The owner proceeded to tell me, "things happen." Did not want to give me back any of my money on my $250 a night room. The only thing he reimbursed me for was my resort fee. Really?

Would I stay there again-no. However, for the right deal, it is a pretty stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega
4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,718 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
533 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
121 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
91 reviews
5.2 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa

Address: 16702 Shoreline Hwy, Bodega, CA 94922 (Formerly Sonoma Coast Villa Inn And Spa)
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bodega
Price Range: £167 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa: A Luxury Resort in Sonoma County An elegant luxury hotel in the north of California's Wine Country, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is waiting to refresh your senses, relax your body and enchant your palate. Evocative of a tranquil European villa warming in the California Russian River sunshine, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is the perfect place for your vacation, honeymoon, special event or weekend getaway from the Bay Area. Forty wineries sit within driving distance of the Villa, making it the perfect destination in Sonoma County for wine pilgrims and explorers. Our attention to detail and excellence fills every aspect of your experience, from the comfort of our beautiful hotel rooms to the five star cuisine of our organically stocked restaurant. Our inviting and private Courtyard Spa will revitalize you with a variety of massage and spa packages, administered by our knowledgeable, sensitive and thoroughly professional therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Coast Villa And Spa
Sonoma Coast Villa Hotel Bodega
Sonoma Coast Villa Resort And Spa Sonoma County/Bodega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing