We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
La Canada Flintridge, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Bodega Bay Lodge for three nights in July 2014. It is a very nice property in the sleepy town of Bodega Bay. We enjoyed a room with a view, I think all the rooms have a view of the bay. The Duck Club resturant on property was very good. They have bicycles that you can borrow to ride around and explore the bay area below the hotel. They also have a really nice work out room and a spa. Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi again with a nice view of the bay.
The weather was mild and a bit foggy in the afternoon. And if you like to sleep with your sliding door open you will hear the fog horn all night. Our room did have one of those white noise machines that helped cover up the fog horn noise.

Green Features: The hotel is very environmentally friendly. They stress saving water and offered nice clean shampoos and lotions.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    340
    87
    41
    22
See reviews for
183
912
55
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We love this place. This time we got an upstairs room and it is nicer than downstairs. View is amazing. Food was excellent in the Duck Club but not so much in the bar next door. They seem to put training staff in there so I would avoid it. Bed was comfy and the decor was nice. No tub in the bathroom but we didn't mind because there was a massive infinity hot tub by the pool. Gym was used twice and is very high quality. There was a fridge in the room that you were allowed to use and not charged for moving things around in there. Had a nice balcony and fireplace. Yes the buoy horn is a little annoying but I did not notice it this time around with the windows closed. Can't wait to go back! Service was great. I would have preferred a softer pillow but that was minor issue to me.The worst thing about the stay was the very slow internet but that really wasn't a deal breaker. If you had kids I could see it being an issue. Just don't try to stream a movie!

Room Tip: Get upstairs if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I traveled up the California Coast and decided to check into the Bodega Bay Lodge. We did not have a reservation and only needed a one night stay! Check in was great, the staff super friendly, the rooms (which I am particular about) were super clean and neat and very comfortable. We were hungry and were told the restaurant was full for the evening but the bar after a certain hour served the same food as the dining. We were not disappointed, the food was awesome, the wine just as good and the Chef served us personally, he said the place was particularly busy this evening and so he jumped in to serve. It was awesome and we both highly recommend this place. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Plus:
nice and large rooms with an excellent few and in-room fire place; amazing hot tub with fireplace
Minus:
Restaurant - expensive, pretty poor service and low quality;
Drinks and food at "wine reception" was out after half the time and only space for a few guests
on the pricy side

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravellerMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for an evening in early August. The room was clean, check in/out was fine, all the staff we encountered were polite and pleasant.

Our room was spacious but like a thousand other hotels we've stayed in over the years. Not bad but I felt we could have been in Florida or Ohio. There weren't any good reading lights.

We had no cell phone reception in the room. I called the front desk and was told there was a spot in the lobby where there was reception -- later I found reception in the parking lot. The front desk said a local call using the land line began at $3.15 and went up from there. I hate it when hotels "nickel and dime" their customers.

For dinner we drove 10 minutes to Terrapin Creek, a restaurant I highly recommend. Breakfast at the hotel was fine, granola, etc. Coffee was undrinkable, we ended driving to Roadhouse Coffee on Eastshore Road to get our caffeine fix.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marianneNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were looking forward to this week-end away with our two adult children. The setting did not disappoint. Great location with lovely views, especially from the hot tub. Front desk staff was business like, but clearly did not know the property well -- told us our rooms, which had consecutive numbers, were next door to each other, but in fact were not -- they were at opposite ends of the building, one upstairs and one down. And while the bathrooms clearly had been updated, the main part of the rooms had not. While the beds were comfortable, and the rooms spacious, the chairs and dressers were old -- the former uncomfortable, the latter with broken drawer handles. There were no visible outlets in the bedroom; lamps were connected with multi-outlet extension cords strung behind the bed. There was, however, an outlet right next to the toilet paper holder in the bathroom . . .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaFleisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staying the last two nights of our Northern California coastal vacation at Bodega Bay Lodge was a great decision. The entire four days were outstanding, and Bodega Bay Lodge made the final nights exceptional. In addition to enjoying the fireplace both nights in our Pacific Coast Upper room, we appreciated the large size of the room and the comfort of the bed. We didn't turn the TV on once. This was so much better than staying in a large hotel complex. It was quiet, emphasizing comfort and relaxation. My husband and I attended the wine/cheese reception both nights and explored the area during the day.

We ate at the Duck Restaurant our last night there. My husband was impressed with his king salmon dish. He said it was "the best piece of fish he ever had" as it was perfectly cooked. I couldn't have been happier with my fettuccine dish which included an excellent piece of fresh halibut, clams, and cherry tomatoes in a delicious, light and creamy sauce. Both meals were caught locally.

We highly recommend a drive to the Fort Ross Vineyard, eight miles north of Fort Ross. The drive was a wonderful exploration, as we wound up a mountain to above the fog. The vineyard offers four exceptional wines at a cost of $15/tasting. The tasting room is well appointed, but patrons may also sit at tables outside to enjoy the fantastic view of the area and the coastline, provided the fog has lifted. In addition to being relaxing, the visit was also quite educational. Our host was very knowledgeable about the wine he served and readily answered our questions. He offered suggestions for food pairings and shared information about this area of California.

Room Tip: All rooms offer and excellent view of the Pacific Ocean. Choose room types by the accommodations de...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Duck Restaurant features seafood and produce that are either locally farmed or caught by local fisherman with a focus on sustainable seafood choices.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
495 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
310 reviews
5.9 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
113 reviews
22.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Property: Bodega Bay Lodge
Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923-9723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Unexpected Getaway in a Soul-Stirring Hideaway With its rugged shoreline and rolling countryside, the Sonoma Coast has its roots firmly planted in the land. The Bodega Bay Lodge—a Bodega Bay hotel poised atop a tranquil bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean—reflects the wild beauty of this romantic region and offers an array of incredible things to do in Sonoma. Watch the fishermen ply the bay for the day’s catch. Spot migrating whales in the waves. Scout for rare birds in a location prized by the Audubon Society and Alfred Hitchcock. Stroll two miles of soft sands, hand-in-hand. Signature Service Whether it’s our popular wine hour, in-room fireplaces or complimentary Taylor Maid Farms organic coffee and organic Numi teas in the lobby, our signature service offerings are noteworthy extras that make every moment something to savor. Our staff is available 24 hours, ensuring you have a memorable and inspiring stay. Complimentary services include: •Luxurious, oversized guestrooms and suites •Concierge services •Complimentary morning newspaper in the lobby •Ocean-view pool, whirlpool spa and sauna •Bay-view fitness room •Wireless internet access •Free parking •Taylor Maid Farms Coffee served in the lobby throughout the morning •24-hour business desk with PC and printer access •Complimentary wine and cheese reception (daily from 5-6pm) •Safety deposit boxes •Non-smoking hotel •Views of Bodega Bay throughout the property Services available for an additional charge: •Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen •Spa treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing