We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Tides

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Tides
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Cleveland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

A lovely place run by friendly people. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Pool and hot tub were excellent. Breakfast at the restaurant across the street was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geomom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    156
    101
    70
    38
See reviews for
94
264
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

We wanted a short 1 night getaway over Labor Day weekend to Bodega Bay. We choose Inn at the Tides for its location by the harbor. We arrive early at 11:00 am and check-in was not available. We went to have lunch at the Sandpiper (good) and hike the Bodega Head (great view but windy) and returning to the Inn at 2:00 pm. Our assigned room was still not ready but she switched us to another room that is available (#1206). The view was wonderful looking at the harbor. The room is rustic but nicely furnished. A free bottle of chardonney is also provided. The bathroom is clean, but the door will not close due to the door of a mini fridge. To close the bathroom door, you have to first open the fridge door. It did not bother us. When we return to the room after spending the afternoon at the beach, we sat in front of the picture window, reading and enjoying the view and the free bottle of chardonney. The morning complimentary breakfast was at the Tide Restaurant, a nice walk in the morning. We also enjoyed the view at the Restaurant where we saw a flock of pelicans herding their breakfast. The meal was nice with a basket of pastry, bowl of fruits and choice of oatmeal or cereal. We had a side order of eggs, which I believe was 25% off the normal price. The service was attentive. All-in-all, it was a very nice stay.

Want to mention the amazing wildlife you can see kayaking in Bodega Harbor in the morning (before the wind starts to crop up). We expected to see mostly sea-birds, and we did. We had close encounters with multiple seals; they were congregating by the Lucas Wharf fish docks waiting for handouts. The unexpected sight of dozens of bat-rays with 2-3 foot wingspans, munching on seaweeds, and streaking under the kayak was thrilling. We also saw 2 feet tiger sharks.

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — Fridge preventing bathroom door from closing (but didn't really bother us)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

Room was OK, a little 'worn', nice views and good grounds. Pool was good but breakfast is off site across Highway 1 (only a short walk). Service was good but chased to leave at checkout time!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 66AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grass valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

I heard good things about the Inn and thought this would be a great place to take my wife for her birthday. We got a room with an ocean view, price was $250.00 per night but for that price you would have thought that the windows could be opened and the curtains would close. Regardless we made the best of it as the weather was great and the food at the restaurant excellent. My complaint has to do with management & house keeping. We brought a portable dvd player and upon checking out we realized when we got home that we forgot the dvd player. We called spoke to house keeping. who denied finding the player, spoke to amnagement and basically said sorry house keeping says not found, kind of implied that we were lying. It is for this reason and treatment that I will never return.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldwing56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bodega Bay hotels

California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed here for one night. We had a nice king room that we paid close to $300 for the single night. We also had dinner at the restaurant on the property. It was really good food and we are planning to go back in a few weeks and will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AdamR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

The Vaulted (ceiling) King room with fireplace was wonderful! The view was so fine, we ordered food in just to enjoy every minute of the view of Bodega Bay, the fog rolling in, the fishing boats and the fog horn in the distance. It was an unforgettable stay!
Walking across the highway to breakfast could take some getting used to, and I'd advise driving there for older or disabled folks. But the breakfast was great, and the dinners are also fine. Fresh fish is what you MUST have when visiting Bodega Bay, and this hotel and the surrounding eateries clearly pride themselves in the quality of their fresh-caught seafood. AMAZING!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltyr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

My husband and I stayed a Friday night with a group from work. As this was a business related trip, I was fairly concerned by previous negative reviews. I was happily surprised to find things weren't as I had read.

Check-in was easy, service at front desk was either very friendly or to-the-point and efficient, depending on who we spoke with. Stayed in a queen vault room, nothing fancy. Definitely recommend upper level room for a great view. The hotel is across the street from the bay, but that doesn't hurt the view any. YES, THERE IS A INTERESTING SMELL to the room, I'd describe it as a combination of musty sea air and lemon scented cleaning products. We opened our windows and our front door, had a nice cross-breeze going through and the smell cleared out just fine.

The room was clean, bed was comfortable. The bathroom is a little outdated looking, but it seemed to have new sink and shower faucets and everything worked great. The grounds are nicely maintained, very pretty. We saw all kinds of wildlife and were very happy with it.

Had dinner at the Inn's Bay View restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. All 8 of our group thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Service was a little slow, but very friendly. Come for a relaxing dinner with a view of the bay and you won't be disappointed.

Complimentary breakfast across the street at the Tides Warf was just fine. And no, you don't have to fight your way through the tourist shop to get to the restaurant. They're both in one big building, restaurant on one side, shop on the other. My husband and I shared 1 complimentary brkfst and 1 eggs benedict. No it's nothing fancy, but good nonetheless, with a 15% discount on menu items if you stay at the Inn. Service was again slow but friendly.

In short, the Inn at the Tides is a lovely, clean little place for a relaxing getaway. Yes it is overpriced for what you get - but what in Bodega Bay isn't? I wouldn't recommend for a honeymoon or anniversary trip as the rooms are more rustic/homey than romantic. When staying in beautiful Bodega Bay, who wants to spend much time in their hotel room anyways?

  • Liked — Clean, good food, great location
  • Disliked — Nothing - it met all of our needs above
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FairReviewer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
18.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
18.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Tides

Property: Inn at the Tides
Address: 800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn located on a hillside in a clustered village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Tides Hotel Bodega Bay
Hotel At The Tides
At The Tides Hotel
Inn Bodega Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing