We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Getaway - Off the Beaten Path” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Bodega B&B and Inns
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet Getaway - Off the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Sonoma Coast Villa and Spa. The grounds and property are very picturesque. The restaurant is a nice option for an evening where you have little time, but a little pricey on the wine, and the breakfasts are a tasty and relaxing way to start a leisurely day. We were there to visit the wine country and it was about an hour's drive to the towns we wanted to visit. If were to do it over again - I would find a place closer to Napa or Sonoma. However, we did enjoy the drive up the Sonoma Coast and through the Russian River Valley. We wouldn't have taken that scenic drive if we hadn't stayed at Sonoma Coast Villa and Spa.

Room Tip: We loved our room in the back of the property. It was so quiet, I was really able to relax and catch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aruba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonh H, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
WE are glad that you had a quiet and relaxing time

Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    34
    25
    14
    21
See reviews for
16
109
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
slc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

When we arrived, the greeting we received from the innkeeper was anything but cordial. Apparently, he doesn't like it when people arrive an hour early, but there was NO ONE else there. We bought a two night package for $330, plus $30 resort fee, taxes, service charge, water charge, etc. The room he put us in was awful. The sink was cracked, there was dirt behind the toilet, the toilet paper holder had been moved and the plaster never repainted. The toilet ran on and off all night, and when I went to take a shower the next day the shower lever fell out of the wall (see pictures). In addition, we didn't realize the room had radiant floor heating, so when we turned the thermostat down before going to bed, we couldn't get the heat back up in the morning. When informed of all this, the innkeeper was still rude. He said we must not be international travelers - does that mean that in other parts of the world this is acceptable? We were in France two months ago and didn't encounter anything like this - including his awful attitude.He told us we could leave or he could give us a different room - he didn't care one way or another. Since we were out in the middle of nowhere and didn't know where else to go, we opted for another room. It was much better, but still dated. At least it had heat that could be regulated. We ate in the dining room that night and we were the only people there - kind of creepy. We had to order our food in advance and were not asked how we wanted it cooked. It was overdone and oversauced. What a disappointment!

Room Tip: If you still want to stay here, ask for a room near the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tnspro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for comments and we so sorry that you were disappointed with our services, First you come the Hotel at 12:00 noon to check in for 3:00 check in, I informed you I need to check on housekeeping for the status on the room, when I came back in the lobby the antique Santa was broken on the lobby floor and when I asked what happened, you told me to clean it up which I did.
We check you in early to your Villa room, In the evening you come for a key (you locked you out), at 10:00 am you called again and did not know how to operate the TV.
In the morning you were not happy with the room, we changed your rooms, in term to the private dinner , we told you that the dining room was closed and you wanted the dinner anyway served in the dining room, you were the only couple in the dining that evening.
We are disappointed too, for all the damages you caused to the hotel without paying for.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bodega hotels

Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I pretty much agree with everything that Cygnet wrote, re; Christmas Special. My husband and I stay at many high end hotels and this one was a disappointment. The one overall positive thing for us was the property and it's beauty. The Innkeeper and his wife need to hire more service help. Our waiter was the same one that Cygnet and her mom had. It took 2 hours for our dinner order to come on Christmas day. The food was dry and overdone. The waiter was clueless in regard to what was being served. I have never had boiled celery before as a side dish and I don't believe I ever will again. :( We will not return.

Room Tip: Make sure you read the fine print on the "Specials" We went in @ 450.00 and ended up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakcreekmanor, Front Office Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your comments,
The Christmas package was advertised at $ 450.00 plus tax and service charge,
We are sorry that you were not happy with our service, for holidays we did not want to rush our guests with the dinner, we do not understand, when asked when the dinner plate was cleared by the server and asked "how did you enjoyed your meal" your comment we enjoyed very much,
When you husband check out his comments were We only leave less then hour away and looking forward coming back very soon.

Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I just spent 3 nights at the SCV&S and was SO disappointed. I booked the Christmas Special package for $450, which included early check-in, 1 night stay, breakfast, and Christmas dinner for 2. Not a bargain...I could have booked the room and dinners separately and saved $50. One would assume that a "special package" would save money, not make you spend MORE. Turns out breakfast is included for everyone, as is early check-in, so I'm not sure what was "special" about the "special". I added in 2 extra nights and my bill was over $1100. For that kind of money, I expect Wifi to be included, not $10 a day, and I DO NOT expect to be charged $8 for a pair of slippers. I've stayed in a lot of upscale hotels and this one just did not cut it. First of all, I booked a room with 2 queen beds and was brought to a room with 1 queen and 1 twin. I had to remind the owner that I'd reserved 2 queens. The bathroom sink in our room was actually broken...not the faucets, but the sink itself. The cushions on the sofa and chairs were stained and dirty. The light bulbs were all 40W and the room was too dark to read in the evening. The entire 3 days were "spare the air" days, which is obviously not the owner's fault, but maybe he should consider gas fireplaces if woodburning is frequently not possible. Because my mother is 90 years old and has early stage dementia, she can be very difficult, and she had every right to be upset about the service, but I chose to leave the dining room during Christmas dinner, so as not to disturb other guests and asked to have our dinner sent to our room instead...we got it over 2 hours later. By then the swordfish was hard as a rock and the filet mignon was stone dry. Johannes works very hard, as does his wife, and what I actually got to eat was very good...an excellent cheese and fruit plate for 2 for lunch one day, wonderful chocolate mousse dessers, but his waiter, who only works for holidays apparently was terribly lacking and Johannes really needs to hire a bit of help. If you're going to advertise luxory, you'd better have it. I resent having spent $1100 and leaving feeling like I'd been ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cygnet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakcreekmanor, General Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are sorry to hear dissatisfaction for Christmas with your 90 old Mother, it must been very difficult for to see your Mother very ill. The Christmas package was a great Value and many guests enjoyed the Christmas Package, We do offer minibar like any other hotel we do charge for services, for example WIFI, $ 9.50 for 24 hours, we made every effort to make you and your mom comfortable, Thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cool, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I bought the Groupon Christmas package (which included dinner) and added on an additional night as well as Christmas Eve dinner. We enjoyed our stay immensely and hope to return soon.

The Innkeeper, Johannes, is a classically trained chef. Both dinners were over the top as far as taste, presentation and proportion. Breakfast is a very traditional European spread and always included a sumptuous hot dish as well. Based on recent posts I find it interesting to note how important it is to so many people that the Innkeeper be more engaged. Our experience found Johannes to be short on words and long on attention to detail. If interaction and conversation is high on your list and a doting staff if important to you, this may not fit the bill.

Our room was a junior suite which we were very pleased with. Along with a fireplace, mini bar and high end coffee maker, my favorite place was the window seat that held two. The room was very spacious and comfortable as well as being impeccably clean. This is by no means a new property and there is some sign of wear. Certainly nothing that was off-putting to us and I enjoyed the high end toiletry items that were provided.

The grounds are beautiful even in the winter season and the location is fantastic with Bodega Bay just a short drive away and Point Reyes a bit further down the road.

Be prepared for no cell service or internet (may be purchased). This was a plus for two people accustomed to spending too much time working while on vacation.

All in all, our Holiday escape was one that we treasured and we hope to repeat it next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooltotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakcreekmanor, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your Christmas Holiday at the Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, we hope to see you next Christmas or sooner.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed for two nights - walls in bathroom were extremely dirty and paint/wall was chipped next to shower and the bed had a slant aka difficultly sleeping. The owner was unwelcoming from our arrival until we departed. Very rude demeanor - why he works the front desk is beyond me, other then it appeared he was a one man operation (handling the front desk/restaurant/maintenance) - perhaps he is too cheap to hire someone or no one wants to work with his bad attitude!?! The only nice thing about our stay was some of the guests we ran into and the peaceful exterior grounds: plants/trees/flowers/grass- well maintained. Note: I agree with the other customer comments - no luxury here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NORCALMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakcreekmanor, Front Office Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
We are sorry to hear about our short coming at your last visit. we are upgrading our property and just finished the bathroom renovation.
We hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The place does have stunning grounds but as an overall place to stay you couldn't pay me money to come back here. It is not run as a villa and spa but as a b&b. There was one guy who cooked, receptionist, bellhop and account manager and he doesn't do a good job at any of them. The facility nickel and dimes you for everything that they have there, I was surprised I didn't have a charge for the roll of toilet paper we used. My wife and I had a reservation for two nights that included a meal in the second night but after our first night we packed up and left. Buyer beware on this place

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lp40dres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for comments,
We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction during your short stay,
When you check out in the morning at 11:30 am the second day, we asked why do leave early, your comment were that your girlfriend has to do some study and needs to finish a presentation.

This reason was given to us.

Thank you for your comments

JZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega
4.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa

Property: Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa
Address: 16702 Coast Highway One, Bodega, CA 94922 (Formerly Sonoma Coast Villa Inn And Spa)
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bodega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa: A Luxury Resort in Sonoma County An elegant luxury hotel in the north of California's Wine Country, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is waiting to refresh your senses, relax your body and enchant your palate. Evocative of a tranquil European villa warming in the California Russian River sunshine, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is the perfect place for your vacation, honeymoon, special event or weekend getaway from the Bay Area. Forty wineries sit within driving distance of the Villa, making it the perfect destination in Sonoma County for wine pilgrims and explorers. Our attention to detail and excellence fills every aspect of your experience, from the comfort of our beautiful hotel rooms to the five star cuisine of our organically stocked restaurant. Our inviting and private Courtyard Spa will revitalize you with a variety of massage and spa packages, administered by our knowledgeable, sensitive and thoroughly professional therapists. Expect your stay at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa to leave you feeling rejuvenated and pampered in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Coast Villa And Spa
Sonoma Coast Villa Hotel Bodega
Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa Sonoma County/Bodega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing