We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and disgruntled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Bodega Bay B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointed and disgruntled”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I did not know that an Inn on the California Coast could be so disappointing and costly at the same time. First we arrived and were told we would have to take our luggage from the strip mall parking lot to our room because the road up to the parking lot was washed out and only suitable for large SUV's or trucks. It had not rained in Bodega Bay for months so why wasn't the drive way fixed. The second night we couldn't find a spot in the "parking lot" because the guests in one of the restaurant's in the strip mall had taken all the spots. We got to our room only to find the room heater did not work, the pilot light had blown out. It was not fixed during our 3 night stay. Except for the bathroom the lighting in the room was terrible. We were told all kinds of things about the common kitchen area which turned out to be wrong including the fact that there was coffee available to make. We were not about to rummage through cupboards and drawers. Even the directions to restaurants on the fridge were wrong and 3 years old. We couldn't find anyone to complain to except when we checked out when it was too late.

The reason we gave it a poor rating is that the value for what we paid was poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7continentsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    31
    22
    15
    22
See reviews for
14
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It's not a typical "motel", but perfect for Bodega Bay. We stayed here on a road trip down the California coast and had the Library room. Our room was right behind the check-in desk and we were a bit concerned about noise, but that there was no need for concern. It was a nice-sized, comfortable room and had a door leading out to a funky little patio with a pathway coming through lots of nice plants, trees, and flowers; a nice place to sit and read. The next late morning we drove down to Bodega Bay and ate at the Spud Point Crab Co. Very beautiful. We'd stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in the back building. This is a little quirky place to stay, not anything special on the grounds between buildings but pleasantly surprised that the room was very comfortable. Bed and linens were great. Bathroom seemed new. Quiet area. Slept great. One of the other reviews has a response by the inn stating how there are free foods in the common room. Too bad we weren't told about that. We were just told we could use dvd's and could have coffee. (check in gal didn't spend much time with us, a little rushed IMO) We tried to go to a restaurant nearby but it was closed. The restaurant in the strip mall was quite expensive and food we weren't interested in. So the peanut butter would have been welcome! Parking was not convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in the back house; our room was clean, adequately large and the porch was a plus, though the view wasn't much. The bathroom of our room seemed to have been recently updated. It is true that there is a communal aspect to the coffee room / kitchen area in the main inn, which some people may not be comfortable with. We didn't mind it; the other guests and the staff were pleasant during our stay. We appreciated the free DVD archive available to guests. The natural beauty of the area was impressive, although it is true that this is not a place for exciting nightlife. It was quiet there, and we slept well. It was good price for the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRR2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hi,
I chose this accommodation for lack of any other vacancy in Bodega Bay and would not recommend it.
I paid 200$ per night. During summer weekends one has to book two nights...
What did I get:
A room with King bed, one chair, one very old Bathroom (rusty shower curtain holder, Shower plastic-tiles not waterproof anymore, only two bars of soap, no Shampoo).
Worst though, I have never seen such a horrible stained carpet.
The balcony was nice, however spider infested.

As mentioned, we were "forced" to stay two nights. The only thing that was done to the room between nights: change the towels.
The Bed was not made, the shower not cleaned.

I would not recommend this hotel. It is not worth the price (and I have stayed in Bodega Bay before for less and a lot better)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bodega Bay hotels

Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

yes it was a bit quirky, just an overnight stay for us on way down the coast. agree not too much around but we found nice restaurant 5 minutes drive away.

our room was at the end of the garden area, great hot showers though and clean linen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton, california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We reserved the 'Memories" room that stated they had a covered private balcony with views to the water. We were greeted when we arrived but for the next two days there was no one on duty.
What we got was a filthy patio w/ dirty chairs altho' covered faced the parking lot and a small strip mall.
LEt's see what other MEMORIES do I have, stained shower, toilet paper hanger off the wall, NO bathroom counter, room so small NO place for the suitcase except on the bed, OLD furniture, disgustingly OLD pillows, the room simply felt like a closet that needed a good spring cleaning. Outside the gardner apparently was also MIA, as weeds and dry cuttings greeted you as you entered from the street. We had stayed there several years ago, 'out back' and it seemed much better, apparently it is NOT a high priority to provide a "MEMORABLE" stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
109 reviews
18.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
88 reviews
7.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn

Property: Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn
Address: 1588 Eastshore Rd, (at Highway One), Bodega Bay, CA 94923-9758
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodega Bay Inn is a small family owned and operated inn on the north end of Bodega Bay. All rooms have king beds and private baths. The inn also features a large garden for the guests enjoyment and also for private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Branscomb's Bodega Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branscomb`s Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing