We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens and gracious host and hostess”
Review of Bodega Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bodega Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
banner elk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and gracious host and hostess”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here in April on our way up the coast in room #11 with a deck and view of the harbor. I had something leak out in my suitcase on the flight out and it got on some of my cloths. The hostess insisted I give her my cloths so she could wash and dry and then proceeded to fold them and return them to the room. Now when have you every stayed anywhere and had someone do this for you? This is what made this Inn so special. The outside of the building does not look very appealing but the room was VERY clean which is always my main concern. It also has a beautiful garden with chairs to sit and lookout over the water. Don't expect much out of this town because there is really nothing to do nor any great place to eat dinner. If you need any items like, beer, wine, liquor, cokes, water etc. either bring it with you or wait till you get to a bigger city because the store here is VERY overpriced. Thanks once again to the innkeepers.

Room Tip: rooms 11 & 12 share a deck with chairs and a view. Also, this place has no A/C so you get a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7devils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    118
    39
    17
    9
See reviews for
39
151
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We've stayed here several times - it's our weekend getaway place. Generally really quiet, and have decks with a great view of Bodega Bay and the headlands (if your room is located on the backside of the hotel). Rooms are quiet, updated and clean, some have fireplaces. Depending on the season, we can find deals, which makes the stay very affordable. The pool and spa are adequate and clean, but with the cool weather, both are really an option.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in the back of the hotel, so you can have a view of Bodega Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MonocleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We got a good deal on a room. The staff is friendly and helpful. On a nice day you just sleep here, so the place is OK if you need a place to sleep. We came on a cloudy, cool day. The small room took hours to warm up. Not really where you want to spend time when you do not feel like going outdoors. Not as nice as the pictures on the website.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grandpa284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I found this Inn on Groupon (a coupon website) for $99. For the price and location it was great, there was somewhat of a view but it wasn't as nice as it looked on the website. The place was quite dated, I believed they were trying to convey an antique look but it wasn't decorated well enough to come across that area. That being said, it smelled very clean, the bed was comfortable (but they need new pillows, bring your own), the owners were extremely nice and the continental breakfast was very nice as well. I would stay there again for $99, but I don't know that I would consider it at full price $135. But then again $135 is still probably really reasonable for around there. If I were to go back it would be because of the owners and how clean it smelled and felt.

Room Tip: ask for room 12, it's the one with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here mid-week, during a foggy, rainy weather, but had a great time. Our room was cozy and clean, and the bed was VERY comfortable. We had a small private deck and beautiful French doors, which we opened to let in the ocean breeze and sea smell.

They have these colorful sitting chairs that are surprisingly comfy. We sat there and relaxed with the bottle of wine we received upon check-in.

A big part of our enjoyment there was the help we got from Nickey, the person who checked us in. Nickey is a can-do person, and no matter what we asked or needed, Nickey's attitude was "Yes! Let's see how we can get this done!" It was refreshing to find an employee who is helpful, friendly, professional, and has a good attitude. Thanks Nickey; you MADE our stay!

The inn is pretty centrally located and we found it to be a perfect spot to stay and see the surrounding sights. If they will have us, we would love to come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in November and were completely enchanted. Room #1 with it's french doors, private deck and comfy king size bed were perfect. I don't know how it would be to stay in one of the rooms facing the parking lot, but all the other rooms have a lot of privacy. And the lawn was a wonderful spot to relax in the late afternoon before getting ready for dinner. The room itself wasn't large but was cozy and inviting. The antique furniture was lovely and the bathroom was large and beautifully decorated too. And best of all, we got all this for the best-priced room in Bodega Bay! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katjoe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Bait aWe usually have good luck with Trip Advisor ratings but this was a shock. This was an old 1950's style motel with small box rooms (about 10 by10) where your car pulls up to the room window (that's your view) with hardly any room for your bags with no view--except of your car and the parking lot. The room was about the size of Motel 6 with 1 bed (either a small old queen or a double) and a few old furnishings. There was a very strong stench of disinfectant in the room.We've traveled alot over 30 years especially along the Calif Coast so we know what to expect in terms of price off-season but this was a shock. This is the 1st time in many years of travel where we had to check out 30 minutes after checking in because the room was so disappointing in contrast to he pictures.

Bait and Switch?: The property manager didn't help matters: She insisted on our paying the room tax on the room (#10) at check-in before we even saw the room (we had already paid $100 for 1 night in advance via a voucher) and then she refused to refund our money 20 minutes later even though we did not stay and did not disturb the room. Interestingly, our receipt for our "stay" said the room was $69 with tax of $7.62 even though she charged us a "promotional" voucher rate of $107.62 on a room they listed at "$199" on the voucher. When I asked her about it she just said that's the way we do it for "tax purposes" ...So we were sold a box motel room off-season in Winter with a view of our car for $100 plus tax which they actually sell for $69.

Room Tip: Don't rely on website pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob12332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
92 reviews
6.8 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
109 reviews
17.7 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Harbor Inn

Property: Bodega Harbor Inn
Address: Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bodega Harbor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bodega Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Harbor Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Harbor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing