We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ Oysters and Crab Sandwiches”
Review of Fisherman's Cove

Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Fisherman's Cove is a local, family-owned seafood shack and fishing-marine supply store specializing in fresh local oysters that are grown on Tamales Bay. We serve them on the half shell or barbecued with your choice of six different house specialty sauces such as garlic butter sauce, cocktail sauce, chorizo butter with a hint of lemon and more. Try our unique oysters with pesto sauce and applewood bacon, or opt for our oysters Kilpatrick or Sweet Heaters with pickled jalepeno, shallots and raw mignonette. All of our ingredients are incredibly fresh, from the local Dungeness crab and hormone-free meats to organic vegetables and homemade sauces. We are committed to serving creative and delicious fare made with the best ingredients available
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Oysters and Crab Sandwiches were awesome. Indoor and outdoor seating. Wine and beer available. Great view of the fishing boats at the pier.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VacaErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback, Erik! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much, and were able to soak up that beautiful view. Come see us again soon!

Best,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We live nearby and love walking to this family run restaurant/ fishing supply store across from Spud Point Marina. They have indoor and outdoor seating and parking, and fresh, local ingredients.
I consider their locally caught, rock cod fish n chips some of the best I've ever had (England included). 3 perfectly cooked beer battered filets with home made thin "chips" (fries) with skins on (yum!) and a wonderful homemade tartar sauce ($12). Marvelous! The best! Best deal on the coast if you love good fish n chips.
Check all the other unusual menu items (deep fried Oreos!).... Always fun to eat there. Beers, wines, sodas, and dozens of brands of hot sauces! Don't miss it on your way to/from the Head - best view of the coast, and of whales.

Thank Pettegrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Better than England?! Now that's a compliment! So happy to hear that you loved our dishes. Thank you, and keep us in mind next time you're in Bodega Bay -- you can't beat this view!

Cheers,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and so glad we did. My husband had the Portuguese soup, I had the clam chowder. Both were very good. We also ordered the special - salmon tacos, and they were fantastic!! We definitely recommend this simple yet cute place to eat.

Thank KFallsRNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We're so glad you stopped by, too! Between salmon tacos, our Portuguese Fish Soup and that chowder, it sounds like you and your husband loved every bite. That means the world to us! Come back and see us next time you're in the neighborhood, but until then, thanks for the stellar review!

All the best,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped hear on a recommendation for fresh oysters. We had them with some special sauce which was pretty darn good. Fish tacos were crispy and tasty and you fbs eat outside looking over the bay. If you want local and fresh stop in. We'd go back if it weren't so far from where we were staying. Prices are reasonable too. 12 for 20 bucks. Not bad and we eat them in Boston for usually much more.

Thank Josh79b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Those oysters really are delicious! So glad that you loved them too, Josh. Keep us in mind next time you're in Bodega Bay!

All the best,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is essentially a bait and tackle shop with a deli. You can sit outdoors at picnic tables, or indoors if it's too windy. We were told that this place wins that annual Clam Chowder contest every year, and there is a good reason for that. But there's a caveat: the Portuguese Seafood Stew is AMAZING! Intense seafood broth, flavored with chorizo sausage, clams, shrimp, and black cod, chock full of tomatoes, onions, garlic, carrots, black beans, green beans, kale, celery, just delicious. There is NO ambiance here, just incredible good chowder and stew, plus lots of sandwiches.

Thank BillyKmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

That stew is pretty good, Billy, so we're glad you love it, too! Thanks for giving it a try, and for the stellar shout out. Can't wait to have you back for more!

Cheers,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Cove also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing