We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place on the Coast, EVER !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best Place on the Coast, EVER !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I knew I wanted to take my daughter on a ‘much deserved get-away" and this was definitely the spot!! From the moment we made the reservations until we left the hotel lobby at check-out to check out the Bird Marsh area, (with a free pass to show at the park entrance) we enjoyed everything.
I was most impressed with how the staff accommodated us in every way, beginning with the ‘upgrade’ to a room with a Whirlpool Tub, because I showed disappointment that the hot tub was non-functional because of the renovations. They were so nice and smiled even tho I had been a grump initially about it. In the morning we needed coffee before the full staff was available to serve us, so as soon as possible they got the coffee and milk/sugar from the lounge and brought it to our ROOM!! The snuggly robes were a special addition to our comfort.
Amazing and very ‘over the top’ service !! Thanks so much !!

Room Tip: Always ask for what you want and if they can accommodate you they will !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    293
    74
    35
    19
See reviews for
129
716
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great place to stay in Oct. to enjoy the fall season with great company ! There is a nice hike around the corner and if you are thinking of making a day hike, winding up here in the hot tub is a refreshing experience !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnieb234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very nice helpful staff. Good value for the money. Pet friendly. Walking distance to a nice market and a restaurant. Our stay included a nice bottle of wine. We went to the local market in the morning to get San Francisco and New York newspapers.

Room Tip: You might want to pay extra for rooms with private deck and view. Smaller rooms are a good value if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuscarorastudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Of course, we were not there to unwind--we were visiting family. The spa was closed (we were warned when we made the reservation and again before our arrival), but would love to return when the renovations are complete. The views are charming, as are the grounds. Found the room to be comfortable and relaxing.

I suspect you are not winding your way to Bodega Bay to work. It's easy to miss the turn-in, especially at night, and there isn't a whole lot going on right around the Lodge. But if sitting in a rocking chair and watching the sun set or the hummingbirds go to work is your speed, they've got you covered.

The nearby beach is great for walking (or riding) and the local wildlife was wonderful. A drive up into the hills can quickly make you think you are much farther afield than you are. We had the luxury of local guides, but there is great eating and fabulous vistas nearby.

All in all, it felt a bit expensive for what it was, but we found it a very enjoyable and relaxing spot, and will likely return.

Room Tip: Traveling with a family, the lower floors made for easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScholarGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
370 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Bodega Bay is not your typical resort area. Country roads meander and lead you to a working fishing village. However, the lodge feels like serene relaxed luxury. A place to go off the grid, if you want. But there is free wifi! Erica greeted us warmly and gave us an upgraded room. She gave us dining recommendations and maps. The lobby felt like a large living room in an upscale cabin. Cozy and welcoming with fireplace and comfy couches (both of which were appreciated during the free wine and cheese hour!). The rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. Fireplace in the room was great. The views of the estuary and ocean are wonderful. Come here to decompress!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My friend and I stayed at your hotel a couple of months ago and was extremely disappointed by the stay and the service of your staff members.

That particular night, a sound was repeatedly ringing very loudly the entire night, which prevented us from getting decent sleep. When we questioned the staff member the next day, they told us that it was the buoy and asked us if we were staying a second night, in which case, they could provide the white noise machine. We were only staying for one night, and expected every night on vacation to be of great quality.

Upon on asking why we weren't provided information on this in the first place and an offer to have the white noise machine as an option, the staff members (Hilary and Erika) said that only some guests are having problems with it.

We are very disappointed by the service and felt that the staff member were not sympathizing with our situation. Instead, they felt righteous that nothing could have been done. But it seems to me that this is a repeated issue given that the hotel is equipped with white noise machines.
1. it's not advertised and stated in the description (this is out of the ordinary for a hotel to have loud noise for the entire night)
2. the guests should be informed so that they could call for help at the right time
3. Just because it's a minority of people who complain, there are others who didn't complain who could have suffered the same issue. It's common knowledge that for everyone who complains, there are 8-10 other people who have had the same issue
4. the hotel is there to ensure that when people are on vacation, they should have a quiet and restful place to stay in a hotel, for everyone who stays at the hotel. Not only for the majority of the people.

The most frustrating part is that we could have known the problem in the beginning and avoided the situation by getting the white noise machine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WeiweiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Bodega Bay area is fabulous, lodge less so. Priceline has this as a 3.5 star hotel and I agree. Rooms are large, great fireplaces and have amazing views, but otherwise blah. Furniture is cheap (shell-filled lamps, striped carpet, dirty club chairs). Bath is updated but mismatched hardware show renovations done at different times. Service is lacking. Rang for shampoo, never came. Ate at the Duck Restaurant onsite. Host and wait staff lacked elegance, ambiance was poor, adult food needed seasoning, and kid food was overpriced (paid $8 for 1/2 a serving of out-of-the-box Kraft Mac "n" Cheese). The photo on line is misleading. The lodge is separated from the beach by a marsh, access to beach is by car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileyc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
19.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
19.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Property: Bodega Bay Lodge
Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923-9723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Lodge situated on the Sonoma coast, overlooking Doran Beach, sand dunes, marshes & bay. Russian River and Sonoma County wineries closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing